Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more
Post Reply

No service.

24th January 2014, 09:57 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Hi.

I have m919 T-Mobile Galaxy s4 but I'm with other carrier (Wind Canada).

I spent yesterday in environment where I didn't had coverage for most of the day, but i haven't gotten it back yet. Sounds really weird as it might be not connected to the fact at all. I have 4G connection active, which means that I have internet, but it keeps 'searching' for service and I can't Call/Text anyone, neither I can receive calls or texts. Instead of the bar at the top showing how good coverage i have it just shows a crossed out circle icon.

I've tried reboots, keeping my phone off for 30mins without battery, taking out sim and putting it back in, changing network modes and resetting APN (all from settings panel).

Have anyone experienced something like that and how do I fix it? It was working perfectly for last couple of months and the phone didn't get any damage yesterday neither.
25th January 2014, 07:17 AM   |  #2  
Misterjunky's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bakersfield, California
Thanks Meter: 2,481
 
4,570 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up re: network issues
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokozaurs

Hi.

I have m919 T-Mobile Galaxy s4 but I'm with other carrier (Wind Canada).

I spent yesterday in environment where I didn't had coverage for most of the day, but i haven't gotten it back yet. Sounds really weird as it might be not connected to the fact at all. I have 4G connection active, which means that I have internet, but it keeps 'searching' for service and I can't Call/Text anyone, neither I can receive calls or texts. Instead of the bar at the top showing how good coverage i have it just shows a crossed out circle icon.

I've tried reboots, keeping my phone off for 30mins without battery, taking out sim and putting it back in, changing network modes and resetting APN (all from settings panel).

Have anyone experienced something like that and how do I fix it? It was working perfectly for last couple of months and the phone didn't get any damage yesterday neither.

Try to go into settings>more networks>mobile networks>network operators and click "search now".
That will bring up the available networks and you need to choose the network which is your carrier.
It may take a few minutes until it stops scanning so have patience and don't back out of networks.

Good luck!
25th January 2014, 07:20 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterjunky

Try to go into settings>more networks>mobile networks>network operators and click "search now".
That will bring up the available networks and you need to choose the network which is your carrier.
It may take a few minutes until it stops scanning so have patience and don't back out of networks.

Good luck!

I've tried that! After a while it finds my network, the coverage bars appear for a while, but then they disappear. During that time when they're appeared I can't make any calls either, once it gave me error that It can't register to network which is weird because my data is running from sim pretty good. Today I tried to go to my operator store to let me try a different SIM card - no change.
26th January 2014, 09:20 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterjunky

Try to go into settings>more networks>mobile networks>network operators and click "search now".
That will bring up the available networks and you need to choose the network which is your carrier.
It may take a few minutes until it stops scanning so have patience and don't back out of networks.

Good luck!

Do you have any other suggestions? By the way I rooted the phone about 1.5 months ago if that makes any difference.

I'm really desperate for solution :/
26th January 2014, 02:40 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokozaurs

Do you have any other suggestions? By the way I rooted the phone about 1.5 months ago if that makes any difference.

I'm really desperate for solution :/

I suggest you reset your device to factory default. If that doesn't work, unroot your device and return to stock. If still it doesn't work, bring your device for warranty.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes