Post Reply

VPN and Tethering not working on rooted device, will custom ROM fix that?

24th January 2014, 12:31 AM   |  #1  
ilogik's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
718 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
I came from a GS4 where I used Private Internet Access VPN and WiFi Tether Router. On the Note both services connect but do not route any traffic, my thinking its related to knox. Would a custom ROM fix that? At this point I have to either trip the counter or take this thing back for an iPhone 5S before the jailbreak is patched.

***FIXED
All that needed to be done is to have this setting changed, I can use WiFi tether along with VPN running at the same time so I never hit my hotspot limit because Tmo cant tell if the traffic is from a phone or other device.

To change your APN, simply navigate to Settings > More > Mobile networks > Access Point Names. Select your T-Mobile APN, and scroll to APN protocol. Change this to IPv4, and then save your APN.
Last edited by ilogik; 24th January 2014 at 03:08 PM. Reason: fixed
24th January 2014, 02:42 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
350 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilogik

I came from a GS4 where I used Private Internet Access VPN and WiFi Tether Router. On the Note both services connect but do not route any traffic, my thinking its related to knox. Would a custom ROM fix that? At this point I have to either trip the counter or take this thing back for an iPhone 5S before the jailbreak is patched.

I have been having issues with the same vpn too. How are you getting yours to connect? I am running Jedi and I can't even get it to connect to the vpn. I tried cm11 too and same thing. I have changed my apn from ipv6 to ipv4 but everything else is whatever came with jedi and cm and stock. On my Nexus 5 I can use it just fine with tmo... so unsure what the issue is.
24th January 2014, 01:50 PM   |  #3  
ilogik's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
718 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by rans0m00

I have been having issues with the same vpn too. How are you getting yours to connect? I am running Jedi and I can't even get it to connect to the vpn. I tried cm11 too and same thing. I have changed my apn from ipv6 to ipv4 but everything else is whatever came with jedi and cm and stock. On my Nexus 5 I can use it just fine with tmo... so unsure what the issue is.

I'm just using the app from the playstore with the default settings. But I did install a custom ROM, Darthstalker version 6 and it still does not work.

Now the counter shows as tripped whenever the phone is restarted, I hope tmo will take it back because I'm just going to try to trade this for a 5S.
24th January 2014, 03:08 PM   |  #4  
ilogik's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
718 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilogik

I'm just using the app from the playstore with the default settings. But I did install a custom ROM, Darthstalker version 6 and it still does not work.

Now the counter shows as tripped whenever the phone is restarted, I hope tmo will take it back because I'm just going to try to trade this for a 5S.

Please see my original post for the resolution.
24th January 2014, 03:25 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
350 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilogik

Please see my original post for the resolution.

Weird... I have tried this with no luck. I'll try again. Did you make sure you were not connected to a wifi network? Mine works when connected to wifi but from the cell connection it doesn't.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
24th January 2014, 09:41 PM   |  #6  
ilogik's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
718 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by rans0m00

Weird... I have tried this with no luck. I'll try again. Did you make sure you were not connected to a wifi network? Mine works when connected to wifi but from the cell connection it doesn't.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk

Are you using Fabios WiFi router? If so make sure to check his configuration page for the device. Yes I am not on WiFi, just came back from a 2 hour drive while my friend was tethered to my phone on his iPad.

https://sites.google.com/site/wifite...-configuration
25th January 2014, 12:28 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
How did you edit your apn settings. I'm on tmobile galaxy note 3, stock and rooted. My apn settings are all greyed out and I can't edit anything?

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
25th January 2014, 12:45 AM   |  #8  
hypersonicx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nashville
Thanks Meter: 58
 
610 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
Tethering
I provided 2 methods I use for Tethering at the other thread if its useful or not.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2620170

Im currently at 106GB for the month. With LTE.
25th January 2014, 02:52 AM   |  #9  
ilogik's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
718 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Troy1

How did you edit your apn settings. I'm on tmobile galaxy note 3, stock and rooted. My apn settings are all greyed out and I can't edit anything?

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk

I'm on custom rom, thats probably why.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
pia, wifi router
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes