Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,779,531 Members 51,163 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Newb Stock ROM Question

Tip us?
 
WCM3
Old
#1  
WCM3's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 53
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Newb Stock ROM Question

Hey guys,

So i rooted my Verizon LG G2 a couple months ago and was trying out all the ROMs. I started with Paranoid Android, then AOKP, then Malladus, then Flex ROM, and now i'm back to the Paranoid Android Beta 4. It's been running great for me but I wanted to go back to stock for a little so I've come here with a question. I did a backup of my stock ROM in TWRP and still have it. What would be the process to install a brand new stock rom (completely stock, no bells and whistles)? Can I restore the backup, then go into TWRP and wipe date/cache/etc, then reboot? Should that work? It's probably a super easy question, I just don't want to mess anything up.

Thanks in advance!
Mike
 
Really now
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 126
Posts: 237
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NW Indiana
That will do the trick for you. After restoring the factory backup just doing a factory reset will wipe out all of the bells and whistles you put into your backup. Should boot up just like new. I would boot the phone up first before doing the reset though. Maybe not necessary but I like to be cautious too!
 
WCM3
Old
#3  
WCM3's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 53
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Really now View Post
That will do the trick for you. After restoring the factory backup just doing a factory reset will wipe out all of the bells and whistles you put into your backup. Should boot up just like new. I would boot the phone up first before doing the reset though. Maybe not necessary but I like to be cautious too!
Thank you! Yep, i'll restore the backup and make sure it boots with no problems. Then boot into recovery and wipe data/etc.

I'll make sure to backup my current rom just in case. Better safe than sorry!
 
WCM3
Old
#4  
WCM3's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 53
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Really now View Post
That will do the trick for you. After restoring the factory backup just doing a factory reset will wipe out all of the bells and whistles you put into your backup. Should boot up just like new. I would boot the phone up first before doing the reset though. Maybe not necessary but I like to be cautious too!
Ut oh didn't seem to work for me. What did I miss? When i wiped, then rebooted, i was frozen at the LG screen.
 
Really now
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 126
Posts: 237
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NW Indiana
Are you saying that the stock rom rebooted ok and then you wiped and it won't reboot?
 
WCM3
Old
#6  
WCM3's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 53
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Really now View Post
Are you saying that the stock rom rebooted ok and then you wiped and it won't reboot?
Yep, I restored the file and it booted perfectly fine. Then I rebooted to recovery, wiped data, and rebooted system. It got stuck at the LG screen, so I manually entered recovery with the back keys. What did I do wrong?
 
Really now
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 126
Posts: 237
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NW Indiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by WCM3 View Post
Yep, I restored the file and it booted perfectly fine. Then I rebooted to recovery, wiped data, and rebooted system. It got stuck at the LG screen, so I manually entered recovery with the back keys. What did I do wrong?
Restore you backup again and this time when you go into TWRP don't wipe data, just swipe the Factory Reset slider. See if that solves the problem for you.
 
WCM3
Old
#8  
WCM3's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 53
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Really now View Post
Restore you backup again and this time when you go into TWRP don't wipe data, just swipe the Factory Reset slider. See if that solves the problem for you.
Will that wipe internal storage too? I usually go into the advanced wipe and wipe everything but internal storage.
 
Really now
Old
(Last edited by Really now; 30th January 2014 at 06:43 PM.)
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 126
Posts: 237
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NW Indiana
No it won't, it will dump your apps and clean the caches and reset the settings.
You can do the same thing from inside the rom by going to system settings/backup reset and doing a reset. I don't know if TWRP does a better or more thorough job of it or not but both ways work.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Android App Review: How to Speed Up Your Android Phone – XDA Developer TV

Is your Android device running slow? Is your Android device … more

Make a Pre-Rooted Stock Sony ROMs in Just Few Clicks

Many usersdon’t see any particular reason to change out the stock firmware … more

Add Timestamps to Xposed Installer Logs with… Xposed!

If talking about the most interesting projects in the last few years, we must … more

Secrecy Goes Open Source, Assures File Encryption

As some of you may remember, a while back we spoke about Secrecy, an effective file … more