Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Question [Q] Do I need a SIM unlock on DInc2 with CM flashed?

OP PMDPhD

21st February 2014, 06:30 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
I flashed Chillybeans unofficial CM 10.2 and it works great so far. I was wondering if I would still need to SIM "unlock" this phone to use it overseas or on a GSM carrier.

I have been using this old phone as a backup/media player on WiFi and currently is not active on any cellular carrier. I may want to use it when I travel since it a global phone.

Thanks
22nd February 2014, 02:21 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Flag Northern Thailand
Thanks Meter: 8
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
The phone comes with a pre-installed VZW/Vodaphone SIM Card that, with a current VZW account, allows the phone to roam with additional charges on foreign cdma and gsm networks when abroad.

It needs to be unlocked to use other carrier SIM cards.

The unlock code is stored in hardware memory and is unaffected by rom or modem/radio firmware flashing.
23rd February 2014, 08:39 AM   |  #3  
jam0688's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Arkansas
Thanks Meter: 15
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
More
Unless you plan on going global a sim isn't necessary. It works on CDMA. As for unlocking it to another carrier I believe it would have to be flashed to that company unlike the galaxy s4 the sim port on the dinc2 is strictly for global use. I believe there's a forum floating around on here about it. Hope this was helpful and be sure to click thanks if it was.
23rd February 2014, 08:21 PM   |  #4  
jam0688's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Arkansas
Thanks Meter: 15
 
138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
More
I mean u can use it on local gsm if its unlocked or ur s-off but u will only get Edge support. But if u just wanna use it on cdma using a cm rom has nothing to do with the sim just need an unlocked bootloader or to be s-off.

---------- Post added at 01:21 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:03 PM ----------

Now if u used htcdev bootloader unlock then ur phone will only work on global and not local gsm u need to be s-off to use on other gsm networks whether the sim is unlocked or not bec its locked through htc not verizon. Sorry bout so many posts i get carried away sometimes lol hope this helps
28th February 2014, 03:41 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Thanks for the responses, but I am still a bit confused. OK so for more background, I am rooted, fully S-OFF, and have flashed an unofficial CM 10.2 ROM from this forum link http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2049902.

I am pretty new to rooting and modding and I am still a bit confused about the carrier lock. I get that if I buy a Verizon phone they lock it to their network until it's paid for and I should be able to unlock it now that I am no longer a Verizon customer, I have not actually called them to ask for this. Is this "lock" embedded in the actual SIM card, or some sort of partition in the phones memory that rooting/flashing ROMs does not touch? I assumed flashing a ROM deletes almost all the carrier software except for the recovery partition.

I have the manual to this phone, and I cannot find a spec sheet that lists the radios present inside this device. I assumed because it was "global" it had some GSM radios, am I wrong?

Here is the scenario I want to use this: I'd like to visit a friend in the UK, and instead of bringing my current phone, I'd bring the DInc2 toss the Verizon SIM card in the trash, buy a local carrier SIM card, pop it in and pay my charges and use it for the week. I know you can do that with Nexus phones because they are fully unlocked, would I be able to do this with my DInc2 if I got the Verizon unlock code since flashing a ROM does not unlock it?

Thanks.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes