OnePlus DR-1 Quadcopter Drone Available for Purchase

OnePlus has been teasing a new product for a while now, hailing it as a … more

KDZ of Android 5.0.1 Captured for T-Mobile LG G3

T-Mobile US is yet to release the 20B Lollipop build for the LG G3. Luckily enough, you … more

Build Custom Stock Kernel with Linaro GCC 4.9.1

With this guide for Sony devices, you will learn how to build a kernel using the Linaro … more

What’s Your Biggest Reason for Not Owning an iPhone?

With XDA being a community of Android enthusiasts, it is not uncommon to see … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Z1S (tmo), swype problems

6th February 2014, 02:57 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
I did the diagnostics with the touch screen, and turned out ok, but sometimes I get swype issues that are similar to the touchscreen problem on older Z1's-- you can see the swype drag line break up and I get garbage (2-3 letter) words onto my text fields. If I change hand positions/put the phone down, and retry--swype works fine. Anyone else having similar issues?
6th February 2014, 04:16 AM |#2  
Don_Perrignon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 122
 
811 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by recharged95

I did the diagnostics with the touch screen, and turned out ok, but sometimes I get swype issues that are similar to the touchscreen problem on older Z1's-- you can see the swype drag line break up and I get garbage (2-3 letter) words onto my text fields. If I change hand positions/put the phone down, and retry--swype works fine. Anyone else having similar issues?

Yep, I am. I think people on the Z1 were having the same issue, but some firmware fixed the problem.
6th February 2014, 06:05 AM |#3  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 620
 
2,984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Perrignon

Yep, I am. I think people on the Z1 were having the same issue, but some firmware fixed the problem.

..the only FW which can fix this problem is .136. Reported it does, but always can be the exception.
6th February 2014, 07:43 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Interesting, I'm on fw 14.2.C.0.159 (C6916), and definitely seeing it (device test was ok). I'm going to check another phone at the store...
6th February 2014, 07:59 AM |#5  
eclyptos's Avatar
Senior Member
Planet Earth
Thanks Meter: 620
 
2,984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by recharged95

Interesting, I'm on fw 14.2.C.0.159 (C6916), and definitely seeing it (device test was ok). I'm going to check another phone at the store...

Yes, you should. BTW, different model different FW, that is why maybe your problem is not fixed yet...
6th February 2014, 12:01 PM |#6  
Don_Perrignon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 122
 
811 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by eclyptos

Yes, you should. BTW, different model different FW, that is why maybe your problem is not fixed yet...

This is correct.

Sent from my C6916 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to Don_Perrignon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th February 2014, 03:27 AM |#7  
scoobdude's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 72
 
678 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
Try the one handed keyboard skin. It works better for me.

Sent from my C6916 using xda app-developers app
7th February 2014, 05:09 AM |#8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
man I keep seeing this statement about .136 fixing this problem..it does NOT,believe me know all devices are different but bug still there, you will see eclyptos once ur z1 arrives

Sent from my C6906 using xda app-developers app
7th February 2014, 05:43 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 115
 
456 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by feddexx69

man I keep seeing this statement about .136 fixing this problem..it does NOT,believe me know all devices are different but bug still there, you will see eclyptos once ur z1 arrives

Sent from my C6906 using xda app-developers app

agree! after flashing .136, problem is still there.

i have already highlight this issue to a sony rep at their forum few days ago. he have already escalated this issue.
7th February 2014, 07:00 AM |#10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Trying to hit the store tomorrow.... But I can't reproduce the error consistently, but I have gotten it to fail on the touchscreen test mainly on the lower half of the screen. And every time, if I reposition my hand, it fixes itself. I do notice more dust on the screen when it has problems.

Makes me think the screen is too sensitive in certain cases (dust, fingerprints,??) , or considering this problem started after I got a very, very fine scratch near the top of the screen....i.e. a scratch on the anti shatter film is creating some problem. I'm getting a zagg screen protector but it would be nice if Sony offered a replacement film.
Last edited by recharged95; 7th February 2014 at 07:13 AM. Reason: clarification

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes