Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,438 Members 42,812 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Locking the screen

Tip us?
 
mcamou
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default Locking the screen

Hi all,

I rooted my Nook Simple Touch via TouchNooter 2.1.31. No hitches aside from the Market giving me a Server Error just after installing, which cleared up the next day. Since now I have my email (and in the future other sensitive apps/info) on the Nook I would like to be able to lock the screen like a full Android phone or tablet. Is this possible? I don't necessarily mean having the exact same way of locking (i.e., press the power button and the screen locks) but at least an app for doing that would be great. Any ideas?

Thanks!
 
Renate NST
Old
#2  
Renate NST's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 792
Posts: 1,971
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boston
Set a PIN lock on your Nook.

In an ADB shell:

Code:
am start -n com.android.settings/.ChooseLockPin

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Renate NST For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mcamou
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jan 2009
Thanks! Now if I could only get adb to work... doing adb shell gives me "error: device not found", and turning on AdbWireless and trying to connect with adb connect just hangs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Renate NST View Post
Set a PIN lock on your Nook.

In an ADB shell:

Code:
am start -n com.android.settings/.ChooseLockPin
The Following User Says Thank You to mcamou For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mcamou
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jan 2009
Ah... SUFBS to the rescue! Did it from the terminal. Works perfectly! Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcamou View Post
Thanks! Now if I could only get adb to work... doing adb shell gives me "error: device not found", and turning on AdbWireless and trying to connect with adb connect just hangs.
 
XQuader
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renate NST View Post
Set a PIN lock on your Nook.

In an ADB shell:

Code:
am start -n com.android.settings/.ChooseLockPin
How to remove the lock?
 
Renate NST
Old
#6  
Renate NST's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 792
Posts: 1,971
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boston
I don't know if there is an easy user way to do this, but:

Code:
sqlite3 settings.db
delete from system where name like 'lock%';
.q
Either do this on the Nook in /data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/
Or else adb pull it, sqlite3 it, adb push it.

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Renate NST For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
smerrett
Old
(Last edited by smerrett; 3rd November 2012 at 01:44 PM.) Reason: Learned what to do
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 14
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renate NST View Post
Set a PIN lock on your Nook.

In an ADB shell:

Code:
am start -n com.android.settings/.ChooseLockPin
Hi, I'm very new to rooting and have managed to get tinynoot to root my UK Simple Touch Glowlight. I can use the adb install in my command prompt but when I copied your script into the command prompt I just got a list of commands. I have looked at the adb command instructions here http://developer.android.com/tools/h...commandsummary but still can't work out what to do. Would you mind giving me some slightly more detailed instructions for adding the lockscreen from a windows command prompt?

Thanks

EDIT 1: Just brought myself up to speed on shell stuff. Thank you, thank you, thank you Renate NST!!!!
 
icouldntfindit
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: May 2013
Hi, I know this thread is a bit old but I am having a problem and I am bit of a blind baboon in a maze with all this.

I followed the directions as best I could: connected rooted Nook, started adb shell then:
Code:
# am start -n com.android.settings/.ChooseLockPin 1111
am start -n com.android.settings/.ChooseLockPin 1111
Starting: Intent { act=android.intent.action.VIEW dat=1111 }
Error: Activity not started, unable to resolve Intent { act=android.intent.actio
n.VIEW dat=1111 flg=0x10000000 }
Tried other things too but I can't code for toffees so..

Can you help?
 
cowbutt
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 193
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by icouldntfindit View Post
Hi, I know this thread is a bit old but I am having a problem and I am bit of a blind baboon in a maze with all this.

I followed the directions as best I could: connected rooted Nook, started adb shell then:
Code:
# am start -n com.android.settings/.ChooseLockPin 1111
am start -n com.android.settings/.ChooseLockPin 1111
Starting: Intent { act=android.intent.action.VIEW dat=1111 }
Error: Activity not started, unable to resolve Intent { act=android.intent.actio
n.VIEW dat=1111 flg=0x10000000 }
Tried other things too but I can't code for toffees so..

Can you help?
Presumably that's your desired PIN (i.e. 1111?)

You don't put it on the command line, am start -n com.android.settings/.ChooseLockPin starts the PIN chooser activity on your Nook and you enter it there, twice, to set it.
The Following User Says Thank You to cowbutt For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
icouldntfindit
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowbutt View Post
Presumably that's your desired PIN (i.e. 1111?)

You don't put it on the command line, am start -n com.android.settings/.ChooseLockPin starts the PIN chooser activity on your Nook and you enter it there, twice, to set it.
Lmao there's something I didn't try. Thank you for replying so fast!

Tags
nook, screenlock, touchnooter
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes