Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,384 Members 44,335 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] Convert z710a to z710e

Tip us?
 
@@RON
Old
(Last edited by @@RON; 5th July 2013 at 09:50 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 222
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Berlin
Tutorial [GUIDE] Convert z710a to z710e


FIRST OFF:
IīM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY DAMAGES MAY CAUSE !!!



What is the issue here?
This guide will help you to convert your HTC Sensation 4G z710a (America/Australia) to a z710e (Europe). After that, you will be able to install a brandingfree RUU and receive official HTC OTA updates.
Of course, you can exchange the mentioned CID/MID with your desired values.

Itīs also possible to convert your HTC Sensation (4G) into a HTC Sensation XE. Additional you can buy the battery cover of the XE, the battery and finally the digitizer to get red onscreen touch buttons. After flashing the appropriate RUU for XE, youīre done.
CID:

The CID is the carrier-ID, which allocate a (HTC) phone to a specific geographical region and/or carrier. The rollout of OTA updates is (among other) depending by the CID.
Here is a list with all available CIDs: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1195475
MID:

The MID is the model-ID, which designates a specific model.
The following MIDs are available:
  • PG5810000 for HTC Sensation 4G z710a (North America) -> T-Mobile US
  • PG5811000 for HTC Sensation 4G z710a (North America, Australia) -> Bell Mobility (maybe - these too: NextG, Telstra, Telus)
  • PG5813000 for HTC Sensation z710e (Europe) -> all European carriers
  • PG5813001 for HTC Sensation XE (Europe only) -> all European carriers

The supported frequency bands should not be affected, because they are hardware based. HTC told me this.

Requirements:
- HTC Sensation (4G) Gingerbread (CID, MID whatever)
Gingerbread, because ICS does not boot with ENG HBOOT !!! (boot loops)

- if you do not have S-OFF -> start with STEP 1
- if you already have S-OFF -> start with STEP 2
  • if you already have S-OFF AND ICS -> flash latest Gingerbread RUU


Do everything as follows !!!


STEP 1 - Set bootloader to S-OFF

STEP 2 - Change CID
Change it to the value you desire (e.g. HTC__001)
List of all CIDs is mentioned above
Turn on your phone and make sure, that USB debugging is activated
  1. download adb tools -> use this link
  2. extract them to e.g. c:\
  3. run cmd as an administrator
  4. navigate to the directory, where adb tools are located
  5. type adb devices
  6. Your phone should be listed, if not, donīt proceed
  7. type adb reboot-bootloader
  8. type fastboot getvar cid (output shows your current CID -> write it down)
  9. type fastboot oem writecid HTC__001 (your desired CID)
  10. type fastboot reboot-bootloader
  11. type type fastboot getvar cid (output shows your (new) current CID)


STEP 3 - ENG HBOOT
Needed to change the MID
  1. Download it -> (attached) use this link
  2. Extract it
  3. and open the android_info.txt with any text editor (e.g. notepad)
  4. Change the value of modelid: to your current MID (e.g. PG5811000)
    modelid: PG5811000 (with space before the MID)
  5. Compress it again to “PG58IMG.zip”
  6. Put it in the root directory of your sdcard
  7. Turn on your phone by holding power button and volume down button until you are in bootloader
  8. It automatically search for the file PG58IMG.zip and ask if you want to update
  9. Choose yes with volume buttons and confirm with power button
  10. After successful update pull out battery, wait a few seconds, put it in again
  11. Turn on your phone by holding power button and volume down button until you are in bootloader
  12. You now have ENG HBOOT, which allow to see more information than normal HBOOT (e.g. view CID or MID)
  13. Pull out battery, wait a few seconds, put it in again and start your phone normally


STEP 4 - Change MID
  1. Run cmd as an administrator
  2. Navigate to the directory, where are adb tools located
  3. Type adb devices
  4. Your phone should be listed, if not, donīt proceed
  5. Type adb reboot-bootloader
  6. Type fastboot getvar mid (output shows your current MID -> write it down)
  7. Type fastboot oem writemid PG5813000 (for z710e)
  8. Type fastboot reboot-bootloader
  9. Type type fastboot getvar mid (output shows your (new) current MID)
  10. Start your phone normally


STEP 5 - Flash RUU
  • All data on phone will be deleted, sdcard not
  • Back them up if needed
  • Now CID and MID are matching with android_info.txt in RUU (no need of superCID)
  • You will be able to flash the desired RUU and to get offical OTA updates
  • Choose RUU do you want -> use this link
  • Latest RUU for Gingerbread:
    RUU_Pyramid_HTC_Europe_1.50.401.1_Radio_10.56.9035 .00U_10.14.9035.01_M_release_223042_signed.exe
  • Latest RUU for ICS:
    RUU_PYRAMID_ICS_HTC_Europe_3.33.401.53_Radio_11.76 A.3504.00U_11.24A.3504.31_M_release_280871_signed. exe
  1. Start your phone normally
  2. Uncheck USB debugging (Settings -> Application -> Development)
  3. Uncheck Fastboot (Settings -> Power)
  4. !!! make sure, that the battery is fully charged (otherwise the battery indicator in percent will be incorrect !!!)
  5. Connect the phone to your PC and choose "charge only"
  6. Run the RUU as an administrator
  7. Follow the instructions and after it is successful, remove USB cable from PC
  8. While booting you can charge the phone with ac adapter

Well done, you now have an unbranded HTC Sensation z710e (Europe) and be able to update via OTA


Sources:
Attached Files
File Type: zip HTC_Sensation_ENG_HBOOT.zip - [Click for QR Code] (359.2 KB, 225 views)
HTC Sensation z710a
HBOOT: 1.27.0000 S-OFF
Recovery: 4EXT Touch v1.0.0.5 RC9
Firmware: 3.33.401.154
Baseband: 11.76A.3504.00P_11.24A.3504.31_M
SD-Card: SanDisk Extreme Pro 16GB Class 10 (UHS-I)
Battery: 1730 mAh
ROM (current): Team Venom ViperS 5.2.1 Android 4.1.2 Sense 5
ROM (previous): Android 4.0.3 (unbranded HTC Europe) -> Android Revolution HD 6.8 -> Elegancia Blitz 4.0.0 -> ViperS 3.1.4
*** Looking for HTC Location maps? -> you will find it here ***

The Following User Says Thank You to @@RON For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
@@RON
Old
(Last edited by @@RON; 5th July 2013 at 09:53 PM.)
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 222
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Berlin
Default Changelog

Code:
[JUL.05.13]
  • Small changes in text for better understanding
[NOV.03.12]
  • Added new experiences regarding booting with ICS and ENG HBOOT (Thanks to Hitorijanae)
[OKT.20.12]
  • Initial post
HTC Sensation z710a
HBOOT: 1.27.0000 S-OFF
Recovery: 4EXT Touch v1.0.0.5 RC9
Firmware: 3.33.401.154
Baseband: 11.76A.3504.00P_11.24A.3504.31_M
SD-Card: SanDisk Extreme Pro 16GB Class 10 (UHS-I)
Battery: 1730 mAh
ROM (current): Team Venom ViperS 5.2.1 Android 4.1.2 Sense 5
ROM (previous): Android 4.0.3 (unbranded HTC Europe) -> Android Revolution HD 6.8 -> Elegancia Blitz 4.0.0 -> ViperS 3.1.4
*** Looking for HTC Location maps? -> you will find it here ***

 
craven667
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 1,026
Join Date: May 2011
will this unlock radio for 3g for att
 
@@RON
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 222
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Berlin
Quote:
Originally Posted by craven667 View Post
will this unlock radio for 3g for att
I dont think so, because the supported frequency bands are hardware based.

At the beginning I wrote this:
Quote:
The supported frequency bands should not be affected, because they are hardware based. HTC told me this.
But HTC canīt confirm this by 100 percent. Seemingly they did not test it

I think, I can test it next year
HTC Sensation z710a
HBOOT: 1.27.0000 S-OFF
Recovery: 4EXT Touch v1.0.0.5 RC9
Firmware: 3.33.401.154
Baseband: 11.76A.3504.00P_11.24A.3504.31_M
SD-Card: SanDisk Extreme Pro 16GB Class 10 (UHS-I)
Battery: 1730 mAh
ROM (current): Team Venom ViperS 5.2.1 Android 4.1.2 Sense 5
ROM (previous): Android 4.0.3 (unbranded HTC Europe) -> Android Revolution HD 6.8 -> Elegancia Blitz 4.0.0 -> ViperS 3.1.4
*** Looking for HTC Location maps? -> you will find it here ***

 
jkjambo
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 282
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default i

i'm getting "INFO{ERR| command error !!!", when i'm trying to change mid

what to do?
 
@@RON
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 222
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Berlin
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkjambo View Post
i'm getting "INFO{ERR| command error !!!", when i'm trying to change mid

what to do?
You have to flash ENG HBOOT. Unless you are not able to change MID.

-> Follow STEP 3
HTC Sensation z710a
HBOOT: 1.27.0000 S-OFF
Recovery: 4EXT Touch v1.0.0.5 RC9
Firmware: 3.33.401.154
Baseband: 11.76A.3504.00P_11.24A.3504.31_M
SD-Card: SanDisk Extreme Pro 16GB Class 10 (UHS-I)
Battery: 1730 mAh
ROM (current): Team Venom ViperS 5.2.1 Android 4.1.2 Sense 5
ROM (previous): Android 4.0.3 (unbranded HTC Europe) -> Android Revolution HD 6.8 -> Elegancia Blitz 4.0.0 -> ViperS 3.1.4
*** Looking for HTC Location maps? -> you will find it here ***

The Following User Says Thank You to @@RON For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jkjambo
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 282
Join Date: Mar 2011
Done . worked .

Thanks


one more question

if i have super cid (cid 11111111) and pg5813000 , i can still install europian ics? or it's neccessary to have cid: Htc__001 ?
 
@@RON
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 222
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Berlin
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkjambo View Post
Done . worked .
Great

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkjambo View Post
if i have super cid (cid 11111111) and pg5813000 , i can still install europian ics? or it's neccessary to have cid: Htc__001 ?
Sure, with superCID you can install whatever you want.

But if you have superCID, you are not able to get OTA updates.
For this reason I recommended to use an usual (unbranded) CID e.g. HTC__001 or the CID which is appropriate to your region/country
HTC Sensation z710a
HBOOT: 1.27.0000 S-OFF
Recovery: 4EXT Touch v1.0.0.5 RC9
Firmware: 3.33.401.154
Baseband: 11.76A.3504.00P_11.24A.3504.31_M
SD-Card: SanDisk Extreme Pro 16GB Class 10 (UHS-I)
Battery: 1730 mAh
ROM (current): Team Venom ViperS 5.2.1 Android 4.1.2 Sense 5
ROM (previous): Android 4.0.3 (unbranded HTC Europe) -> Android Revolution HD 6.8 -> Elegancia Blitz 4.0.0 -> ViperS 3.1.4
*** Looking for HTC Location maps? -> you will find it here ***

 
jkjambo
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 282
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by @@RON View Post
Great



Sure, with superCID you can install whatever you want.

But if you have superCID, you are not able to get OTA updates.
For this reason I recommended to use an usual (unbranded) CID e.g. HTC__001 or the CID which is appropriate to your region/country
ah , got it .

thanks for info
 
Hitorijanae
Old
#10  
Hitorijanae's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 199
Posts: 451
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Newark
So if I were to change the MID for my US Sensation 4g tmous to the XE MID will it still work on tmous?

Starting as a dev is hard, :P.
Always remember: Do what you love, continue to do it, and it will take you where you need to go.

Device: HTC Sensation 4G
Rom: ViperS 1.2.1
Kernel: Bricked 3.0 1.4
S-OFF:Revolutionary
SD Card: 32 GB Class 10

Backup Device 1(If it gets fixed): T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide
Rom: Constantly changing.
Root Method: Unlocked Bootloader
Recovery: ClockworkMod 5
Kernel: DrowningChild Kernel With XTra OC

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes