Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Any way to make STOCK chromecast work offline?

OP gianptune

16th April 2014, 10:50 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 77
 
199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
I'm using my chromecast to watch files stored on the same network. But when I lose connection to to my ISP, chromecast gets stuck trying to talk to the internet and is useless for watching things from Plex. I know Plex still works, because I can watch it on my Ouya.

So, the question is, are there any tricks out there to make a STOCK chromecast think it is able to talk to the internet? Can I run a local server and point chromecast to my local server when it attempts to see if it online?
16th April 2014, 10:54 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 319
 
1,847 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Nope, It needs internet to load up the receiver apps it uses to play...

Technically you should be able to continue playing locally once that is loaded without Internet access but the device may now sense the loss and unload apps to report the loss of connection.
17th April 2014, 12:00 AM   |  #3  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 873
 
2,237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
and you can't spoof the whitelist server because it uses HTTPS and Chromecast only has the certificates for the Google server.

Adding a certificate for your own local server requires root.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes