FORUMS

Enable Multi-Window Mode on M Developer Preview

What was not mentioned in yeterday’s keynote was Android M’s multi-window … more

I/O Summary: Google Cardboard Virtual Reality

One year ago, Google introduced cardboard. Amazingly enough, that was all it took to fire … more

Android M Preview Images – XDA TV

Android M preview images are available. That and much more news is covered by Jordan when he … more

I/O Summary: How Android M Handles Power And Charging

In the spirit of improving the core Android experience, Google is changing Android … more

Americansied contact info?

Thanks Meter: 1
 
By DocSoton, Member on 30th January 2014, 08:34 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Quite surprised and a bit annoyed that the contact info, in particular the Address field, is Americanised... I cant even add our Post Code into the Zip Code as its a numeric field only! Is there a way to change this, or define my own fields?

Its almost as bad as not seeing English (United Kingdom) and only English (American) when installing software... there's a difference between the two, and surely the clue is in the name itself!
 
 
30th January 2014, 08:45 AM |#2  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,538
 
Donate to Me
More
Haven't come across it myself, always had English (United Kingdom) as an option. What firmware?
30th January 2014, 08:52 AM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by radicalisto

Haven't come across it myself, always had English (United Kingdom) as an option. What firmware?

My language options are set to UK etc.. but if I go into Contacts, and look at the Address Fields, I have State, Zip Code.. etc I did wonder wheterht is was a generic android thing but my mates HTC says County, Post Code...

Ill check software version.. but it is an EU handset and Ive just recently received the kitkat update...
30th January 2014, 08:55 AM |#4  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,538
 
Donate to Me
More
OK, just tried to add an address in myself, have the same issue! I hadn't checked after the KK update, however my old addresses are still showing up OK. FFS Samsung and their stupidity again
30th January 2014, 09:11 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 184
 
More
I have just tried it and you can add the postcode when you enter a new contract. When hi go to edit it, it only gives you the numbers option on the keyboard... Stupid 👎

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
30th January 2014, 09:31 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
I'm running CM and I can add whatever in the zip field, editing an existing contact or adding a new one.
30th January 2014, 09:43 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 184
 
More
We're talking on kit Kat mate.... It worked prior to kit Kat ....but not now....

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
30th January 2014, 10:02 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Flag Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alom5

We're talking on kit Kat mate.... It worked prior to kit Kat ....but not now....

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

CM11 is kit kat.
30th January 2014, 10:15 AM |#9  
radicalisto's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag York
Thanks Meter: 1,538
 
Donate to Me
More
He means Official 4.4.2 with the new boot loader, CM runs on Jelly Bean's boot loader aka MJ7/Mk2.

UK postcode has letters and numbers ie: N1 6YU - When entering Address info we can only type american zip codes ie: 939393 which is no good to us.
The Following User Says Thank You to radicalisto For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th January 2014, 10:26 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by radicalisto

He means Official 4.4.2 with the new boot loader, CM runs on Jelly Bean's boot loader aka MJ7/Mk2.

UK postcode has letters and numbers ie: N1 6YU - When entering Address info we can only type american zip codes ie: 939393 which is no good to us.

Bootloader has little to do with the software. So the topic is about software capability and Samsung apparently locks it.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Note 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank