Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,250 Members 41,591 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to REMOVE Sprint Hands Free Activation Setup!!!

Tip us?
 
pitbull8265
Old
#1  
pitbull8265's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 45
Join Date: Dec 2013

 
DONATE TO ME
Default How to REMOVE Sprint Hands Free Activation Setup!!!

through much trial and error, I am now "Activation Screen" Free.

Here is a list of what to do:

Download "root uninstaller" from Play store..(the version you need shows an Android Icon)

Use it to remove ALL Sprint related processes/APK's

Reboot your phone

This worked on mine, hope it works on yours.

Mine is rooted, s-off, TWRP flashed, and Custom "Bad Boys" Rom
The Following User Says Thank You to pitbull8265 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ryoung4316
Old
#2  
ryoung4316's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 48
Join Date: Jan 2014

 
DONATE TO ME
Nice! Good job brother! Thanks for contributing to XDA
A Thanks goes a long way. please say thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to ryoung4316 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
elvisypi
Old
#3  
elvisypi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1284
Posts: 2,263
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Durres

 
DONATE TO ME
LOL

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
if you like my post
Devices:
HTC One
ROM : InsertCoin 3.0.2

HTC Sensation
ROM : ViperS 5.0.2 Sense 5
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to elvisypi For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Robert542
Old
(Last edited by Robert542; 7th February 2014 at 01:52 AM.)
#4  
Robert542's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 164
Posts: 498
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbull8265 View Post
through much trial and error, I am now "Activation Screen" Free.

Here is a list of what to do:

Download "root uninstaller" from Play store..(the version you need shows an Android Icon)

Use it to remove ALL Sprint related processes/APK's

Reboot your phone

This worked on mine, hope it works on yours.

Mine is rooted, s-off, TWRP flashed, and Custom "Bad Boys" Rom
All you need to do is delete "htcsetupwizard.apk" in system apps folder. If you don't want to wait until the setup wizard lets you into the system follow these directions.
1. Boot into recovery
2. Mount system
3. Use file manager to get to system/apps and delete "htcsetupwizard.apk"
4. Unmount system
5. Wipe dalvic
6. Reboot to system
7. Pick your butt and sniff your finger.
On second thought you can skip step 7 if you want to but that's entirely up to you.

Sent from my HTCONE using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Robert542 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
shantanil
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 79
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Jalpaiguri
I am not able to get past the activation screen after I flash a ROM. Tell me what to do. Also OP could you please provide me with a list of files that need to be deleted?
 
Robert542
Old
#6  
Robert542's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 164
Posts: 498
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by shantanil View Post
I am not able to get past the activation screen after I flash a ROM. Tell me what to do. Also OP could you please provide me with a list of files that need to be deleted?
Don't follow the OP's directions, just follow the method listed right above your question.

Sent from my SM-N900P using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
blablabla1269
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by shantanil View Post
I am not able to get past the activation screen after I flash a ROM. Tell me what to do. Also OP could you please provide me with a list of files that need to be deleted?
I had it hanging on activation after installing BadBoyz kitkat rom. I installed the newest Radio from Dec. rebooted, and didn't get hands free activation again at all.
 
v1ral
Old
(Last edited by v1ral; 6th March 2014 at 01:59 AM.)
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 242
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert542 View Post
All you need to do is delete "htcsetupwizard.apk" in system apps folder. If you don't want to wait until the setup wizard lets you into the system follow these directions.
1. Boot into recovery
2. Mount system
3. Use file manager to get to system/apps and delete "htcsetupwizard.apk"
4. Unmount system
5. Wipe dalvic
6. Reboot to system
7. Pick your butt and sniff your finger.
On second thought you can skip step 7 if you want to but that's entirely up to you.

Sent from my HTCONE using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
I've tried this, but still does work, any way to get rid of this annoying thing?

Rooted Stock 4.4

Edit: A few questions to ask.
I am able to bypass HFA, but I had to delete the .apks associated with what ever makes it happen.
When I install a ROM I always encounter HFA*makes me not want to install others, since I set-up the ones I use now so I don't encounter it*.
Are devs just implenting this cause of it's sprint branding, I understand why they would ,but crap is annoying.
Anyways, I'm reluctant to remove it, but it gets quite annoying when installing a rom it so happens to rear it's ugly head.
The Following User Says Thank You to v1ral For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
vermy
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 12
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert542 View Post
Don't follow the OP's directions, just follow the method listed right above your question.
I followed those instructions too, well except #7, tempting as it is. No dice. HFA, pops back up again. I'm rooted, but am afraid the nasty HFA will muck up my Fire water S - Off process. Any other ideas?
 
vermy
Old
(Last edited by vermy; 25th June 2014 at 03:26 AM.)
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 12
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by v1ral View Post
I've tried this, but still does work, any way to get rid of this annoying thing?

Rooted Stock 4.4

Edit: A few questions to ask.
I am able to bypass HFA, but I had to delete the .apks associated with what ever makes it happen.
Which apks did you delete/rename to disable it? I have been renaming quite a few with no luck. Are there more than one app that can run HFA?

Edit: Found the answer... http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=2287

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes