Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Need Help Installing custom ROMS Dinc2

OP termin8tor22

1st June 2012, 07:00 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 215
 
444 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Hello all this is my first post

i have a problem...

im trying to install custom roms onto my Dinc2.
I have the inc2 unlocked with htcdev.com bootloader unlock
i have clockworkmod recovery installed
i have root access
i have rom manager and superuser installed


phone says:
***Unlocked***
VIVO_W XB SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-0.98.0000
RADIO-1.09.01.0312
eMMC-boot
Jul 18 2011, 12:39:36

> i go into rom manager app
> install from sd card
> choose cyanogenmod 7.2 or runnydroid 5
> i click all options to create backup and wipe disk
> (takes me to cwm recovery)
> it begins to create backup, erase files, write rom
> says rom has been successfully installed, need to reboot
> when it reboots the phone it gets stuck at the HTC screen. (ive let it sit for hours)

it never completes the reboot
what am i doing wrong, and how can i fix it.

thanks- christian
The Following User Says Thank You to termin8tor22 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st June 2012, 08:56 PM   |  #2  
prototype7's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Hampshire
Thanks Meter: 1,119
 
4,296 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
You need to flash the boot.img with fastboot if you only have htcdev unlock. Extract the boot.img from your ROM zip into the platform-tools folder of the sdk (if you don't have the sdk installed, Google android sdk). In a command prompt (assuming you're using windows) navigate to the platform tools folder of the sdk, plug in your phone with a USB cable, boot into the bootloader and use the
command "fastboot flash boot boot.img" in the command prompt and you're good to go.

Sent from my Incredible 2 using Tapatalk 2 Beta-5
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to prototype7 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st June 2012, 11:39 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 215
 
444 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
thanks so much man i really appreciate that
it worked
ive been looking for 2 days on how to do this, you rock bro thanks so much
im going to create a tut later for people like me who dont no how to do this and your name will definitely be mentioned
2nd June 2012, 03:40 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 179
 
551 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by termin8tor22

thanks so much man i really appreciate that
it worked
ive been looking for 2 days on how to do this, you rock bro thanks so much
im going to create a tut later for people like me who dont no how to do this and your name will definitely be mentioned

like this one?
[GUIDE] Noob's Guide #6: I just HTC Unlocked, what now?
Last edited by klabit87; 2nd June 2012 at 03:43 AM. Reason: Fixed link :o
2nd June 2012, 05:50 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag canton
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
I just did this method recently. I learned when I install the rom with recovery let in install but don't reboot leave it in recovery and hook up usb and adb reboot bootloader flash boot.img and reboot. Rom then loaded for me.
3rd June 2012, 09:39 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 215
 
444 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
does anyone know about flashing radios?

mines RADIO-1.09.01.0312 and i heard flashing to RADIO-1.09.01.1111 or RADIO-1.09.01.0722 will boost my signal as i live in the sticks
service is available as i can get it with other phones up to 2 bars.
ive done *228 and all that with no results.
ive looked at alot of guides and nothing has helped me
im running cm7 on my dinc2 btw

thanks
3rd June 2012, 08:11 PM   |  #7  
kubes069's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Jersey
Thanks Meter: 34
 
182 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by termin8tor22

does anyone know about flashing radios?

mines RADIO-1.09.01.0312 and i heard flashing to RADIO-1.09.01.1111 or RADIO-1.09.01.0722 will boost my signal as i live in the sticks
service is available as i can get it with other phones up to 2 bars.
ive done *228 and all that with no results.
ive looked at alot of guides and nothing has helped me
im running cm7 on my dinc2 btw

thanks

Just flash it. If you notice a difference, keep it. If there is no difference, go back to another radio.

There is a few guides that show you step by step how to do it. It's not difficult at all.
3rd June 2012, 09:23 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 215
 
444 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
ive looked at many tuts and have had no success.

i get the PG32IMG.zip (which has 2 files: android-info.txt & radio.img)
heres the tut i was looking at rootzwiki's tut: [RADIO] HTC Incredible 2 Radios [PG32IMG.zip]
followed all steps to a T
my bootloader sees the image and then says

***Unlocked***
VIVO_W XB SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-0.98.0000
RADIO-1.09.01.0312
eMMC-boot
Jul 18 2011, 12:39:36

HBOOT

Checking..[PG32IMG.zip]


and it never does anything after this it kinda just hangs there
what am i doing wrong
3rd June 2012, 09:34 PM   |  #9  
kubes069's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Jersey
Thanks Meter: 34
 
182 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by termin8tor22

ive looked at many tuts and have had no success.

i get the PG32IMG.zip (which has 2 files: android-info.txt & radio.img)
heres the tut i was looking at rootzwiki's tut: [RADIO] HTC Incredible 2 Radios [PG32IMG.zip]
followed all steps to a T
my bootloader sees the image and then says

***Unlocked***
VIVO_W XB SHIP S-ON RL
HBOOT-0.98.0000
RADIO-1.09.01.0312
eMMC-boot
Jul 18 2011, 12:39:36

HBOOT

Checking..[PG32IMG.zip]


and it never does anything after this it kinda just hangs there
what am i doing wrong


I think because you are s-on you can't flash a radio.
You need to get s-off.

Run revolutionary to do that.
3rd June 2012, 09:44 PM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 215
 
444 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
i am not hboot 97 im 98
ive tried to downgrade to 2.3.3 and it always takes me to 2.3.4

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes