Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Battery question mark on boot

OP AKARaccoon

24th November 2013, 11:07 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag South Pomfret
Thanks Meter: 2
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
http://imgur.com/OxMh838

I just replaced my battery in the Droid 4, since my previous battery swelled up and started leaking. Motorola said they would cover it, even if it was out of the warranty, but they returned my phone with the battery ripped off, saying that "user mistreatment" was the reason they couldn't uphold their promise.

So, I installed a new battery from Amazon, and this is the issue that I get.

I was able to get into Android for a while, but after the charge died, this is all I get. I've tried quite a few things to be able to flash, anything, but no luck.

Any ideas out there? :/
25th November 2013, 11:21 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Frodsham, Cheshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 32
 
1,388 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
More
I've seen that with a duff battery (broken connections) - I'd get a replacement, and see if that cures the problem.

Cheers,

Steve
30th November 2013, 05:40 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag South Pomfret
Thanks Meter: 2
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevePritchard

I've seen that with a duff battery (broken connections) - I'd get a replacement, and see if that cures the problem.

Cheers,

Steve

Heh, well this is the replacement battery. Was hoping a brand new one wouldn't be broken, and don't really feel like spending another 35 bucks on this phone. Guess it's time to trash it. Thanks man.
30th November 2013, 11:47 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Frodsham, Cheshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 32
 
1,388 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKARaccoon

Heh, well this is the replacement battery. Was hoping a brand new one wouldn't be broken, and don't really feel like spending another 35 bucks on this phone. Guess it's time to trash it. Thanks man.

If you are seeing that on both batteries, then I would check the connections on the phone. Between the two screw battery terminals, there are a couple of connectors that stick up - gently give them a scrape with something abrasive. If there is some dirt of corrosion on there, then it may be possible that they aren't making good contact with the terminals on the battery cable.
6th December 2013, 04:51 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag South Pomfret
Thanks Meter: 2
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevePritchard

If you are seeing that on both batteries, then I would check the connections on the phone. Between the two screw battery terminals, there are a couple of connectors that stick up - gently give them a scrape with something abrasive. If there is some dirt of corrosion on there, then it may be possible that they aren't making good contact with the terminals on the battery cable.

Gonna ask a stupid question.

Do the screws need to be in for it to actually register a battery? :P
6th December 2013, 07:17 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Frodsham, Cheshire, UK
Thanks Meter: 32
 
1,388 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKARaccoon

Gonna ask a stupid question.

Do the screws need to be in for it to actually register a battery? :P

I would say so, as the screws are part of the power contacts, and also ensure that pressure is applied to the data contacts.
6th December 2013, 05:33 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Flag South Pomfret
Thanks Meter: 2
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevePritchard

I would say so, as the screws are part of the power contacts, and also ensure that pressure is applied to the data contacts.

I don't understand why it would work for one day, then stop working once the power is drained. Would that not mean the contacts are connecting?
25th January 2014, 01:59 AM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Did you fix your phone? i have same issue, i have clean connectors but i have not success

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes