Post Reply

Question [Q] Trying follow steps on rooting for 4.4

OP Dreadlord12p

23rd January 2014, 04:41 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag New Hampshire
Thanks Meter: 1
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
I am trying to be able to get root on 4.4. I am currently on 4.2.2 (12.15.15) (camera update). I just rooted using RockMyMoto and ran through the MotoWPNoMo and I still get a "1" status when I type "adb shell getprop ro.boot.write_protect". Why is this happening?

Edit: By the way I have a Verizon carrier (if that matters).
Last edited by Dreadlord12p; 23rd January 2014 at 04:56 PM.
23rd January 2014, 05:56 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreadlord12p

I am trying to be able to get root on 4.4. I am currently on 4.2.2 (12.15.15) (camera update). I just rooted using RockMyMoto and ran through the MotoWPNoMo and I still get a "1" status when I type "adb shell getprop ro.boot.write_protect". Why is this happening?

Edit: By the way I have a Verizon carrier (if that matters).

Carrier doesn't matter. Can you give a couple more details?

Can you paste the output of the motowpnmoto?

When I ran it initially, the output indicated to me it completed without error but I was still getting a 1. After I got it working properly, it fully ran and was clearly successful and i got a zero. I am thinking perhaps it didn't run properly and complete and it did not tell you that.

Check the main motowpnmoto thread and see if you can find my post. I think I posted a complete successful run for reference.

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
23rd January 2014, 08:32 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreadlord12p

I am trying to be able to get root on 4.4. I am currently on 4.2.2 (12.15.15) (camera update). I just rooted using RockMyMoto and ran through the MotoWPNoMo and I still get a "1" status when I type "adb shell getprop ro.boot.write_protect". Why is this happening?

Edit: By the way I have a Verizon carrier (if that matters).

How many times have you run it, and did you keep your phone screen on? I think it requests a Give Root pop up for ADB
24th January 2014, 06:22 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Another question.
I was on 4.2.2, get root with RMM. Then i suceed with WPNoMo. I get "0" code.
Then I just got messed with SlapMyMoto - cant get it done. I decide to wipe Maxx with House of Moto. Wiped, install 4.4 ota. Now I'm without root, but adb script from WPNoMo still show me "0" code. Can I get root? Any help?
24th January 2014, 02:11 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag New Hampshire
Thanks Meter: 1
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by livinitwarrior

How many times have you run it, and did you keep your phone screen on? I think it requests a Give Root pop up for ADB


I have run it twice with no errors. I had my screen on the whole time. I granted the SU access popup for ADB. I will give you my log report after this post.
24th January 2014, 04:47 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Flag New Hampshire
Thanks Meter: 1
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreadlord12p

I have run it twice with no errors. I had my screen on the whole time. I granted the SU access popup for ADB. I will give you my log report after this post.

Never mind, I just tried it on my windows 7 laptop and it worked. It said "removed pesky write protection..."
The Following User Says Thank You to Dreadlord12p For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th January 2014, 06:33 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Flag New Hampshire
Thanks Meter: 1
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Exclamation F***!!
I followed all the steps for slapmymoto but when I try to install the 4.4 update, IT FAILS!! PLEASE HELP.
24th January 2014, 06:56 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreadlord12p

I followed all the steps for slapmymoto but when I try to install the 4.4 update, IT FAILS!! PLEASE HELP.

did you try the command to see if write protection is still off?
24th January 2014, 07:02 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Flag New Hampshire
Thanks Meter: 1
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by livinitwarrior

did you try the command to see if write protection is still off?

Yes and it gave me a blank. Not a 1 or a zero. If I did the last step on slapmymoto with the adb commands before I updated to 4.4, would that mess it up?

u0_a153@obake:/ $ su
root@obake:/ # getprop boot.write_protect

root@obake:/ #
Last edited by Dreadlord12p; 24th January 2014 at 07:17 PM.
24th January 2014, 07:38 PM   |  #10  
Caseyk621's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rochester, NY
Thanks Meter: 174
 
529 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreadlord12p

Yes and it gave me a blank. Not a 1 or a zero. If I did the last step on slapmymoto with the adb commands before I updated to 4.4, would that mess it up?

u0_a153@obake:/ $ su
root@obake:/ # getprop boot.write_protect

root@obake:/ #

What Failure are you getting?


Sent from my KitKat Ultra

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes