ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] C6906 - Flashing .290 branded to .290 generic

OP magwart

24th January 2014, 11:36 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Hello,

I recently bricked my Z1 and just got it back from warranty repaired. It is a C6906 that they upgraded to 4.3 (.290) however it is branded to BELL and I wish to flash the unbranded generic so I don't have as much bloatware/fast updates.

Since I do not wish to brick the device again and go through this again and so I am looking for advice to do this in a way that is guaranteed. With flashtool if I flash "C6906 14.2.A.0.290 Generic CA 1276-7484_R2B" would I have any issues at all? Just load up Flashtool - select the ftf and just use the default settings and plug in the Z1 while holding down the volume button.
25th January 2014, 12:19 AM   |  #2  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 617
 
2,984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
I used the latest Flashtool v0.9.13, connected to PC, let install windows the drivers, selected the Unbranded Stock ftf, wiped all data, appslog, cache, all the rest unchecked and I performed the flash. All fine and the phone working well. I don't know why you had problems or why you bricked the phone but there is no advice to give you because it's simply. So even if all it's clear no guarantee and it's up to you. I don't think is the FTF faulty.
25th January 2014, 12:22 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos

I used the latest Flashtool v0.9.13, connected to PC, let install windows the drivers, selected the Unbranded Stock ftf, wiped all data, appslog, cache, all the rest unchecked and I performed the flash. All fine and the phone working well. I don't know why you had problems or why you bricked the phone but there is no advice to give you because it's simply. So even if all it's clear no guarantee and it's up to you. I don't think is the FTF faulty.

This is separate from how I bricked it (using custom rom), I did this previously with a older version and just not on .290 and I am wondering if there is any issues (IMEI etc) doing it .290 to .290, thats all. I just don't want to make a mistake.
25th January 2014, 12:28 AM   |  #4  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 617
 
2,984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by magwart

This is separate from how I bricked it (using custom rom), I did this previously with a older version and just not on .290 and I am wondering if there is any issues (IMEI etc) doing it .290 to .290, thats all. I just don't want to make a mistake.

Ok, so you bricked the phone with custon rom, now I understand. In this case there is no any issues flashing .290 unbranded on .290 branded. IMEI is lost only when jumping .257 and downgrade directly to .534. It's more "safe" flash .290 on .290. Go flash now.
The Following User Says Thank You to eclyptos For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th January 2014, 12:47 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos

Ok, so you bricked the phone with custon rom, now I understand. In this case there is no any issues flashing .290 unbranded on .290 branded. IMEI is lost only when jumping .257 and downgrade directly to .534. It's more "safe" flash .290 on .290. Go flash now.

Thanks. I don't suppose there is any working root for 4.3 yet, is there for the C9606?

Edit: Successfully flashed. Thanks again.
Last edited by magwart; 25th January 2014 at 01:08 AM.
25th January 2014, 01:09 AM   |  #6  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 617
 
2,984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by magwart

Thanks. I don't suppose there is any working root for 4.3 yet, is there for the C9606?

No direct root, like Vroot or 360, for .290 at the moment, just a method to get full root for Locked Bootladers. To do that you have to downgrade, root, install recovery then update to .290 again, a bit longer to get root on your phone, sure this method working for C6902/3 but should work for C6906 too, just check.
Last edited by eclyptos; 25th January 2014 at 01:11 AM.
4th February 2014, 04:44 AM   |  #7  
akusokuzan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Would I be able to go from 290 branded to the new 136 intended without issue? I already bricked one device trying to root and I'm just trying to make sure lol
4th February 2014, 06:33 AM   |  #8  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 617
 
2,984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by akusokuzan

Would I be able to go from 290 branded to the new 136 intended without issue? I already bricked one device trying to root and I'm just trying to make sure lol

Probably because when you bricked your phone was the time when some issues was not discovered yet in do that, and this confirm the fact on the thread now is wrote "How not brick your phone" . BTW, the risk to brick the phone is in downgrading so if you want just to upgrade without Root this way should be more "safe" and you will be able to do it without any issue.
4th February 2014, 02:38 PM   |  #9  
akusokuzan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos

Probably because when you bricked your phone was the time when some issues was not discovered yet in do that, and this confirm the fact on the thread now is wrote "How not brick your phone" . BTW, the risk to brick the phone is in downgrading so if you want just to upgrade without Root this way should be more "safe" and you will be able to do it without any issue.

Lol yeah, when I was trying to update with root, it didn't go so hot. That thread wasn't stickied until after the debacle. Sounds good though, thanks!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes