Post Reply
Unhappy

Problem with TWRP. PLEASE HELP!

31st January 2014, 08:22 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
So i bought this HTC EVO 4G LTE off ebay, well it has a huge problem that the seller did not tell me about. It has somehing called TWRP installed and I cannot do anything with this phone.
I cannot get past this screen weird twrp screen thingy. i would post a picture but I can't. it's grey and has a bunch of options. it's like a main menu
I have tried to figure this out and to be honest i have no idea what i'm even doing
Also from what i've seen seeing this stuff helps as well
This pops up when I hard reboot the phone

moonshine s-off
jewelpvt ship s-off rl
cid-spcs_001
hboot-2.09.4444
radio-1.12.11.1210
opendsp-v31.1.0.45.0815
emmc-boot
Oct 18 2012, 15:46:20
31st January 2014, 08:24 AM   |  #2  
numel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Granite Bay, California
Thanks Meter: 387
 
1,074 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
You're rooted. Run RUU tool to unroot and go back to complete stock. TWRP is the recovery menu and the gateway to flashing new roms and kernels etc.

Sent from my EVO
The Following User Says Thank You to numel007 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st January 2014, 08:30 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by numel007

You're rooted. Run RUU tool to unroot and go back to complete stock. TWRP is the recovery menu and the gateway to flashing new roms and kernels etc.

Sent from my EVO

How do I run RUU where can I download it. I honestly have no idea how to do anything with phones.
31st January 2014, 08:34 AM   |  #4  
numel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Granite Bay, California
Thanks Meter: 387
 
1,074 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lieval

How do I run RUU where can I download it. I honestly have no idea how to do anything with phones.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2197909

Go here and read through the instructions. I'm here if you have further questions.

Sent from my EVO
The Following User Says Thank You to numel007 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st January 2014, 08:52 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by numel007

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2197909

Go here and read through the instructions. I'm here if you have further questions.

Sent from my EVO

Okay so i downloaded and unzipped, The instructions on the thread are very vague
So I think i need to use a backdoor or something cause I can't get my phone to boot into android
Quote:
Q: But what if I can't get into Android?? Surely there is something I can do!?
A: Yes, I designed a "backdoor" to allow you into VipeRUU. However, BE CAREFUL! This skips important checks that VipeRUU does when it start (most importantly, if your phone really is an EVO 4G LTE!) but it will allow you to do this procedure from the bootloader. All you have to do is create a text file in the "files" folder called "bypass.txt" and then start the program. You'll be alerted with a few warnings when doing this.

Also do I need to have the phone plugged into the computer or something. I am so sorry but I am very lost
31st January 2014, 09:07 AM   |  #6  
numel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Granite Bay, California
Thanks Meter: 387
 
1,074 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lieval

Okay so i downloaded and unzipped, The instructions on the thread are very vague
So I think i need to use a backdoor or something cause I can't get my phone to boot into android
Quote:
Q: But what if I can't get into Android?? Surely there is something I can do!?
A: Yes, I designed a "backdoor" to allow you into VipeRUU. However, BE CAREFUL! This skips important checks that VipeRUU does when it start (most importantly, if your phone really is an EVO 4G LTE!) but it will allow you to do this procedure from the bootloader. All you have to do is create a text file in the "files" folder called "bypass.txt" and then start the program. You'll be alerted with a few warnings when doing this.

Also do I need to have the phone plugged into the computer or something. I am so sorry but I am very lost

I've never done this process myself, but I'll do my best to help you.

First: reboot into your bootloader, Hold down power key with volume down key until it reboots into the screen where you listed all that information. It should have a white bacground.

Second: Naviagte to fastboot and hit the pwoerkey

Third: Connect computer to phone with usb

Fourth: create a blank bypass.txt file and place into the file named "file" from the zip you downloaded.

Fifth: Run ViperRUU and select whichever option you need.
The Following User Says Thank You to numel007 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st January 2014, 09:16 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by numel007

I've never done this process myself, but I'll do my best to help you.

First: reboot into your bootloader, Hold down power key with volume down key until it reboots into the screen where you listed all that information. It should have a white bacground.

Second: Naviagte to fastboot and hit the pwoerkey

Third: Connect computer to phone with usb

Fourth: create a blank bypass.txt file and place into the file named "file" from the zip you downloaded.

Fifth: Run ViperRUU and select whichever option you need.

Okay i did all of that and it's saying my device wasn't detected

When I click fastboot it gives me 4 other options
Bootloader
Reboot
Reboot Bootloader
powerdown
31st January 2014, 09:18 AM   |  #8  
numel007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Granite Bay, California
Thanks Meter: 387
 
1,074 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lieval

Okay i did all of that and it's saying my device wasn't detected

When I click fastboot it gives me 4 other options
Bootloader
Reboot
Reboot Bootloader
powerdown

Are you running windows? Open up a command prompt and try to get su access through fastboot. You may not have high enough privleges. Also, do you have HTC drivers installed? Once you're inside the fastboot menu, don't touch anything. The reading on the top should say "Fastboot USB"
31st January 2014, 09:21 AM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by numel007

Are you running windows? Open up a command prompt and try to get su access through fastboot. You may not have high enough privleges. Also, do you have HTC drivers installed? Once you're inside the fastboot menu, don't touch anything. The reading on the top should say "Fastboot USB"

I do have windows and I know how to open a command prop

What is su access?

I'm sure I do since i'm the administrator, I have no idea about the drivers. The ones in the files folder I installed those I think

I am so sorry for all the trouble I really appreciate your help
31st January 2014, 09:22 AM   |  #10  
BD619's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Xda-Dev,NV
Thanks Meter: 7,850
 
8,186 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Here is the link to the latest RUU I wouldn't mess with VipeRUU if you are not sure what you are doing.
http://www.htc.com/us/support/htc-ev...e-sprint/news/

The Following User Says Thank You to BD619 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes