Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more

Get Your XDA 2015 Custom Avatar and Signature Images Here

As stated in our motto, XDA Developer is for developers, by developers. The … more

Pin Your Photos on Android Lollipop with Photo Pinner

In the last few weeks,we have been talking quite a bit about Android 5.0 Lollipop. This … more

Samsung Galaxy Note Edge Hands On – XDA TV

Perhaps one of the more peculiar announcements this year was the curved edge-screened … more
Post Reply

Error flashing "this package is for v500 devices; this is a wifi"

OP jebuswow

30th January 2014, 10:26 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Hi guys!

I got the G Pad 8.3 since january 20th and I wanted to install Cyanogenmod on it.
I'm able to boot into TWRP Recovery without any problems but when I try to install the newest Cyanogenmod I get the following message:

Error: Error executing updater binary in zip 'cache/recovery/cm-11-20140129-
Error: Error installing zip file 'cache/recovery/cm-11-20140129-NIGHTLY-v500

This package is for "v500" devices; this is a "awifi"



So my device is not a v500 but an awifi? Does anyone know a solution for the problem or do I just have to wait until the Cyanogenmod guys release a version specific for the "awifi" model (whatever the difference is...)


Thx in advance
30th January 2014, 10:56 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jebuswow

Hi guys!

I got the G Pad 8.3 since january 20th and I wanted to install Cyanogenmod on it.
I'm able to boot into TWRP Recovery without any problems but when I try to install the newest Cyanogenmod I get the following message:

Error: Error executing updater binary in zip 'cache/recovery/cm-11-20140129-
Error: Error installing zip file 'cache/recovery/cm-11-20140129-NIGHTLY-v500

This package is for "v500" devices; this is a "awifi"



So my device is not a v500 but an awifi? Does anyone know a solution for the problem or do I just have to wait until the Cyanogenmod guys release a version specific for the "awifi" model (whatever the difference is...)


Thx in advance


which version of twrp did u flash ? if it is 2.6.3.0 , then update to 2.6.3.2 and try again
The Following User Says Thank You to Master SURGE For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th January 2014, 11:45 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master SURGE

which version of twrp did u flash ? if it is 2.6.3.0 , then update to 2.6.3.2 and try again

That did the trick, thx a lot!



Okayy, now I got the Cyanogen bootloop bug. Sigh.
Starting over with the correct software...
Last edited by jebuswow; 30th January 2014 at 12:25 PM.
30th January 2014, 01:10 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Installed the stuff a 2nd time now.
Again the bootlop bug. :/
30th January 2014, 01:33 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jebuswow

Installed the stuff a 2nd time now.
Again the bootlop bug. :/

did u do a factory reset after flashing the rom ?
The Following User Says Thank You to Master SURGE For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th January 2014, 02:22 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Now I did a wipe before flashing and everything worked fine.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes