Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,303 Members 42,790 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q]Cant Use Cutom ROM

Tip us?
 
.PaNiNi.
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 126
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Default [Q]Cant Use Cutom ROM

I rooted my phone for the second time and before I could instal custom ROMS and now I cannot.

Can anyone explain why? Or knows why?
 
baseballfanz
Old
#2  
baseballfanz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,709
Posts: 6,688
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sugar Land TX
You need to post more info man. Firmware version, bootloader version ect....

☞ Sent from here☜🙈🙉🙊
**************
The Following User Says Thank You to baseballfanz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
.PaNiNi.
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 126
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
4.2.2
M919NUVUEMK5
Stock ROM
TWRP Recovery
Rooted with this method - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uo38Fy-GYuU

I did exactly as the video says (I have done it before and worked fine) and After getting root I cant install custom ROMS.
It doesnt give me any error message, it just stays on the boot screen.

any other info needed?
 
Misterjunky
Old
#4  
Misterjunky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,311
Posts: 4,452
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bakersfield, California

 
DONATE TO ME
Thumbs up re: wrong rom

Quote:
Originally Posted by .PaNiNi. View Post
4.2.2
M919NUVUEMK5
Stock ROM
TWRP Recovery
Rooted with this method - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uo38Fy-GYuU

I did exactly as the video says (I have done it before and worked fine) and After getting root I cant install custom ROMS.
It doesnt give me any error message, it just stays on the boot screen.

any other info needed?
You did not follow the instructions on that video very well at all.
In the video it shows the stock Samsung M919 MDL rom and you
flashed or are trying to flash the MK5 rom which is not the stock
official MDL rom for the Tmobile MDL M919 phone.

You need to go to http://SamMobile.com and download the official
stock MDL M919 firmware and Odin flash it in the PDA slot of odin.

Then you need to root the phone by odin flashing the cf-autoroot.
Once that's done you need to flash a custom recovery like TWRP
or CWM.
Have a great day, enjoy!

Don't forget it takes less time to click the "THANKS" button than to type "thank you".
(unless you type very fast).



The Following User Says Thank You to Misterjunky For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
.PaNiNi.
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 126
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterjunky View Post
You did not follow the instructions on that video very well at all.
In the video it shows the stock Samsung M919 MDL rom and you
flashed or are trying to flash the MK5 rom which is not the stock
official MDL rom for the Tmobile MDL M919 phone.

You need to go to http://SamMobile.com and download the official
stock MDL M919 firmware and Odin flash it in the PDA slot of odin.

Then you need to root the phone by odin flashing the cf-autoroot.
Once that's done you need to flash a custom recovery like TWRP
or CWM.
When I go to the site and check for my firmware it gives me this info


Latest firmware info

SGH-M919N null

PDA: M919NUVUEMK5

CSC: M919NTMBEMK5

MODEM: M919NUVUEMK5

Added: 2013-12-17


Also, I have done that method before and it worked perfect.
 
lordcheeto03
Old
#6  
lordcheeto03's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 526
Posts: 1,496
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: ( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡)
Quote:
Originally Posted by .PaNiNi. View Post
When I go to the site and check for my firmware it gives me this info


Latest firmware info

SGH-M919N null

PDA: M919NUVUEMK5

CSC: M919NTMBEMK5

MODEM: M919NUVUEMK5

Added: 2013-12-17


Also, I have done that method before and it worked perfect.
So your device is the M919N or V and not the standard US T-Mobile M919?
Don't be afraid of the "Thanks" button
 
.PaNiNi.
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 126
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordcheeto03 View Post
So your device is the M919N or V and not the standard US T-Mobile M919?
This is what my phone says -
M919NUVUEMK5


This is what the site says -
Latest firmware info

SGH-M919N null

PDA: M919NUVUEMK5

CSC: M919NTMBEMK5

MODEM: M919NUVUEMK5

Added: 2013-12-17


I dont have TMobile I have Metro PCS But they are pretty much the same thing.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


[OTA] Nvidia Shield Tablet Receives its First Update

The Nvidia Shield Tabletis the latest toy from one of the largest desktop graphics … more

Quick Control Panel Updated, Adds Notification Support

As some of you may remember, earlier this year we spoke about Quick Control Panel by … more

Narrate Makes Note Taking Efficient and Beautiful

Technology has put life on the fast track. Whether its travelling to multiple places or … more

Android App Review: How to Speed Up Your Android Phone – XDA Developer TV

Is your Android device running slow? Is your Android device … more