Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,710 Members 39,397 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How do I set Google Maps to use metric measurements?

Tip us?
 
wocko1
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 98
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Default How do I set Google Maps to use metric measurements?

How do I set Google Maps to use metric measurements?
I can't find any setting for it. We don't use primitive measurements here in Oz and any help will be appreciated
-------------------------------------
Sent via the XDA Tapatalk App
My Smartphone History: Nokia 3650, Panasonic X700, Motorola MPx220, Nokia 6120 Classic, Nokia N95-3 NAM, HTC HD2 "Leo" T9193, HTC Desire "Bravo" A8183, Samsung Galaxy S II I9100, Samsung Galaxy Note N7000B, Samsung Galaxy S III I9300
 
tuntang
Old
#2  
tuntang's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 103
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London
Default Re: How do I set Google Maps to use metric measurements?

This is a problem with maps in general. Its.the same on a pc. Google use your location to set the type of units . Is it the same on your pc?

-------------------------------------
Sent via the XDA Tapatalk App
Orange HTC Desire
Rooted
AuraxTSense v7.7 HTC Sense 2.2
If it's not broken, fix it
 
wocko1
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 98
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Still no go, also tried setting the locale, and still doesn't work. Does anyone who have an android phone, show distances in metric, when you use the ruler tool, and also touching a point on a street to bring up the info?

Driving directions are in KM though, everything else is in miles.
My Smartphone History: Nokia 3650, Panasonic X700, Motorola MPx220, Nokia 6120 Classic, Nokia N95-3 NAM, HTC HD2 "Leo" T9193, HTC Desire "Bravo" A8183, Samsung Galaxy S II I9100, Samsung Galaxy Note N7000B, Samsung Galaxy S III I9300
 
nihilion_Zero
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 27
Join Date: Jun 2010
Bump for great JUSTICE!!!!
 
wocko1
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 98
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
So far Google Maps 4.4 is out and THERE IS STILL NO WAY TO SET IT TO METRIC! I really can't believe it. I used MoreLocale2 to change it to en-AU, still STONE AGE measurements, but when I set it to a non-English language, it shows in metric.

Seriously, does anyone know how to fix this? I've searched everywhere. It has happened in both the default Telstra 2.1, and also the WWE Froyo official ROM.

I seriously feel sorry for fellow Aussies, Kiwis, Singaporeans, Canadians and any other English speaking country who uses metric measurements, who are forced to live with this stupid oversight.

Sorry, but it's just plain annoying.
My Smartphone History: Nokia 3650, Panasonic X700, Motorola MPx220, Nokia 6120 Classic, Nokia N95-3 NAM, HTC HD2 "Leo" T9193, HTC Desire "Bravo" A8183, Samsung Galaxy S II I9100, Samsung Galaxy Note N7000B, Samsung Galaxy S III I9300
 
EddyOS
Old
#6  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,050
Posts: 13,308
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Liverpool, Merseyside
Miles and yards ftw!!!

Aren't car speedos in Oz in MPH?? Thought they were...EDIT: No, you're backwards on KMH
OnePlus One A0001 (Sandstone Grey) 64GB
ROM: CyanogenMod 11S (XNPH33R) | Bootloader: Stock | Recovery: TWRP 2.8.0.1 | Radio: Stock | Kernel: Franco Kernel r20

Google Nexus 5 D821 (Black) 32GB
ROM: Android 4.4.4 (KTU84P) | Bootloader: HHZ11K | Recovery: Stock | Radio: 2.0.50.1.16 | Kernel: Stock

If you have a question, great - but DO NOT PM ME WITH IT!!! | [GUIDE] Return your EU M8 to 100% Stock (S-OFF Required) | [GUIDE] Return your OPO to 100% Stock
 
wocko1
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 98
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
No Aussie cars have their speedometers in km/h, and we ditched MPH back in 1974. All road signs including speed limits are in metric. Plus I grew up with metric measurements too.

Backwards? Pah. How many feet in a yard? How many yards to a mile?
Better yet how many countries use caveman measurements? I count four. The Poms, The Yanks, Liberians, and Burmese.

Now let's stop trolling and get back on the rails please?

Does anyone have a fix for my problem? My phone is already rooted if thats any help.

cheers

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk
My Smartphone History: Nokia 3650, Panasonic X700, Motorola MPx220, Nokia 6120 Classic, Nokia N95-3 NAM, HTC HD2 "Leo" T9193, HTC Desire "Bravo" A8183, Samsung Galaxy S II I9100, Samsung Galaxy Note N7000B, Samsung Galaxy S III I9300
 
wocko1
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 98
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
BUMP! I take it you just can't do it?
My Smartphone History: Nokia 3650, Panasonic X700, Motorola MPx220, Nokia 6120 Classic, Nokia N95-3 NAM, HTC HD2 "Leo" T9193, HTC Desire "Bravo" A8183, Samsung Galaxy S II I9100, Samsung Galaxy Note N7000B, Samsung Galaxy S III I9300
 
wocko1
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 98
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Well the new version of maps are out but still no fix. I can't seem to force the maps app to en-au to try and set the damn thing to metric as it defaults to en-gb. I did manage to get rid of the American terminology in Places at least but it still measures in miles.

I wish someone would help, surely there has to be someone who would know or even tried instead of cocky people who hasn't been or lived outside of the UK or US and give me smartarse comments.

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk
My Smartphone History: Nokia 3650, Panasonic X700, Motorola MPx220, Nokia 6120 Classic, Nokia N95-3 NAM, HTC HD2 "Leo" T9193, HTC Desire "Bravo" A8183, Samsung Galaxy S II I9100, Samsung Galaxy Note N7000B, Samsung Galaxy S III I9300
 
wocko1
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 98
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Hard to believe that no one has an answer. My Galaxy S2 shows it correctly in km where my Xoom shows it in miles. Googling gave nothing and still couldn't find an answer
My Smartphone History: Nokia 3650, Panasonic X700, Motorola MPx220, Nokia 6120 Classic, Nokia N95-3 NAM, HTC HD2 "Leo" T9193, HTC Desire "Bravo" A8183, Samsung Galaxy S II I9100, Samsung Galaxy Note N7000B, Samsung Galaxy S III I9300

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Android M Mentions Spotted in Android Code Review

While we are still waiting for Android L to be officially released, the first mentions of … more

Create a Simple Custom Launcher from Scratch

When you are starting your journey intoany sort of development, it’s never easy at the … more

MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more