FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Unroot HTC Vivid

57 posts
Thanks Meter: 5
 
By joellecool, Member on 5th April 2014, 05:36 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey Guys,

I got an HTC Vivid a while ago. However, when I got , I looked into the software unlock method to unlock it. Doing so required for the phone to first be rooted. So I followed through some steps to root it. WORST DECISION EVER ! Since then, not only did the unlock not work, but the phone has gotten so slow and dysfunctional it is barely useful. I mean, everything else runs properly, except Calls and Text Message. i.e The phone isn't performing its right function.

Thus, I wanted to look into a way to 'unroot it' or at least just return COMPLETELY to factory settings. I want to be at least able to sell it and buy another. I've looked through and tried a couple of guides to remove the root. One seemed to work really well, until I restarted the phone, where the "Cleanup" window came back on, and the phone returned to its old rooted self.

Thanks in advance for your help !
 
 
5th April 2014, 02:55 PM |#2  
rignfool's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag The Poconos
Thanks Meter: 1,060
 
More
How did you root it...

What 'unlock' are you trying to accomplish?

Sent from my Vivid 4G using Tapatalk
6th April 2014, 02:40 AM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rignfool

How did you root it...

What 'unlock' are you trying to accomplish?

Sent from my Vivid 4G using Tapatalk

I rooted using a method I saw here, which was supposed to be one of the steps to software unlock.

However, it is not already uncooked using the regular IMEI, which is completely different.

So, now I just want to unroot, and bring the phone back to factory, with those "Android is Upgrading...Optimizing applications" message at every boot up.
10th April 2014, 11:36 PM |#4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Anyone ?!
12th April 2014, 10:08 PM |#5  
projectisaac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
If you revert to stock ROM using ruu, you will be unroofed.

Sent from my Vivid 4G using xda app-developers app
14th April 2014, 09:14 PM |#6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by projectisaac

If you revert to stock ROM using ruu, you will be unroofed.

Sent from my Vivid 4G using xda app-developers app

I tried that once...It didn't seem to work for me. Is there a particular method I need to follow?

Also, it seems the "Deodex' method for my rom was supposed to work?

Thank you in advance.
14th April 2014, 09:51 PM |#7  
projectisaac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joellecool

I tried that once...It didn't seem to work for me. Is there a particular method I need to follow?

Also, it seems the "Deodex' method for my rom was supposed to work?

Thank you in advance.

In not familiar with the "deodex" method, but I did fish out a guide for the ruu:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=34617117

In the meantime, I'll look up the deodex method and come back to this post.

Sent from my Vivid 4G using xda app-developers app
25th April 2014, 10:37 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Flag Brisbane
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
I have recently tried to revert my Velocity back to stock but ran into the same problem. Have relocked the device and tried to flash stock RUU but this didn't work. My device was s-on and I read in a post here that to be able to go back to stock RUU you need to be s-off. The part I haven't worked out yet is to be able to get s-off you have to be on stock RUU!
25th April 2014, 01:18 PM |#9  
projectisaac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ph0n3n3rd

I have recently tried to revert my Velocity back to stock but ran into the same problem. Have relocked the device and tried to flash stock RUU but this didn't work. My device was s-on and I read in a post here that to be able to go back to stock RUU you need to be s-off. The part I haven't worked out yet is to be able to get s-off you have to be on stock RUU!


You DO NOT need to be s-off to be on stock ruu. Do you mind going through the steps you followed?

Sent from my Vivid 4G using xda app-developers app
25th April 2014, 10:06 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Flag Brisbane
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by projectisaac

You DO NOT need to be s-off to be on stock ruu. Do you mind going through the steps you followed?

Sent from my Vivid 4G using xda app-developers app

No, sorry ,I meant to say that you have to be on stock RUU to be able to achieve s-off. The guide that I followed was "The HTC Superguide " in the development section of this device. Firstly, I did a full wipe, as in Dalvic cache, Cache, System, Boot and Factory Data Reset, also SD card, then I relocked the device with "fastboot oem lock", after that I tried to run the stock RUU ( The one the phone was originally on ), which started the initial flash but stopped at about 10% and came up with " ERROR 140 ". I tried 4 or 5 times and even tried another computer with the same result.
26th April 2014, 12:43 AM |#11  
projectisaac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ph0n3n3rd

No, sorry ,I meant to say that you have to be on stock RUU to be able to achieve s-off. The guide that I followed was "The HTC Superguide " in the development section of this device. Firstly, I did a full wipe, as in Dalvic cache, Cache, System, Boot and Factory Data Reset, also SD card, then I relocked the device with "fastboot oem lock", after that I tried to run the stock RUU ( The one the phone was originally on ), which started the initial flash but stopped at about 10% and came up with " ERROR 140 ". I tried 4 or 5 times and even tried another computer with the same result.

I found this thread with people that had the same problem, but I'm not sure if it will help you: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...1828491&page=3

You could try flashing an old gingerbread ROM and then try the RUU, as it seems to have something to do with the rom on the phone being newer than the RUU or something.
The Following User Says Thank You to projectisaac For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
factory erase, htc, root, unroot, vivid

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes