5,597,138 Members 45,021 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

GPS Antenna Hardware Hack only 2 seconds to fix GPS status ;)

Tip us?
 
TylerDurben
Old
(Last edited by TylerDurben; 4th November 2011 at 01:37 PM.)
#1  
TylerDurben's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 148
Posts: 429
Join Date: May 2010
Wink GPS Antenna Hardware Hack only 2 seconds to fix GPS status ;)

This thread is only interesting for technical gifted people, because you can brick your device !!!
I would like to share a GPS Antenna Hardware Hack i found here "http://www.androidpit.de/de/android/forum/thread/435065/HTC-Desire-HD-Hast-du-GPS-Probleme-mit-deinem-DHD"into the internet some time ago.
I tryed allot of fixing apps and software modifications but nothing works realy good for daily work with gps so i started to soldering a cable (0,8mm) to the GPS Antenna contacts (have a look to the picture)
after the assembly and a new start I had after 10sec sat-fix from 5-6 satellites in the room!!!
Outside I have sat-fix within 2 sec

Here some steps how to do, but be carefull you will lose the warranty of your device

1. open the device like in the youtube video described (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7qm_z65LA8k)
2. solder a cable to the antenna contacts like the picture shows

3. assembly the device ... reboot and have fun





Big THX goes to pooganes for sharing his idea on Andropit


ROM: CoreDroid DHD V8.2 RC8
Phone: HTC Desire HD
Android Version: Android 2.3.4
Build No: 1.45.401.2
Sense Version: 3.0
Kernel: 2.6.35.14 - Lord Clockan V4 CFS (with Killersloth UV Scripts)
Radio: 12.62.60.27U_26.13.04.19_M
The Following 42 Users Say Thank You to TylerDurben For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ceyo14
Old
#2  
ceyo14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 535
Join Date: Jan 2011
So phones don't really have an antenna?

Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium
 
TylerDurben
Old
#3  
TylerDurben's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 148
Posts: 429
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceyo14 View Post
So phones don't really have an antenna?

Sent from my PG86100 using xda premium
of cause it had a antenna, but the oryginal antenna doesnt works realy good
i had no gps fix without my cable here and after soldering the cable i had a satfix within 2 seconds outside
 
joooe
Old
#4  
joooe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 82
Posts: 362
Join Date: Sep 2007
Great mod!
Yep, GPS is probably the biggest problem in the DHD.
In my case, I usually get fast fixes in GPS Status, but then CoPilot or Sygic take forever to pick up the signal

The solution seems to leave GPS Status opened in the background and then opening the gps program.

Other times, rarely though, not even GPS Status can get sat fixes.

I'll be trying other radio versions. But it's annoying stuff.

Sadly, I'm not very good with soldering.
 
TylerDurben
Old
#5  
TylerDurben's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 148
Posts: 429
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by joooe View Post
Great mod!
Yep, GPS is probably the biggest problem in the DHD.
In my case, I usually get fast fixes in GPS Status, but then CoPilot or Sygic take forever to pick up the signal

The solution seems to leave GPS Status opened in the background and then opening the gps program.

Other times, rarely though, not even GPS Status can get sat fixes.

I'll be trying other radio versions. But it's annoying stuff.

Sadly, I'm not very good with soldering.
with my hardwarehack u can delete faster fix and every other gps fix apps, i tested something around 10 fix aps and mods but nothing works realy good for me.
after soldering the cable to the device it works like my garmin gps system
and hey u dont need to be a soldering good, have a look to the contacts and think about it
 
joooe
Old
#6  
joooe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 82
Posts: 362
Join Date: Sep 2007
If I could find a way of isolating only the pins while soldering, that would protect the motherboard from any mistake I make. Like a piece of aluminum foil with two little holes in it or something.
Hmmmm... Might try that.
Thanks!
By the way, what kind of cable did you use? Anything special?
 
TylerDurben
Old
#7  
TylerDurben's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 148
Posts: 429
Join Date: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by joooe View Post
If I could find a way of isolating only the pins while soldering, that would protect the motherboard from any mistake I make. Like a piece of aluminum foil with two little holes in it or something.
Hmmmm... Might try that.
Thanks!
By the way, what kind of cable did you use? Anything special?
nothing special , i used 0,8mm copper cable that i had from an old headset
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to TylerDurben For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
misterblue31
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 44
Join Date: Mar 2011
Hi, I had the idea of this set several months ago. It works fine but the signal quality is not as good as an original antenna that works well.
After 2 months of use, I bought a new GPS antenna DHD and I withdrew my cord.
The signal with the original HTC antenna is better (available on Ebay).

My Fr Tutorial (april 2011)
Samsung GS3 I-9300_ROM : Omega (last base JB)_Kernel : Siyah or Phenomenal (last base JB)
HTC D-HD : ENG S-Off, H Boot S-Off, Radio S-Off, Surper CID, SimUnlock_Rom : Sabsa Prime v14.0
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to misterblue31 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
TUN_SD
Old
#9  
TUN_SD's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter 4829
Posts: 3,567
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: here and there

 
DONATE TO ME
thats a nice mod, but really dangerous for non technichal used people.

but really interessting!!
 
joooe
Old
#10  
joooe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 82
Posts: 362
Join Date: Sep 2007
Ok, tried this yesterday.
No soldering though, as I was scared to ruin the phone.
Grabbed a 3 cm cable from a 12v car leds and just hooked them up to the 2 pins, just twisting a little so they don't come off.
At first the results where not much different. Opened it again, rewired them and voilá.
It's like magic. Just got close to my window and bang!, less then 5 seconds.
I even wiped the phone and installed the rom again and still works!

By the way, I looked at the contacts of the cover itself and tried to rub a little bit with a screwdriver to remove possible rust. Bad news.
Most certainly, the gps problem lies with these contacts. They are too thin!
When I tried to rub a little, I started to see the plastic underneath!!!

So, maybe, the little dark dots we see in them are just the plastic showing up due to use. That's why gps doesn't work as it should.

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to joooe For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes