Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,406 Members 41,913 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] New phone can not boot! after titanium backup. Help

Tip us?
 
Skyen
Old
(Last edited by Skyen; 2nd January 2014 at 09:53 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default [Q] New phone can not boot! after titanium backup. Help

Hi.

Thanks to everyone who might give me some help.

I have a new quad-core phone with android 4.2.1, that is now useless. It can not boot, it freeze at second bootlogo, before animation.
It is rooted, and i have made some changes to build.prop. It worked fine, but after some time i realized the gallery and camera app was gone.

Then i did following:
Installed updated standard gallery+camera apk found online, both in the same app. from here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2341080
Works great, but i wanted to make it a system app, so did that with titanium backup.
After that, the camera app is gone. Gallery app is still working.
So i tried to change it back to user app, again with titanium, but did not stop working. After some time i took out the battery.
Now it freeze before boot animation.

I tried "wipe data/factory reset" and "wipe cache partition", in system recovery but still not booting!
I tried to backup user data from another phone, same model, and restore on this one but says "Error: checksum compare fail".


Do i need to flash a new rom to the phone with my pc? I have not tried this before, and i want to keep stock rom.
I have read this page:
http://www.chargeforums.com/forum/dr...n-picture.html
But i can not get it in download mode, with those hotkeys?

If it is to any help, i have acces to other working phones of the same model.
 
joke19
Old
#2  
joke19's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 494
Join Date: Feb 2012
Flashing new? It's look like this. How? I don't know because I have no information over ur phone.

Gesendet von meinem Xperia SP
 
Skyen
Old
(Last edited by Skyen; 30th January 2014 at 02:38 AM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by joke19 View Post
Flashing new? It's look like this. How? I don't know because I have no information over ur phone.

Gesendet von meinem Xperia SP
Its a noname phone imported from China.
 
Skyen
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jan 2009
The model is called A999M or Android Grand 1.

I can go in system recovery with volume up + power. But not helping. The only other boot menu i can acces, is only sometimes with volume down + power, i will get a menu but all en chinese.


I managed to get the bad build.prop file from the phone with adb, and see the error in it. But i can not get write acces to change/replace the file.

I compared the build.prop i modified on crashed phone, with working phone and the difference is following all changed to a OEM name (with Capial first letter, that gives problems):
ro.product.name=hexing89_we_jb2
ro.product.device=hexing89_we_jb2
ro.product.board=hexing89_we_jb2
ro.build.product=hexing89_we_jb2

"adb root" returns "adbd cannot run as root in production builds" and all other options like remount for r/w acces gives "remount failed: Operation not permitted"

The phone was rooted with framaroot:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2130276

Would be very glad for some help. If you have the answer to fix it, i might even pay a little for your time.
 
demkantor
Old
#5  
demkantor's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2611
Posts: 5,516
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: mpls
So adb connects right?
Try this
adb shell
ls -l /dev/block/partitions

And from here keep searching and try to find by name (we are looking for system partition here)
If you can't find it from a shell try
cat /proc/partitions
Or just simply
Mount

If you find system then run this
adb shell
su
mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
Or whatever path to /system is
Then
You can simply push or use dd commands to push new build.prop and then chmod permissions to 644
Let me know what comes of this, as I know nothing about your phone but it sounds very fixable

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
Skyen
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by demkantor View Post
So adb connects right?
Try this
adb shell
ls -l /dev/block/partitions

And from here keep searching and try to find by name (we are looking for system partition here)
If you can't find it from a shell try
cat /proc/partitions
Or just simply
Mount

If you find system then run this
adb shell
su
mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
Or whatever path to /system is
Then
You can simply push or use dd commands to push new build.prop and then chmod permissions to 644
Let me know what comes of this, as I know nothing about your phone but it sounds very fixable

Sent from my Nexus 4 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Hi.
I can not do that. First i already found the build.prop file. I can simply put "adb shell", and "cd /system", and "ls -all", and then i see the build.prop file.
I can also go youre way and do "mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/mmcblk0p5 /system", but it says "mount: Operation not permitted"

Remember i can not do adb root. I get "adbd cannot run as root in production builds".
I can also not do "su" inside adb shell. Everytime i do, prompt freezes. I think my phone is suposed to prompt me for Su acces, but shows nothing but the boot logo.

So for now, the problem is i have only read acces. No write acces.
 
demkantor
Old
#7  
demkantor's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2611
Posts: 5,516
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: mpls
Were not looking to list everything in system partition, rather trying to fin the block, I just wrote some random block that I'm sure is not yours unless you have some old mtd phone
In other words don't ls /system but rather /dev/block..... Until you find the block or use cat or mount or whatever to find it so you know what to mount

Also can you get to recovery and use adb there? If so I would recommend this as your system is already goofed up

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
Skyen
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by demkantor View Post
Were not looking to list everything in system partition, rather trying to fin the block, I just wrote some random block that I'm sure is not yours unless you have some old mtd phone
In other words don't ls /system but rather /dev/block..... Until you find the block or use cat or mount or whatever to find it so you know what to mount

Also can you get to recovery and use adb there? If so I would recommend this as your system is already goofed up

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Hi.

If i just write "mount" i get:
/emmc@android /system ext4 ro,noatime,noauto_da_alloc,commit=1,data=ordered 0 0
/emmc@usrdata /data ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,discard,noauto_da_alloc,da ta=ordered 0 0
/emmc@cache /cache ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,discard,noauto_da_alloc,da ta=ordered 0 0
/dev/block/loop0 /mnt/cd-rom iso9660 ro,relatime 0 0
/emmc@protect_f /protect_f ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,nodelalloc,noauto_da_alloc ,commit=1,data=ordered 0 0
/emmc@protect_s /protect_s ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,nodelalloc,noauto_da_alloc ,commit=1,data=ordered 0 0

If i just write "ls -all" i get:
lrwxrwxrwx root root 1970-01-01 01:00 emmc@android -> /dev/block/mmcblk0p5
lrwxrwxrwx root root 1970-01-01 01:00 emmc@cache -> /dev/block/mmcblk0p6
lrwxrwxrwx root root 1970-01-01 01:00 emmc@ebr1 -> /dev/block/mmcblk0p1
lrwxrwxrwx root root 1970-01-01 01:00 emmc@fat -> /dev/block/mmcblk0p8
lrwxrwxrwx root root 1970-01-01 01:00 emmc@protect_f -> /dev/block/mmcblk0p2
lrwxrwxrwx root root 1970-01-01 01:00 emmc@protect_s -> /dev/block/mmcblk0p3
lrwxrwxrwx root root 1970-01-01 01:00 emmc@sec_ro -> /dev/block/mmcblk0p4
lrwxrwxrwx root root 1970-01-01 01:00 emmc@usrdata -> /dev/block/mmcblk0p7

I hope i got the info you wanted. What should i write next?
 
demkantor
Old
#9  
demkantor's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2611
Posts: 5,516
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: mpls
Well we know its ext4 file system but we still don't have the block location
Try
ls -l -a /dev/block/platform
And see what you get

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
demkantor
Old
#10  
demkantor's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2611
Posts: 5,516
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: mpls
Not near a PC so just ran a terminal emulator so I can show you what we hope to find
If you have a by-name directory you're golden, if not we will keep looking
(Hit __ twice by accident in screen shot)

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1391055614623.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	125.2 KB
ID:	2547985  

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes