Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,373 Members 47,583 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Error flashing "this package is for v500 devices; this is a wifi"

Tip us?
 
jebuswow
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2014
Question Error flashing "this package is for v500 devices; this is a wifi"

Hi guys!

I got the G Pad 8.3 since january 20th and I wanted to install Cyanogenmod on it.
I'm able to boot into TWRP Recovery without any problems but when I try to install the newest Cyanogenmod I get the following message:

Error: Error executing updater binary in zip 'cache/recovery/cm-11-20140129-
Error: Error installing zip file 'cache/recovery/cm-11-20140129-NIGHTLY-v500

This package is for "v500" devices; this is a "awifi"



So my device is not a v500 but an awifi? Does anyone know a solution for the problem or do I just have to wait until the Cyanogenmod guys release a version specific for the "awifi" model (whatever the difference is...)


Thx in advance
 
Master SURGE
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jebuswow View Post
Hi guys!

I got the G Pad 8.3 since january 20th and I wanted to install Cyanogenmod on it.
I'm able to boot into TWRP Recovery without any problems but when I try to install the newest Cyanogenmod I get the following message:

Error: Error executing updater binary in zip 'cache/recovery/cm-11-20140129-
Error: Error installing zip file 'cache/recovery/cm-11-20140129-NIGHTLY-v500

This package is for "v500" devices; this is a "awifi"



So my device is not a v500 but an awifi? Does anyone know a solution for the problem or do I just have to wait until the Cyanogenmod guys release a version specific for the "awifi" model (whatever the difference is...)


Thx in advance

which version of twrp did u flash ? if it is 2.6.3.0 , then update to 2.6.3.2 and try again
The Following User Says Thank You to Master SURGE For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jebuswow
Old
(Last edited by jebuswow; 30th January 2014 at 12:25 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master SURGE View Post
which version of twrp did u flash ? if it is 2.6.3.0 , then update to 2.6.3.2 and try again
That did the trick, thx a lot!



Okayy, now I got the Cyanogen bootloop bug. Sigh.
Starting over with the correct software...
 
jebuswow
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2014
Installed the stuff a 2nd time now.
Again the bootlop bug. :/
 
Master SURGE
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jebuswow View Post
Installed the stuff a 2nd time now.
Again the bootlop bug. :/
did u do a factory reset after flashing the rom ?
The Following User Says Thank You to Master SURGE For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jebuswow
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2014
Now I did a wipe before flashing and everything worked fine.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes