Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,106 Members 40,816 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Boot loop at Samsung welcome screen when attempting clean install.

Tip us?
 
ojai00
Old
(Last edited by ojai00; 28th January 2014 at 02:50 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 130
Posts: 323
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Default Boot loop at Samsung welcome screen when attempting clean install.

I am currently running SkyNote Air and want to do a clean wipe and start fresh. I've done this before without a problem but am having trouble this time around. After a clean wipe and ROM install, the phone will boot but after seeing the "Android is upgrading, Starting Apps" screen and momentarily displaying the Welcome screen the phone will go into a loop. Seems to happen after the phone connects to the network. I can interact with it to reboot into recovery if I'm quick enough.

From the searches I've done, I've already tried clearing cache and Dalvik and factory reset without any luck. I used Philz to wipe for a new ROM and TWRP to wipe internal storage as well without any luck. I've tried installing the ROM twice before rebooting recovery. Fix Permissions from TWRP also hasn't helped. I already had the 43paramtz.tar flashed and reflashing it does not help either. I have not tried the One-click method yet. That seems the only thing left to try. Just want to see if anyone else has any suggestions. Thanks in advance!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk
Samsung SGH-I317 on T-Mobile
 
dicksteele
Old
#2  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,311
Posts: 2,215
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by ojai00 View Post
I am currently running SkyNote Air and want to do a clean wipe and start fresh. I've done this before without a problem but am having trouble this time around. After a clean wipe and ROM install, the phone will boot but after seeing the "Android is upgrading, Starting Apps" screen and momentarily displaying the Welcome screen the phone will go into a loop. Seems to happen after the phone connects to the network. I can interact with it to reboot into recovery if I'm quick enough.

From the searches I've done, I've already tried clearing cache and Dalvik and factory reset without any luck. I used Philz to wipe for a new ROM and TWRP to wipe internal storage as well without any luck. I've tried installing the ROM twice before rebooting recovery. Fix Permissions from TWRP also hasn't helped. I already had the 43paramtz.tar flashed and reflashing it does not help either. I have not tried the One-click method yet. That seems the only thing left to try. Just want to see if anyone else has any suggestions. Thanks in advance!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk
Are you on T-mobile ?
"Why Johnny Ringo.. You look like someone walked over your grave.
 
ojai00
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 130
Posts: 323
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
What bootloader are you on ??? Did you do the 4.3 OTA ?
I believe I am on a 4.1.2 bootloader (I317UCAMA4). I have not restored to stock or done a 4.3 OTA.
Samsung SGH-I317 on T-Mobile
 
dicksteele
Old
#4  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,311
Posts: 2,215
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by ojai00 View Post
I believe I am on a 4.1.2 bootloader (I317UCAMA4). I have not restored to stock or done a 4.3 OTA.
And you're on T-Mobile ?
"Why Johnny Ringo.. You look like someone walked over your grave.
 
ojai00
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 130
Posts: 323
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
And you're on T-Mobile ?
Yep. Using an unlocked i317 on T-Mobile with the AWS Mod. My first instinct was to remove the SIM since the phone seemed to be restarting once I was connected to the network but that didn't work either.
Samsung SGH-I317 on T-Mobile
 
dicksteele
Old
#6  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,311
Posts: 2,215
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by ojai00 View Post
Yep. Using an unlocked i317 on T-Mobile with the AWS Mod. My first instinct was to remove the SIM since the phone seemed to be restarting once I was connected to the network but that didn't work either.
Ahhhh.. Like it says in your signature....

Yea I'm awake.

Have your ever flashed anything else besides Sky Air ? That's the one you have reflashed after Philz/TWRP wipes right ?
"Why Johnny Ringo.. You look like someone walked over your grave.
 
ojai00
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 130
Posts: 323
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
Ahhhh.. Like it says in your signature....

Yea I'm awake.

Have your ever flashed anything else besides Sky Air ? That's the one you have reflashed after Philz/TWRP wipes right ?
SkyNote is the only 4.3 ROM I've tried. Yes, that was the ROM I reflashed after the full wipes. I've been flashing SkyNote from version 8 onwards and am now running the N3 version. I've seen some people have issues with the N3 version but not the Vanilla version. I haven't tried that one. I've been following MeanBean but I'm worried if I can't even get a reinstall of SkyNote Air working my chances of another ROM will probably be the same!
Samsung SGH-I317 on T-Mobile
 
dicksteele
Old
#8  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,311
Posts: 2,215
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by ojai00 View Post
SkyNote is the only 4.3 ROM I've tried. Yes, that was the ROM I reflashed after the full wipes. I've been flashing SkyNote from version 8 onwards and am now running the N3 version. I've seen some people have issues with the N3 version but not the Vanilla version. I haven't tried that one. I've been following MeanBean but I'm worried if I can't even get a reinstall of SkyNote Air working my chances of another ROM will probably be the same!
MeanBean is pretty sweet. You have to remember to run the fixdata.sh.

I'm thinking you should give this a try, a stock ROM.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2589891

It's still flashing from a custom recovery.

You've done everything short of sacrificing a chicken.

Gotta run to a mind numbing meeting.....
"Why Johnny Ringo.. You look like someone walked over your grave.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dicksteele For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ojai00
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 130
Posts: 323
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele View Post
MeanBean is pretty sweet. You have to remember to run the fixdata.sh.

I'm thinking you should give this a try, a stock ROM.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2589891

It's still flashing from a custom recovery.

You've done everything short of sacrificing a chicken.

Gotta run to a mind numbing meeting.....
I'll give it a shot. Good luck with the meeting. Thanks for your help!
Samsung SGH-I317 on T-Mobile
 
dicksteele
Old
#10  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,311
Posts: 2,215
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by ojai00 View Post
I'll give it a shot. Good luck with the meeting. Thanks for your help!
Good luck.... Hopefully it works.
"Why Johnny Ringo.. You look like someone walked over your grave.

The Following User Says Thank You to dicksteele For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes