Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,802,901 Members 40,559 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Need Help Installing custom ROMS Dinc2

Tip us?
 
termin8tor22
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 215
Posts: 444
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Q] Need Help Installing custom ROMS Dinc2

Hello all this is my first post

i have a problem...

im trying to install custom roms onto my Dinc2.
I have the inc2 unlocked with htcdev.com bootloader unlock
i have clockworkmod recovery installed
i have root access
i have rom manager and superuser installed


phone says:
***Unlocked***
VIVO_W XB SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-0.98.0000
RADIO-1.09.01.0312
eMMC-boot
Jul 18 2011, 12:39:36

> i go into rom manager app
> install from sd card
> choose cyanogenmod 7.2 or runnydroid 5
> i click all options to create backup and wipe disk
> (takes me to cwm recovery)
> it begins to create backup, erase files, write rom
> says rom has been successfully installed, need to reboot
> when it reboots the phone it gets stuck at the HTC screen. (ive let it sit for hours)

it never completes the reboot
what am i doing wrong, and how can i fix it.

thanks- christian
The Following User Says Thank You to termin8tor22 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
prototype7
Old
#2  
prototype7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,116
Posts: 4,293
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New Hampshire
You need to flash the boot.img with fastboot if you only have htcdev unlock. Extract the boot.img from your ROM zip into the platform-tools folder of the sdk (if you don't have the sdk installed, Google android sdk). In a command prompt (assuming you're using windows) navigate to the platform tools folder of the sdk, plug in your phone with a USB cable, boot into the bootloader and use the
command "fastboot flash boot boot.img" in the command prompt and you're good to go.

Sent from my Incredible 2 using Tapatalk 2 Beta-5

Signature by ThePhantom97
My PM box is not for tech support. If you have a question, post in the appropriate thread or create one in Q&A, you'll get an answer much faster.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to prototype7 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
termin8tor22
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 215
Posts: 444
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia

 
DONATE TO ME
thanks so much man i really appreciate that
it worked
ive been looking for 2 days on how to do this, you rock bro thanks so much
im going to create a tut later for people like me who dont no how to do this and your name will definitely be mentioned
 
klabit87
Old
(Last edited by klabit87; 2nd June 2012 at 02:43 AM.) Reason: Fixed link :o
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 177
Posts: 547
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by termin8tor22 View Post
thanks so much man i really appreciate that
it worked
ive been looking for 2 days on how to do this, you rock bro thanks so much
im going to create a tut later for people like me who dont no how to do this and your name will definitely be mentioned
like this one?
[GUIDE] Noob's Guide #6: I just HTC Unlocked, what now?
 
farcus211
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 19
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: canton
I just did this method recently. I learned when I install the rom with recovery let in install but don't reboot leave it in recovery and hook up usb and adb reboot bootloader flash boot.img and reboot. Rom then loaded for me.
 
termin8tor22
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 215
Posts: 444
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia

 
DONATE TO ME
does anyone know about flashing radios?

mines RADIO-1.09.01.0312 and i heard flashing to RADIO-1.09.01.1111 or RADIO-1.09.01.0722 will boost my signal as i live in the sticks
service is available as i can get it with other phones up to 2 bars.
ive done *228 and all that with no results.
ive looked at alot of guides and nothing has helped me
im running cm7 on my dinc2 btw

thanks
 
kubes069
Old
#7  
kubes069's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 178
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by termin8tor22 View Post
does anyone know about flashing radios?

mines RADIO-1.09.01.0312 and i heard flashing to RADIO-1.09.01.1111 or RADIO-1.09.01.0722 will boost my signal as i live in the sticks
service is available as i can get it with other phones up to 2 bars.
ive done *228 and all that with no results.
ive looked at alot of guides and nothing has helped me
im running cm7 on my dinc2 btw

thanks
Just flash it. If you notice a difference, keep it. If there is no difference, go back to another radio.

There is a few guides that show you step by step how to do it. It's not difficult at all.
 
termin8tor22
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 215
Posts: 444
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia

 
DONATE TO ME
ive looked at many tuts and have had no success.

i get the PG32IMG.zip (which has 2 files: android-info.txt & radio.img)
heres the tut i was looking at rootzwiki's tut: [RADIO] HTC Incredible 2 Radios [PG32IMG.zip]
followed all steps to a T
my bootloader sees the image and then says

***Unlocked***
VIVO_W XB SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-0.98.0000
RADIO-1.09.01.0312
eMMC-boot
Jul 18 2011, 12:39:36

HBOOT

Checking..[PG32IMG.zip]


and it never does anything after this it kinda just hangs there
what am i doing wrong
 
kubes069
Old
#9  
kubes069's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 178
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by termin8tor22 View Post
ive looked at many tuts and have had no success.

i get the PG32IMG.zip (which has 2 files: android-info.txt & radio.img)
heres the tut i was looking at rootzwiki's tut: [RADIO] HTC Incredible 2 Radios [PG32IMG.zip]
followed all steps to a T
my bootloader sees the image and then says

***Unlocked***
VIVO_W XB SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-0.98.0000
RADIO-1.09.01.0312
eMMC-boot
Jul 18 2011, 12:39:36

HBOOT

Checking..[PG32IMG.zip]


and it never does anything after this it kinda just hangs there
what am i doing wrong

I think because you are s-on you can't flash a radio.
You need to get s-off.

Run revolutionary to do that.
 
termin8tor22
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 215
Posts: 444
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia

 
DONATE TO ME
i am not hboot 97 im 98
ive tried to downgrade to 2.3.3 and it always takes me to 2.3.4

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes