Post Reply

Question [Q] Am I hosed? accidently froze something I shouldn't have.. endless boot loop

OP Wittyusernametaken

2nd February 2014, 06:15 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
179 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Last night Titanium got reset and so I had to refreeze to avoid losing MDL and cut bloatware/etc.

This morning I rebooted to try to get a stubborn app to work. Cue endless boot loop I've been at for over an hour. Somtimes it will flash my home screen with the icons then reboots. I effed up didn't I? When this happened with my iPhone 5 I was able to go in and delete out tweaks with iFile to fix, but from googling this seems a lot more complicated and really, really bad.

I know the #1 rule on here is to read and find the answer to solve the problem yourself, and I've got 7 other tabs open and am doing that, but I'm also in major panic mode. How do I fix this? I'm so pissed at myself for not opening the safe to freeze thread last night.
2nd February 2014, 06:19 PM   |  #2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,560
 
10,310 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Worst case is to Odin the stock mdl firmware and start all over.
2nd February 2014, 06:21 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
179 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

Worst case is to Odin the stock mdl firmware and start all over.

will I lose MDL and root? I'm getting the feeling scanning the various tabs that I'm gonna have to go back to square 1 somehow ugh, I want to cry.
2nd February 2014, 06:25 PM   |  #4  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Minnetonka, MN
Thanks Meter: 3,560
 
10,310 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wittyusernametaken

will I lose MDL and root? I'm getting the feeling scanning the various tabs that I'm gonna have to go back to square 1 somehow ugh, I want to cry.

You won't lose mdl, you will lose root and will have to re-root and re-freeze the files to keep the ota from taking place. Do your homework on those first so you know which ones to freeze because it'll want to update.
2nd February 2014, 06:39 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,516
 
1,058 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wittyusernametaken

Last night Titanium got reset and so I had to refreeze to avoid losing MDL and cut bloatware/etc.

This morning I rebooted to try to get a stubborn app to work. Cue endless boot loop I've been at for over an hour. Somtimes it will flash my home screen with the icons then reboots. I effed up didn't I? When this happened with my iPhone 5 I was able to go in and delete out tweaks with iFile to fix, but from googling this seems a lot more complicated and really, really bad.

I know the #1 rule on here is to read and find the answer to solve the problem yourself, and I've got 7 other tabs open and am doing that, but I'm also in major panic mode. How do I fix this? I'm so pissed at myself for not opening the safe to freeze thread last night.

You can factory reset from recovery. That will unfreeze all apps but keep root. Good luck.
2nd February 2014, 06:45 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
179 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

You won't lose mdl, you will lose root and will have to re-root and re-freeze the files to keep the ota from taking place. Do your homework on those first so you know which ones to freeze because it'll want to update.

Well I'm in front of a computer now so there's no way I have any excuse not to check the safe to freeze list at least.

I found this http://downloadandroidfiles.org/down...tamdl_att-zip/ I can't log in to my phone to tell specifically what I am, just that I'm ATT, MDL on 4.2.2. Is that the file I use in Odin?
2nd February 2014, 07:03 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
179 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639

You won't lose mdl, you will lose root and will have to re-root and re-freeze the files to keep the ota from taking place. Do your homework on those first so you know which ones to freeze because it'll want to update.

Quote:
Originally Posted by muniz_ri

You can factory reset from recovery. That will unfreeze all apps but keep root. Good luck.


EDITED: Okay, I flashed stock MDL with Odin after I could only get into Download mode, said it succeeded. And now we are back at the endless boot loop. Although it shows my regular home screen... wouldn't I have lost everything? So did it not take?

What do I try now that Odin failed?
Last edited by Wittyusernametaken; 2nd February 2014 at 07:21 PM.
2nd February 2014, 07:11 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,516
 
1,058 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wittyusernametaken

I can't boot into recovery. I get the message that it tries to boot into it (volume up, power and home) but then turns off and starts the reboot process all over again.

How do I flash stock MDL with Odin if I can't get into recovery?

Make sure that you hold the three button combo long enough in order to get into recovery. there should be small, blue type at the top of the screen at that point release the buttons.

But if you really can't get into recovery hopefully you can get into download mode.....with the phone off press volume down, home, and power buttons. Connect phone to odin then hit volume up. At that point odin should recognize the phone and say "added" on the screen. Select the MDL (the above MDL file looks legit) tar file after pressing PDA in Odin then start.
2nd February 2014, 07:19 PM   |  #9  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wittyusernametaken

I can't boot into recovery. I get the message that it tries to boot into it (volume up, power and home) but then turns off and starts the reboot process all over again.

How do I flash stock MDL with Odin if I can't get into recovery?

Can you get into Download Mode? opposed to Recovery

Volume Down + Power + Home...

If so you can reflash the stock MDL Odin files which will bring to phone back to factory settings (backup what you can), your need to reroot, and reinstall your custom recovery. Along with that block the update programs...
2nd February 2014, 07:25 PM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
179 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
It flashes my home screen, I can hit the button to get into my apps, and can ALMOST get to Titanium before it reboots on me. Over and over and over.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes