Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,666 Members 39,668 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q][ROM2SD] Dual boot SD card ROM freezing

Tip us?
 
maxp888
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default [Q][ROM2SD] Dual boot SD card ROM freezing

I have been testing ROMs on my SD card using _that's method from here as well as the built in ROM2SD install from the CROMI-X installer.

Everything was working great using CM10.2 until a few days ago when my TF700 became unresponsive after 5-10 minutes whenever I was running on the SD card mounted ROM. (It had been working fine for about a week of steady use). When it becomes unresponsive, it doesn't register any screen touches nor do any hardware keys work. The only way to recover is with a hard reset (holding the power button for a while even though pressing once has no effect). Decided to see if it was something related to CM10.2 so I reformatted the SD card and installed CROMI-X to the SD card using the CROMI-X installer... used it for a little bit and got the same problem.
I'm back to using the internal ROM and have no issues.

Has anyone else experienced this? Could it be a problem with the SD card itself (I'm using gparted to format and the card appears to function normally in other devices...)? I don't think it's a kernel issue as I'm using _that-v7 both internally and on the SD ROM (either through the CROMI-X installer or with the modified rom2sd2.zip from _that's dual boot thread).

Anyways, any advice or theories would be appreciated. I'd post in the original dual-boot thread but as a serial lurker/flasher I don't have enough posts to participate in the dev thread.
 
berndblb
Old
#2  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 881
Posts: 2,701
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I could have written your post....
I had EXACTLY the same setup, progression and result.
No idea for a solution though.... But doesn't it feel good not to be alone?
 
sbdags
Old
#3  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 12,993
Posts: 11,492
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kenilworth, Coventry

 
DONATE TO ME
You'll need to provide a logcat for a proper diagnosis otherwise we are guessing

But my guess will be your sdcard is not up to the task. What type of card is it?
 
_that
Old
#4  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,428
Posts: 3,429
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxp888 View Post
Could it be a problem with the SD card itself
Maybe. The microSD interface in the TF700 is known to be unreliable, at least in combination with certain cards. It was even worse with old ICS kernels.
 
lj50036
Old
#5  
lj50036's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,412
Posts: 1,731
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Muti-Verse

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxp888 View Post
Any advice or theories would be appreciated. I'd post in the original dual-boot thread but as a serial lurker/flasher I don't have enough posts to participate in the dev thread.
What utility are you using to partition and or format the sdcard??
 
berndblb
Old
#6  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 881
Posts: 2,701
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by lj50036 View Post
What utility are you using to partition and or format the sdcard??
I have what everybody else has: Scandisk Ultra class 10 formatted with Gparted.

I think I have the last installation still on the card. I'll give it a shot and try to capture a logcat, but that could be a looooooong logcat - if I remember correctly both CM and CROMi-X ran fine for a few days and then froze without warning. Not much fun using the tablet with a computer attached to it
 
maxp888
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbdags View Post
You'll need to provide a logcat for a proper diagnosis otherwise we are guessing

But my guess will be your sdcard is not up to the task. What type of card is it?
I'm also using a 32GB SanDisk ultra UHS Class 1 (the red and grey one) formatted with gparted.

As for the logcat, I haven't been able to get my tablet working over adb since I moved to windows 8.1 but I will be messing around with that today so hopefully I'll have something later.
 
sbdags
Old
#8  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 12,993
Posts: 11,492
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kenilworth, Coventry

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxp888 View Post
I'm also using a 32GB SanDisk ultra UHS Class 1 (the red and grey one) formatted with gparted.

As for the logcat, I haven't been able to get my tablet working over adb since I moved to windows 8.1 but I will be messing around with that today so hopefully I'll have something later.
adb works fine in Windows 8.1. Use these drivers here:

http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=22962010882834442
 
maxp888
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Aug 2010
Ok, got adb up and running. The full logcat is attached. I used the most verbose logging and the last responsive thing I was able to do was go into settings and attempt to keep wifi on in the low power settings (this occurs at 11:12:34.489 in the log). The tablet obviously saves this setting however the screen fails to update or register input after this point and actually continues to highlight the check box for that setting option as if I was continually touching it. I let the tablet run for a while to see if it was just laggy, but it failed to respond for over ten minutes... Anyways, let me know what you think and I'll be happy to test any theories.

(as a side note, you'll probably notice my wifi continually disconnecting and reconnecting, but my tablet has done that since I purchased it so it's probably unrelated).
Attached Files
File Type: txt crash.txt - [Click for QR Code] (301.0 KB, 4 views)
 
berndblb
Old
#10  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 881
Posts: 2,701
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I haven't been able to reproduce the freeze yet. Ran the tablet on rom2sd for more than an hour with all kinds of apps, Netflix, Quadrant etc - works like a charm.
I did format the ext4 partitions before installing rom2sd (yet again). Maybe I finally got it right?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes