Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,782,937 Members 43,321 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Is it possible to unlock a Note 3 that has blocked IMEI from ATT?

Tip us?
 
oskai
Old
(Last edited by oskai; 25th November 2013 at 12:30 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 18
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default Is it possible to unlock a Note 3 that has blocked IMEI from ATT?

Hi guys,

Got my hands on a note 3 that is now apparently has a bad IMEI... . I was wondering if it is possible to unlock a note 3 from ATT that has a blocked IMEI? I looked through several unlock services online and all of them will not do blocked IMEIs...

If I can unlock it, I can use it outside of the USA.

Your help is much appreciated! Thank you!

[Updates few days later after original post]

So buying a code end up not working... it said "failed"

I decided to root the phone using the "Root De La Vega" method.

And then use Region lock Away and was able to unlock the phone! Now I am using it with Bell Mobility in Canada.

So if anyone in the future end up with a AT&T N900A Note 3 that has a bad IMEI, they can try the method I used.

Hope this helps, thank you!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to oskai For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
carlospr21
Old
#2  
carlospr21's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 928
Posts: 1,437
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: P.R. Levittown
You can sim unlock it and use it on another carrier

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app




★ Device: Galaxy S5 AT&T LTE 16gb |
● Rom: ★..:..st0ck..:..★ |
☼ Recovery: st0ck |
★ Android: 4.4.2 |
● Modem: ND3 |
☼ Kernal: st0ck |

ĄDon't Forget To Hit The Thanks Button If You Like My Work Or If I Helped You!
 
oskai
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 18
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlospr21 View Post
You can sim unlock it and use it on another carrier

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Hi,
yeah thats what I wanted to do! Just a sim unlock. But several companies say they are unable to provide sim unlock services for phone that has a block IMEI.. However, i think I have found one that is willing to do it!

I will report back if it works... Thank you for replying!
 
pham818
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 185
Posts: 1,041
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portland
Quote:
Originally Posted by oskai View Post
Hi,
yeah thats what I wanted to do! Just a sim unlock. But several companies say they are unable to provide sim unlock services for phone that has a block IMEI.. However, i think I have found one that is willing to do it!

I will report back if it works... Thank you for replying!
use region unlock away app by chain fire to unlock for free.
Current
Samsung Galaxy Note 3 -
Asus Nexus 7 32GB (2013) - scrosler's CleanROM

Past
Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB - Sold
Samsung Galaxy S2 16GB - Given Away
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 16GB - SOLD

Free 500 MB of storage on Dropbox: http://db.tt/d6SOJt2W

Please press thanks if I helped in any way!
 
oskai
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 18
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by pham818 View Post
use region unlock away app by chain fire to unlock for free.
Hi,
But I need to root the note 3 first right to use the region unlock app? I thought the Chain Fire CF auto root thing doesn't support N900A? I went on the website http://autoroot.chainfire.eu/ and couldn't find one for N900A... read it some where about boot leggers...no idea what that means lol.
 
pham818
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 185
Posts: 1,041
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portland
Quote:
Originally Posted by oskai View Post
Hi,
But I need to root the note 3 first right to use the region unlock app? I thought the Chain Fire CF auto root thing doesn't support N900A? I went on the website http://autoroot.chainfire.eu/ and couldn't find one for N900A... read it some where about boot leggers...no idea what that means lol.
yeah you would need root for it
Current
Samsung Galaxy Note 3 -
Asus Nexus 7 32GB (2013) - scrosler's CleanROM

Past
Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB - Sold
Samsung Galaxy S2 16GB - Given Away
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 16GB - SOLD

Free 500 MB of storage on Dropbox: http://db.tt/d6SOJt2W

Please press thanks if I helped in any way!
 
oskai
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 18
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by pham818 View Post
yeah you would need root for it
Will I be able to root it using Chainfire CF auto root? Or i will need to use an alternative method? If so, do you have a recommendation? I am new to this rooting thing...i don't even know what it actually does.
 
pham818
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 185
Posts: 1,041
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portland
Quote:
Originally Posted by oskai View Post
Will I be able to root it using Chainfire CF auto root? Or i will need to use an alternative method? If so, do you have a recommendation? I am new to this rooting thing...i don't even know what it actually does.
if you are familiar with iOS, rooting is the same thing as jailbreaking basically.

a lot of people have been using Kingo to root theirs. you can ask around for help, but doing do will void your warranty so you might just want to pay for the unlock.
Current
Samsung Galaxy Note 3 -
Asus Nexus 7 32GB (2013) - scrosler's CleanROM

Past
Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB - Sold
Samsung Galaxy S2 16GB - Given Away
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 16GB - SOLD

Free 500 MB of storage on Dropbox: http://db.tt/d6SOJt2W

Please press thanks if I helped in any way!
 
oskai
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 18
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by pham818 View Post
if you are familiar with iOS, rooting is the same thing as jailbreaking basically.

a lot of people have been using Kingo to root theirs. you can ask around for help, but doing do will void your warranty so you might just want to pay for the unlock.
Thanks for the tip! yah I probably will just pay for the code since I don't want to screw up the rooting process..

 
messerchmidt
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 56
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by oskai View Post
Thanks for the tip! yah I probably will just pay for the code since I don't want to screw up the rooting process..

go for it

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes