Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Possible to turn off magnet??

OP BentCleanson

23rd January 2014, 09:27 AM   |  #1  
BentCleanson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Reykjavík
Thanks Meter: 37
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
My co-worker at the aluminum smelter bought Moto g and is experiencing problems do to the magnet. We have a magnetic field at work and his phone thinks the case is closed and screen turns off.
Is it possible to turn it off?? I did it on my LG G2 which had the same problem in magnetic field.

Thanks.

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
23rd January 2014, 02:50 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
UK
Thanks Meter: 131
 
210 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by BentCleanson

My co-worker at the aluminum smelter bought Moto g and is experiencing problems do to the magnet. We have a magnetic field at work and his phone thinks the case is closed and screen turns off.
Is it possible to turn it off?? I did it on my LG G2 which had the same problem in magnetic field.

Thanks.

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

It his phone rooted?
Xposed mod oportunity
The Following User Says Thank You to dubidu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd January 2014, 03:00 PM   |  #3  
Kameo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 566
 
837 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
I don't think that you can.
However you can use some tool to either keep the screen awake all the time (battery drain).
Or use something like Tasker (Llama is still free i guess) and set a rule with magnet detection : if magnet is lower/greater than default value then screen on or off.
The Following User Says Thank You to Kameo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd January 2014, 04:26 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
UK
Thanks Meter: 131
 
210 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Wink
I don't have a magnet at hand, but this xposed module should do it

http://tinyurl.com/qbpjv22/MotoMagnetOff.apk[COLOR="Silver"]

Edit:

yep, it works
It's so easy to change stuff with Xposed, should came with the stock Android
Last edited by dubidu; 23rd January 2014 at 04:28 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to dubidu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd January 2014, 05:57 PM   |  #5  
BentCleanson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Reykjavík
Thanks Meter: 37
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubidu

It his phone rooted?
Xposed mod oportunity

No its not rooted. Does it have to be for this mod?

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
23rd January 2014, 05:57 PM   |  #6  
BentCleanson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Reykjavík
Thanks Meter: 37
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubidu

I don't have a magnet at hand, but this xposed module should do it

http://tinyurl.com/qbpjv22/MotoMagnetOff.apk[COLOR="Silver"]

Edit:

yep, it works
It's so easy to change stuff with Xposed, should came with the stock Android

Does it need root?

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
23rd January 2014, 06:12 PM   |  #7  
Kameo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 566
 
837 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Yes it needs root to install Xposed framework.
The Following User Says Thank You to Kameo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd January 2014, 06:15 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
UK
Thanks Meter: 131
 
210 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by BentCleanson

Does it need root?

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app


Yes, you need root to be able to install the Xposed framework app. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1574401

What my xpose module does is to bypass the function that checks if the cover is on and puts the phone to sleep.
The Following User Says Thank You to dubidu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd January 2014, 08:28 PM   |  #9  
BentCleanson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Reykjavík
Thanks Meter: 37
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Is it enough to just root or do I need to unlock the bootloader and install custom recovery??

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
23rd January 2014, 08:30 PM   |  #10  
BentCleanson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Reykjavík
Thanks Meter: 37
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubidu

Yes, you need root to be able to install the Xposed framework app. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1574401

What my xpose module does is to bypass the function that checks if the cover is on and puts the phone to sleep.

Is it enough to just root or do I need to unlock the bootloader and install custom recovery??

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes