Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,243 Members 52,792 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] S3 phone/text issues

Tip us?
 
jryanvt
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 32
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Default [Q] S3 phone/text issues

Somehow my wife's S3 must know she just became upgrade eligible. Over the last few days she has not been able to make/receive calls (sometimes it connect but then disconnects in less than 10 seconds) or receive text messages. The weird part is she can use her data connection and send texts without any problems. Any idea on what her problem could be? Thanks.
 
joeyhdownsouth
Old
#2  
joeyhdownsouth's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 171
Posts: 776
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Creole State
Quote:
Originally Posted by jryanvt View Post
Somehow my wife's S3 must know she just became upgrade eligible. Over the last few days she has not been able to make/receive calls (sometimes it connect but then disconnects in less than 10 seconds) or receive text messages. The weird part is she can use her data connection and send texts without any problems. Any idea on what her problem could be? Thanks.
Have you tried PRL and profile update?

sent from my GS3
G2(Sprint)-stock
G3(Sprint)-stock rooted
Galaxy S3(Sprint)-ROM:C-rom/KERNEL:dkp-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
Galaxy S5(Boost)-ROM/KERNEL:M.O.A.R.-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
Moto G(unlocked to CellularOne)-ROM/KERNEL:LiquidSmooth-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
Note 10.1-ROM/KERNEL:Hyperdrive-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
 
jryanvt
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 32
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeyhdownsouth View Post
Have you tried PRL and profile update?

sent from my GS3
yes, tried both last night, no luck with either.
 
prboy1969
Old
#4  
prboy1969's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 6682
Posts: 10,120
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by jryanvt View Post
Somehow my wife's S3 must know she just became upgrade eligible. Over the last few days she has not been able to make/receive calls (sometimes it connect but then disconnects in less than 10 seconds) or receive text messages. The weird part is she can use her data connection and send texts without any problems. Any idea on what her problem could be? Thanks.
Try reactivating the device. On the dial pad ##72786# . The device will reboot a few times. Just let it do it's thing.
 
jryanvt
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 32
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by prboy1969 View Post
Try reactivating the device. On the dial pad ##72786# . The device will reboot a few times. Just let it do it's thing.
Thanks. I should have done a better job explaining what I've already tried. The reboot didn't work (just tried it again), and I've also tried clearing cache recovery. I'm thinking about rooting and loading a custom rom to see that solves the problem.
 
prboy1969
Old
#6  
prboy1969's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 6682
Posts: 10,120
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Michigan
So have you tried ##72786# ?

TEAM MiK MikROMs Since 3/13/11
 
jryanvt
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 32
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by prboy1969 View Post
Try reactivating the device. On the dial pad ##72786# . The device will reboot a few times. Just let it do it's thing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by prboy1969 View Post
So have you tried ##72786# ?

TEAM MiK MikROMs Since 3/13/11
Yes, no luck. I got the phone to connect and receive texts briefly this morning, but it's on the fritz again.
 
prboy1969
Old
#8  
prboy1969's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 6682
Posts: 10,120
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Michigan
Did you check to see if they're working on the Network in your area ?

TEAM MiK MikROMs Since 3/13/11
 
jryanvt
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 32
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by prboy1969 View Post
Did you check to see if they're working on the Network in your area ?

TEAM MiK MikROMs Since 3/13/11
No, but my evo 4g connects fine, and my wife's had problems at her office and at home, which i thought would two different towers.
 
prboy1969
Old
#10  
prboy1969's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 6682
Posts: 10,120
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by jryanvt View Post
No, but my evo 4g connects fine, and my wife's had problems at her office and at home, which i thought would two different towers.
They should be two different towers. Unless of course she works close to home. Since the device is not rooted, try calling Sprint. Have them reset you're data on there end.

TEAM MiK MikROMs Since 3/13/11

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes