5,597,647 Members 32,757 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] increase RAM capacity

Tip us?
 
bluechip850
Old
#1  
bluechip850's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 286
Join Date: Aug 2012
Question [Q] increase RAM capacity

Hello frnds,

Is there any way to increase the available RAM on our phone, means we have got around 700mb available whereas its actual announced capacity is 1Gb,
In a latest Xperia, Xperia C, being the same 1GB, its showing around 900Mb..!
Don't ask why to bother about 200Mb, because it does matter a lot for me

Thanks in advance..
 
rErEaT
Old
#2  
rErEaT's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 133
Posts: 400
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Zalaegerszeg

 
DONATE TO ME
Try to use this app: RAM Expander


If you are interested in a secure online storage, you can register here:

DropBox
 
Destroyedbeauty
Old
#3  
Destroyedbeauty's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 263
Posts: 1,224
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sundsvall
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluechip850 View Post
Hello frnds,

Is there any way to increase the available RAM on our phone, means we have got around 700mb available whereas its actual announced capacity is 1Gb,
In a latest Xperia, Xperia C, being the same 1GB, its showing around 900Mb..!
Don't ask why to bother about 200Mb, because it does matter a lot for me

Thanks in advance..
De-bloating is your solution to this issue!

Sent from my SGP311 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Current Android devices that I am using;

Sony Xperia Z1 - ROM: Rooted, De-bloated & Tweaked 14.3.A.0.757 / Kernel: Doomkernel v15

Sony Xperia Tablet Z - ROM: Rooted, De-bloated & Tweaked 10.4.1.B.0.109 / Kernel: Stock kernel


Wishlist: Sony Xperia Z2!!
 
nisu4717
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 248
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: vidhya nagar
Dont do anything like ram expander. That works fine but decreses the life of sd card.

Sent from my LT26ii using xda premium
 
FenrirMX
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 132
Posts: 312
Join Date: Apr 2012
You need to do some reading on RAM. Unused RAM is wasted RAM.
As for why you're "missing" some of it, blame it on Android and the GPU.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
Immortal until proven otherwise.
 
bluechip850
Old
#6  
bluechip850's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 286
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Destroyedbeauty View Post
De-bloating is your solution to this issue!

Sent from my SGP311 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
but that does only free a little, and i have done that, but my point is regarding the actual available memory..
 
Destroyedbeauty
Old
#7  
Destroyedbeauty's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 263
Posts: 1,224
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sundsvall
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluechip850 View Post
but that does only free a little, and i have done that, but my point is regarding the actual available memory..
Add some memory managment-init.d scripts then!
 
skyend
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jul 2013
Anyone got a performance boost by using any of the swap creating apps out there? I tried a few apps but all of them eventually led to my device slow down and lag to no end!

Sent from my LT26i using xda app-developers app
 
nisu4717
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 248
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: vidhya nagar
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyend View Post
Anyone got a performance boost by using any of the swap creating apps out there? I tried a few apps but all of them eventually led to my device slow down and lag to no end!

Sent from my LT26i using xda app-developers app
Try play aspart 8 .and than notice these aaps works

Sent from my LT26ii using xda premium
 
emadtaha
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 24
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default hope

I hope to find a solution

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes