Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] unlocking to change providers

OP sandiegosex

30th January 2014, 08:07 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag san diego
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
More
i just rooted and unlocked my sprint evo 4g lte. esn is likely going to come up bad as i failed to satisfy sprints commitment. is it possible to flash now to cricket and work or is the phone absolutely worthless now?
31st January 2014, 07:53 PM   |  #2  
mvmacd's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Massachusetts
Thanks Meter: 118
 
854 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandiegosex

i just rooted and unlocked my sprint evo 4g lte. esn is likely going to come up bad as i failed to satisfy sprints commitment. is it possible to flash now to cricket and work or is the phone absolutely worthless now?

I believe cricket uses Sprint, so I doubt you can use a bad Sprint ESN on cricket, but I could be wrong.

However, I just bought a bad esn Evo 4G LTE on craigslist, was planning on using it as a wifi device.
Then I found this guide:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1838606

I currently had PagePlus [Verizon MVNO] and was on a HTC Rezound that I'd manually programmed [from another xda guide just like that except for the Rez] in November '12. So I figured, hey, why not give it a shot? time for an upgrade. It's a superior device in most respects, though I have found a few issues my Rez didn't have. [Headphone jack seems to give static while using wifi]

So anyway, long story short, it took me half a day to get the Stock rom back on [you should be able to find my post in the Q&A near the top. lol] so I could program it with CDMA Workshop, and QPST.

But the bottom line: My bad esn Evo 4G LTE phone is now happily running on PagePlus, which has some pretty good plans.
I just run on the pay as you go plan [10c min/5c text] because I only use my phone occasionally, but they have $30/month with 2000 Min, 3000 Text, 500 MB data. [You might only have 1X speeds, I'm not sure because I haven't tested my data as it charges $0.99/MB].
gl!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes