Easily Generate and Export Material Design Palletes

For many people, it can be pretty difficult to create a palette of complementary colors. … more

Android One Expanding to Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka

At Google I/O 2013, Google proudly announced that the Android operating system was … more

Android 5.0.2 Fixes 2012 Nexus 7! Sony’s Making a Google Glass Competitor? – XDA TV

Android 5.0.2 Lollipop is available for the … more

Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Red face Unroot HTC Vivid

OP joellecool

5th April 2014, 06:36 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Hey Guys,

I got an HTC Vivid a while ago. However, when I got , I looked into the software unlock method to unlock it. Doing so required for the phone to first be rooted. So I followed through some steps to root it. WORST DECISION EVER ! Since then, not only did the unlock not work, but the phone has gotten so slow and dysfunctional it is barely useful. I mean, everything else runs properly, except Calls and Text Message. i.e The phone isn't performing its right function.

Thus, I wanted to look into a way to 'unroot it' or at least just return COMPLETELY to factory settings. I want to be at least able to sell it and buy another. I've looked through and tried a couple of guides to remove the root. One seemed to work really well, until I restarted the phone, where the "Cleanup" window came back on, and the phone returned to its old rooted self.

Thanks in advance for your help !
5th April 2014, 03:55 PM   |  #2  
rignfool's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 729
 
2,334 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
How did you root it...

What 'unlock' are you trying to accomplish?

Sent from my Vivid 4G using Tapatalk
6th April 2014, 03:40 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rignfool

How did you root it...

What 'unlock' are you trying to accomplish?

Sent from my Vivid 4G using Tapatalk

I rooted using a method I saw here, which was supposed to be one of the steps to software unlock.

However, it is not already uncooked using the regular IMEI, which is completely different.

So, now I just want to unroot, and bring the phone back to factory, with those "Android is Upgrading...Optimizing applications" message at every boot up.
11th April 2014, 12:36 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Anyone ?!
12th April 2014, 11:08 PM   |  #5  
projectisaac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
If you revert to stock ROM using ruu, you will be unroofed.

Sent from my Vivid 4G using xda app-developers app
14th April 2014, 10:14 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by projectisaac

If you revert to stock ROM using ruu, you will be unroofed.

Sent from my Vivid 4G using xda app-developers app

I tried that once...It didn't seem to work for me. Is there a particular method I need to follow?

Also, it seems the "Deodex' method for my rom was supposed to work?

Thank you in advance.
14th April 2014, 10:51 PM   |  #7  
projectisaac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joellecool

I tried that once...It didn't seem to work for me. Is there a particular method I need to follow?

Also, it seems the "Deodex' method for my rom was supposed to work?

Thank you in advance.

In not familiar with the "deodex" method, but I did fish out a guide for the ruu:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=34617117

In the meantime, I'll look up the deodex method and come back to this post.

Sent from my Vivid 4G using xda app-developers app
25th April 2014, 11:37 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Flag Brisbane
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
I have recently tried to revert my Velocity back to stock but ran into the same problem. Have relocked the device and tried to flash stock RUU but this didn't work. My device was s-on and I read in a post here that to be able to go back to stock RUU you need to be s-off. The part I haven't worked out yet is to be able to get s-off you have to be on stock RUU!
25th April 2014, 02:18 PM   |  #9  
projectisaac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
184 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ph0n3n3rd

I have recently tried to revert my Velocity back to stock but ran into the same problem. Have relocked the device and tried to flash stock RUU but this didn't work. My device was s-on and I read in a post here that to be able to go back to stock RUU you need to be s-off. The part I haven't worked out yet is to be able to get s-off you have to be on stock RUU!


You DO NOT need to be s-off to be on stock ruu. Do you mind going through the steps you followed?

Sent from my Vivid 4G using xda app-developers app
25th April 2014, 11:06 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Flag Brisbane
Thanks Meter: 1
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by projectisaac

You DO NOT need to be s-off to be on stock ruu. Do you mind going through the steps you followed?

Sent from my Vivid 4G using xda app-developers app

No, sorry ,I meant to say that you have to be on stock RUU to be able to achieve s-off. The guide that I followed was "The HTC Superguide " in the development section of this device. Firstly, I did a full wipe, as in Dalvic cache, Cache, System, Boot and Factory Data Reset, also SD card, then I relocked the device with "fastboot oem lock", after that I tried to run the stock RUU ( The one the phone was originally on ), which started the initial flash but stopped at about 10% and came up with " ERROR 140 ". I tried 4 or 5 times and even tried another computer with the same result.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
factory erase, htc, root, unroot, vivid
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes