5,595,645 Members 44,325 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Possible to turn off magnet??

Tip us?
 
BentCleanson
Old
#1  
BentCleanson's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 189
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Reykjavík
Default Possible to turn off magnet??

My co-worker at the aluminum smelter bought Moto g and is experiencing problems do to the magnet. We have a magnetic field at work and his phone thinks the case is closed and screen turns off.
Is it possible to turn it off?? I did it on my LG G2 which had the same problem in magnetic field.

Thanks.

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
dubidu
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 198
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by BentCleanson View Post
My co-worker at the aluminum smelter bought Moto g and is experiencing problems do to the magnet. We have a magnetic field at work and his phone thinks the case is closed and screen turns off.
Is it possible to turn it off?? I did it on my LG G2 which had the same problem in magnetic field.

Thanks.

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
It his phone rooted?
Xposed mod oportunity
The Following User Says Thank You to dubidu For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Kameo
Old
#3  
Kameo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 417
Posts: 810
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
I don't think that you can.
However you can use some tool to either keep the screen awake all the time (battery drain).
Or use something like Tasker (Llama is still free i guess) and set a rule with magnet detection : if magnet is lower/greater than default value then screen on or off.
[APP] MotoG Boot Logo Flasher - Custom boot logo.
[APP] MotoG DualSim - Remove Sim2 Icons
[MOD][XPOSED] MotoGuide - Remove or edit Carrier label, Enable Charging LED and DoubleTap2Wake on MotoG
Moto G XT1032 16G - Stock rom [JB 4.3 | Faux kernel v3.4m | MotoGuide v1.0.8]
HTC Sensation - CyanogenMod 11 [KitKat 4.4.2]
HTC Desire - CyanoMod007 v31 [JB 4.2.2 | CM10.1.2 | A2Ext+ | CM7r2]
Hannspad SN10T1/1653 - Eclipse v1.0 [JB 4.2.2]
TronsMart MK908 rev3 - Finless v1.6a [JB 4.2.2]
The Following User Says Thank You to Kameo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dubidu
Old
(Last edited by dubidu; 23rd January 2014 at 03:28 PM.)
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 198
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
I don't have a magnet at hand, but this xposed module should do it

http://tinyurl.com/qbpjv22/MotoMagnetOff.apk[COLOR="Silver"]

Edit:

yep, it works
It's so easy to change stuff with Xposed, should came with the stock Android
The Following User Says Thank You to dubidu For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BentCleanson
Old
#5  
BentCleanson's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 189
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Reykjavík
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubidu View Post
It his phone rooted?
Xposed mod oportunity
No its not rooted. Does it have to be for this mod?

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
BentCleanson
Old
#6  
BentCleanson's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 189
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Reykjavík
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubidu View Post
I don't have a magnet at hand, but this xposed module should do it

http://tinyurl.com/qbpjv22/MotoMagnetOff.apk[COLOR="Silver"]

Edit:

yep, it works
It's so easy to change stuff with Xposed, should came with the stock Android
Does it need root?

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
Kameo
Old
#7  
Kameo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 417
Posts: 810
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Yes it needs root to install Xposed framework.
[APP] MotoG Boot Logo Flasher - Custom boot logo.
[APP] MotoG DualSim - Remove Sim2 Icons
[MOD][XPOSED] MotoGuide - Remove or edit Carrier label, Enable Charging LED and DoubleTap2Wake on MotoG
Moto G XT1032 16G - Stock rom [JB 4.3 | Faux kernel v3.4m | MotoGuide v1.0.8]
HTC Sensation - CyanogenMod 11 [KitKat 4.4.2]
HTC Desire - CyanoMod007 v31 [JB 4.2.2 | CM10.1.2 | A2Ext+ | CM7r2]
Hannspad SN10T1/1653 - Eclipse v1.0 [JB 4.2.2]
TronsMart MK908 rev3 - Finless v1.6a [JB 4.2.2]
The Following User Says Thank You to Kameo For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dubidu
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 103
Posts: 198
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by BentCleanson View Post
Does it need root?

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Yes, you need root to be able to install the Xposed framework app. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1574401

What my xpose module does is to bypass the function that checks if the cover is on and puts the phone to sleep.
The Following User Says Thank You to dubidu For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
BentCleanson
Old
#9  
BentCleanson's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 189
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Reykjavík
Is it enough to just root or do I need to unlock the bootloader and install custom recovery??

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
BentCleanson
Old
#10  
BentCleanson's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 189
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Reykjavík
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubidu View Post
Yes, you need root to be able to install the Xposed framework app. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1574401

What my xpose module does is to bypass the function that checks if the cover is on and puts the phone to sleep.
Is it enough to just root or do I need to unlock the bootloader and install custom recovery??

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes