Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] ADB Push not working

OP jyferrari

17th January 2014, 09:46 PM   |  #1  
jyferrari's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag West Hartford
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
My "adb push" command is not working. When I type it in, the command prompt seems to run "adb help". No error message, just the list of possible commands. See the attached screenshot.
Does anybody know what's happening?

Computer: Windows 7
Device: Verizon Galaxy Nexus (toro)
Version: 4.2.2
Kernel Version: 3.0.85-franco.Kernel-nightly
Build: JDQ39
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-01-17 15_30_19-Program Manager.png
Views:	272
Size:	46.7 KB
ID:	2522476  
Last edited by jyferrari; 17th January 2014 at 09:56 PM.
17th January 2014, 11:56 PM   |  #2  
TheArc's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Auckland City
Thanks Meter: 1,833
 
2,365 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
The "adb push" command is used to push files to your device.

Typing "adb push" won't do anything besides displaying all the adb functions.

To push something, your command must be something like "adb push whateverthefileis system/bin" the "system/bin" is the destination where it is to be pushed, for example if you want to push an app you do, "adb push android.apk system/app"

Make sure your drivers for phone is installed properly.

Quote:

IF I HELPED HIT THANKS

Sent from my Nexus F...Fi...Fii...Ahem...*clears throat*... Five.
Last edited by TheArc; 17th January 2014 at 11:58 PM.
18th January 2014, 02:56 AM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
solution???
Did you put your phone in recovery mode first?
Last edited by jbaker22; 18th January 2014 at 03:56 AM. Reason: errors
19th January 2014, 03:43 AM   |  #4  
jyferrari's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag West Hartford
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by krishneelg3

The "adb push" command is used to push files to your device.

Typing "adb push" won't do anything besides displaying all the adb functions.

To push something, your command must be something like "adb push whateverthefileis system/bin" the "system/bin" is the destination where it is to be pushed, for example if you want to push an app you do, "adb push android.apk system/app"

Make sure your drivers for phone is installed properly.



Sent from my Nexus F...Fi...Fii...Ahem...*clears throat*... Five.

I had typed in the correct syntax for the command, but will try updating drivers. Thanks!
30th January 2014, 06:29 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
ADB push just scrolls commands
I am trying to use ADB with telnet to root my Droid Maxx. I have been desperately trying to use Jcase's method. All my commands work, except the push command. I can telnet, my drivers are all up to date, my phone is on debug, install unknown sources etc...Everything seems to be in order, but the su and RockMyMoto.jar will not push, just a scrolling of commands. Any help would be most appreciated.
Thank you
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes