Official MEGA Layers Overlays Collection

The Layers Overlays is getting more popular every day and is a nice alternative to … more

Why Your Smartphone Needs Infrared Sensors

Is it useful? Yes. Is it fun? Even more so! As of now, infrared or thermal vision solutions on … more

Giefroot Root Tool For Locked Z3, Z3 Compact

Check out this tool to root Xperia Z3 or Z3 Compact regardless of the locked bootloader. It … more

Five Free Icon Packs to Rule Them All

Android’s charm as an operating system is multi-faceted, and that’s after downplaying it … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Any way to make STOCK chromecast work offline?

OP gianptune

16th April 2014, 10:50 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 80
 
202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
I'm using my chromecast to watch files stored on the same network. But when I lose connection to to my ISP, chromecast gets stuck trying to talk to the internet and is useless for watching things from Plex. I know Plex still works, because I can watch it on my Ouya.

So, the question is, are there any tricks out there to make a STOCK chromecast think it is able to talk to the internet? Can I run a local server and point chromecast to my local server when it attempts to see if it online?
16th April 2014, 10:54 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 331
 
1,919 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Nope, It needs internet to load up the receiver apps it uses to play...

Technically you should be able to continue playing locally once that is loaded without Internet access but the device may now sense the loss and unload apps to report the loss of connection.
17th April 2014, 12:00 AM   |  #3  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 902
 
2,282 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
and you can't spoof the whitelist server because it uses HTTPS and Chromecast only has the certificates for the Google server.

Adding a certificate for your own local server requires root.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes