Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,164 Members 50,222 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Am I hosed? accidently froze something I shouldn't have.. endless boot loop

Tip us?
 
Wittyusernametaken
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 174
Join Date: Sep 2013
Question [Q] Am I hosed? accidently froze something I shouldn't have.. endless boot loop

Last night Titanium got reset and so I had to refreeze to avoid losing MDL and cut bloatware/etc.

This morning I rebooted to try to get a stubborn app to work. Cue endless boot loop I've been at for over an hour. Somtimes it will flash my home screen with the icons then reboots. I effed up didn't I? When this happened with my iPhone 5 I was able to go in and delete out tweaks with iFile to fix, but from googling this seems a lot more complicated and really, really bad.

I know the #1 rule on here is to read and find the answer to solve the problem yourself, and I've got 7 other tabs open and am doing that, but I'm also in major panic mode. How do I fix this? I'm so pissed at myself for not opening the safe to freeze thread last night.
 
jd1639
Old
#2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,209
Posts: 9,514
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Worst case is to Odin the stock mdl firmware and start all over.
 
Wittyusernametaken
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 174
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
Worst case is to Odin the stock mdl firmware and start all over.
will I lose MDL and root? I'm getting the feeling scanning the various tabs that I'm gonna have to go back to square 1 somehow ugh, I want to cry.
 
jd1639
Old
#4  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,209
Posts: 9,514
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wittyusernametaken View Post
will I lose MDL and root? I'm getting the feeling scanning the various tabs that I'm gonna have to go back to square 1 somehow ugh, I want to cry.
You won't lose mdl, you will lose root and will have to re-root and re-freeze the files to keep the ota from taking place. Do your homework on those first so you know which ones to freeze because it'll want to update.
 
muniz_ri
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,001
Posts: 777
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wittyusernametaken View Post
Last night Titanium got reset and so I had to refreeze to avoid losing MDL and cut bloatware/etc.

This morning I rebooted to try to get a stubborn app to work. Cue endless boot loop I've been at for over an hour. Somtimes it will flash my home screen with the icons then reboots. I effed up didn't I? When this happened with my iPhone 5 I was able to go in and delete out tweaks with iFile to fix, but from googling this seems a lot more complicated and really, really bad.

I know the #1 rule on here is to read and find the answer to solve the problem yourself, and I've got 7 other tabs open and am doing that, but I'm also in major panic mode. How do I fix this? I'm so pissed at myself for not opening the safe to freeze thread last night.
You can factory reset from recovery. That will unfreeze all apps but keep root. Good luck.
 
Wittyusernametaken
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 174
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
You won't lose mdl, you will lose root and will have to re-root and re-freeze the files to keep the ota from taking place. Do your homework on those first so you know which ones to freeze because it'll want to update.
Well I'm in front of a computer now so there's no way I have any excuse not to check the safe to freeze list at least.

I found this http://downloadandroidfiles.org/down...tamdl_att-zip/ I can't log in to my phone to tell specifically what I am, just that I'm ATT, MDL on 4.2.2. Is that the file I use in Odin?
 
Wittyusernametaken
Old
(Last edited by Wittyusernametaken; 2nd February 2014 at 07:21 PM.)
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 174
Join Date: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
You won't lose mdl, you will lose root and will have to re-root and re-freeze the files to keep the ota from taking place. Do your homework on those first so you know which ones to freeze because it'll want to update.
Quote:
Originally Posted by muniz_ri View Post
You can factory reset from recovery. That will unfreeze all apps but keep root. Good luck.

EDITED: Okay, I flashed stock MDL with Odin after I could only get into Download mode, said it succeeded. And now we are back at the endless boot loop. Although it shows my regular home screen... wouldn't I have lost everything? So did it not take?

What do I try now that Odin failed?
 
muniz_ri
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,001
Posts: 777
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wittyusernametaken View Post
I can't boot into recovery. I get the message that it tries to boot into it (volume up, power and home) but then turns off and starts the reboot process all over again.

How do I flash stock MDL with Odin if I can't get into recovery?
Make sure that you hold the three button combo long enough in order to get into recovery. there should be small, blue type at the top of the screen at that point release the buttons.

But if you really can't get into recovery hopefully you can get into download mode.....with the phone off press volume down, home, and power buttons. Connect phone to odin then hit volume up. At that point odin should recognize the phone and say "added" on the screen. Select the MDL (the above MDL file looks legit) tar file after pressing PDA in Odin then start.
 
NighthawkXL
Old
#9  
NighthawkXL's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 236
Posts: 268
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wittyusernametaken View Post
I can't boot into recovery. I get the message that it tries to boot into it (volume up, power and home) but then turns off and starts the reboot process all over again.

How do I flash stock MDL with Odin if I can't get into recovery?
Can you get into Download Mode? opposed to Recovery

Volume Down + Power + Home...

If so you can reflash the stock MDL Odin files which will bring to phone back to factory settings (backup what you can), your need to reroot, and reinstall your custom recovery. Along with that block the update programs...
My Devices
Samsung Galaxy S4 (SGH-I337)
  • ROM - Purified [4.4.2]
  • Baseband - NC1
  • Root - Yes
  • Recovery - SafeStrap 3.72
----------------------------------------------------------
Enjoying my help? Feel free to help feed this broke college student.
 
Wittyusernametaken
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 174
Join Date: Sep 2013
It flashes my home screen, I can hit the button to get into my apps, and can ALMOST get to Titanium before it reboots on me. Over and over and over.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes