FORUMS

Changing the Verizon Boot Animation Sequence?

240 posts
Thanks Meter: 41
 
By godhamba, Senior Member on 14th October 2013, 12:20 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
With S-OFF, I imagine this is possible. Has anyone done so?
 
 
14th October 2013, 12:36 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 106
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by godhamba

With S-OFF, I imagine this is possible. Has anyone done so?

Yeah, you can do this. I use the Google Edition HTC One boot animation. Just Google it and you can find the file. Simply rename it bootanimation.zip and place it in /system/media. Make sure you replace the bootanimation.zip currently in there to something else such as bootanimation.bak. You might have to change permissions to rw-r-r as well.
14th October 2013, 12:46 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 41
 
More
my /system/media doesn't have an existing bootanimation.zip. Nevertheless I placed that file in that location, set permissions and the stock Verizon animation still showed. Now I'm stumped. Pulled the file from HERE, trying both a manual addition as well as flashing the flashable zip provided.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankie1588

Yeah, you can do this. I use the Google Edition HTC One boot animation. Just Google it and you can find the file. Simply rename it bootanimation.zip and place it in /system/media. Make sure you replace the bootanimation.zip currently in there to something else such as bootanimation.bak. You might have to change permissions to rw-r-r as well.

Last edited by godhamba; 14th October 2013 at 12:50 AM.
14th October 2013, 01:11 AM |#4  
jaydubbs's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Newton
Thanks Meter: 306
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by godhamba

my /system/media doesn't have an existing bootanimation.zip. Nevertheless I placed that file in that location, set permissions and the stock Verizon animation still showed. Now I'm stumped. Pulled the file from HERE, trying both a manual addition as well as flashing the flashable zip provided.

Are you running a Sense rom? If so, the boot animations are located in System-Customize-Resource. There are two that you need to replace, one for booting up, vzw_bootup.zip, and one for shutting down, hTC_downamination.zip.



Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
14th October 2013, 01:28 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 41
 
More
A ha! Thanks and thanks to @andybones who helped me out via PM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaydubbs

Are you running a Sense rom? If so, the boot animations are located in System-Customize-Resource. There are two that you need to replace, one for booting up, vzw_bootup.zip, and one for shutting down, hTC_downamination.zip.



Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk

14th October 2013, 03:18 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaydubbs

Are you running a Sense rom? If so, the boot animations are located in System-Customize-Resource. There are two that you need to replace, one for booting up, vzw_bootup.zip, and one for shutting down, hTC_downamination.zip.



Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk

Hmm... I did this and for some reason the boot animation wasn't replaced but the down animation works fine. Side note, does the boot sound in that folder play for anyone else?

HTC One s-off
14th October 2013, 06:32 AM |#7  
IceDragon59's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 216
 
More
On the stock HTC ROM, to change the boot animation, you have to change two files in 'system/customize/resource/' : "htc_bootup_one.zip" and "vzw_bootup.zip" (capitalization matters). They both have to be replaced with fully functional boot animations. When I changed mine, it wouldn't work if I just changed one or the other, I had to change both.

On the stock HTC ROM, to change your down animation, you have to replace "hTC_downanimation.zip" (capitalization matters) in '/system/customize/resource/' with a functioning down animation.

On custom ROMS, you have to look to find where it's at. Sometimes it's in 'system/media' named "bootanimation.zip", sometimes it's not. Remember, it has to be a functioning replacement, otherwise it will show the stock ANDROID boot animation.
14th October 2013, 01:10 PM |#8  
jaydubbs's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Newton
Thanks Meter: 306
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceDragon59

On the stock HTC ROM, to change the boot animation, you have to change two files in 'system/customize/resource/' : "htc_bootup_one.zip" and "vzw_bootup.zip" (capitalization matters). They both have to be replaced with fully functional boot animations. When I changed mine, it wouldn't work if I just changed one or the other, I had to change both.

On the stock HTC ROM, to change your down animation, you have to replace "hTC_downanimation.zip" (capitalization matters) in '/system/customize/resource/' with a functioning down animation.

On custom ROMS, you have to look to find where it's at. Sometimes it's in 'system/media' named "bootanimation.zip", sometimes it's not. Remember, it has to be a functioning replacement, otherwise it will show the stock ANDROID boot animation.

Actually, you don't have to replace the htc_bootup_one.zip. You can rename it to .bak and replace or do the same to the vzw_bootup.zip and it will work. I actually removed my htc_bootup_one.zip and replaced the vzw one and everything works fine. Probably helps that the boot up animation I use was made for the One variants that don't have anything to do with Verizon :P
14th October 2013, 05:33 PM |#9  
IceDragon59's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 216
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaydubbs

Actually, you don't have to replace the htc_bootup_one.zip. You can rename it to .bak and replace or do the same to the vzw_bootup.zip and it will work. I actually removed my htc_bootup_one.zip and replaced the vzw one and everything works fine. Probably helps that the boot up animation I use was made for the One variants that don't have anything to do with Verizon :P

That's very odd. Now that I try it without the "htc_bootup_one.zip", it works, but it didn't when I originally replaced it. Very, very odd.
22nd October 2013, 12:43 PM |#10  
brholt6's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Olathe
Thanks Meter: 263
 
More
I grabbed a flashable boot animation (including audio) from the HTC One section and was finally able to get the animation to work after messing with the .xml file. Tried to throw the audio in with it and couldn't get it to work...I'm on Bonestock and noticed there wasn't any audio with the regular boot animation...could it be the Rom? Volume is up btw.

To get a better idea of what I did I'll include the tread. I wasn't able to flash, so I had to manually replace/rename the files in my system/customize/resource folder and then change the name for the boot animation in the .xml file. I tried to follow the steps to get the audio file included as well, but it just reverted to a basic android boot animation when I attempted that.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2357926

If there's not a solution, its not a big deal...I'm probably overlooking something. Thanks guys!

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using xda app-developers app
Last edited by brholt6; 22nd October 2013 at 01:40 PM. Reason: Extra info
23rd October 2013, 03:30 AM |#11  
IceDragon59's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 216
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brholt6

I grabbed a flashable boot animation (including audio) from the HTC One section and was finally able to get the animation to work after messing with the .xml file. Tried to throw the audio in with it and couldn't get it to work...I'm on Bonestock and noticed there wasn't any audio with the regular boot animation...could it be the Rom? Volume is up btw.

To get a better idea of what I did I'll include the tread. I wasn't able to flash, so I had to manually replace/rename the files in my system/customize/resource folder and then change the name for the boot animation in the .xml file. I tried to follow the steps to get the audio file included as well, but it just reverted to a basic android boot animation when I attempted that.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2357926

If there's not a solution, its not a big deal...I'm probably overlooking something. Thanks guys!

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using xda app-developers app

If I recall correctly, there is an option in the XML file that tells it not to play audio when it's not the first time you set up the phone, meaning it only plays on initial setup. You need to change that setting to play every time. I don't want audio on my boot animations, so I leave it alone.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes