Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Boot loop at Samsung welcome screen when attempting clean install.

OP ojai00

28th January 2014, 03:41 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 155
 
361 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I am currently running SkyNote Air and want to do a clean wipe and start fresh. I've done this before without a problem but am having trouble this time around. After a clean wipe and ROM install, the phone will boot but after seeing the "Android is upgrading, Starting Apps" screen and momentarily displaying the Welcome screen the phone will go into a loop. Seems to happen after the phone connects to the network. I can interact with it to reboot into recovery if I'm quick enough.

From the searches I've done, I've already tried clearing cache and Dalvik and factory reset without any luck. I used Philz to wipe for a new ROM and TWRP to wipe internal storage as well without any luck. I've tried installing the ROM twice before rebooting recovery. Fix Permissions from TWRP also hasn't helped. I already had the 43paramtz.tar flashed and reflashing it does not help either. I have not tried the One-click method yet. That seems the only thing left to try. Just want to see if anyone else has any suggestions. Thanks in advance!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk
Last edited by ojai00; 28th January 2014 at 03:50 PM.
28th January 2014, 05:08 PM   |  #2  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 1,566
 
2,419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ojai00

I am currently running SkyNote Air and want to do a clean wipe and start fresh. I've done this before without a problem but am having trouble this time around. After a clean wipe and ROM install, the phone will boot but after seeing the "Android is upgrading, Starting Apps" screen and momentarily displaying the Welcome screen the phone will go into a loop. Seems to happen after the phone connects to the network. I can interact with it to reboot into recovery if I'm quick enough.

From the searches I've done, I've already tried clearing cache and Dalvik and factory reset without any luck. I used Philz to wipe for a new ROM and TWRP to wipe internal storage as well without any luck. I've tried installing the ROM twice before rebooting recovery. Fix Permissions from TWRP also hasn't helped. I already had the 43paramtz.tar flashed and reflashing it does not help either. I have not tried the One-click method yet. That seems the only thing left to try. Just want to see if anyone else has any suggestions. Thanks in advance!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk

Are you on T-mobile ?
28th January 2014, 05:10 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 155
 
361 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele

What bootloader are you on ??? Did you do the 4.3 OTA ?

I believe I am on a 4.1.2 bootloader (I317UCAMA4). I have not restored to stock or done a 4.3 OTA.
28th January 2014, 05:19 PM   |  #4  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 1,566
 
2,419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ojai00

I believe I am on a 4.1.2 bootloader (I317UCAMA4). I have not restored to stock or done a 4.3 OTA.

And you're on T-Mobile ?
28th January 2014, 05:22 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 155
 
361 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele

And you're on T-Mobile ?

Yep. Using an unlocked i317 on T-Mobile with the AWS Mod. My first instinct was to remove the SIM since the phone seemed to be restarting once I was connected to the network but that didn't work either.
28th January 2014, 05:43 PM   |  #6  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 1,566
 
2,419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ojai00

Yep. Using an unlocked i317 on T-Mobile with the AWS Mod. My first instinct was to remove the SIM since the phone seemed to be restarting once I was connected to the network but that didn't work either.

Ahhhh.. Like it says in your signature....

Yea I'm awake.

Have your ever flashed anything else besides Sky Air ? That's the one you have reflashed after Philz/TWRP wipes right ?
28th January 2014, 05:48 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 155
 
361 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele

Ahhhh.. Like it says in your signature....

Yea I'm awake.

Have your ever flashed anything else besides Sky Air ? That's the one you have reflashed after Philz/TWRP wipes right ?

SkyNote is the only 4.3 ROM I've tried. Yes, that was the ROM I reflashed after the full wipes. I've been flashing SkyNote from version 8 onwards and am now running the N3 version. I've seen some people have issues with the N3 version but not the Vanilla version. I haven't tried that one. I've been following MeanBean but I'm worried if I can't even get a reinstall of SkyNote Air working my chances of another ROM will probably be the same!
28th January 2014, 05:54 PM   |  #8  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 1,566
 
2,419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ojai00

SkyNote is the only 4.3 ROM I've tried. Yes, that was the ROM I reflashed after the full wipes. I've been flashing SkyNote from version 8 onwards and am now running the N3 version. I've seen some people have issues with the N3 version but not the Vanilla version. I haven't tried that one. I've been following MeanBean but I'm worried if I can't even get a reinstall of SkyNote Air working my chances of another ROM will probably be the same!

MeanBean is pretty sweet. You have to remember to run the fixdata.sh.

I'm thinking you should give this a try, a stock ROM.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2589891

It's still flashing from a custom recovery.

You've done everything short of sacrificing a chicken.

Gotta run to a mind numbing meeting.....
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dicksteele For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th January 2014, 05:58 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 155
 
361 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicksteele

MeanBean is pretty sweet. You have to remember to run the fixdata.sh.

I'm thinking you should give this a try, a stock ROM.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2589891

It's still flashing from a custom recovery.

You've done everything short of sacrificing a chicken.

Gotta run to a mind numbing meeting.....

I'll give it a shot. Good luck with the meeting. Thanks for your help!
28th January 2014, 07:58 PM   |  #10  
dicksteele's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 1,566
 
2,419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ojai00

I'll give it a shot. Good luck with the meeting. Thanks for your help!

Good luck.... Hopefully it works.

The Following User Says Thank You to dicksteele For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes