FORUMS

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Missing the system update button

30th January 2014, 09:55 PM |#1  
kclive's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ironton, Mn
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Is anyone else missing the button to do a manual OTA update? I have searched and searched all over in my phone's settings and have not found it anywhere. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks
 
 
30th January 2014, 09:59 PM |#2  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 715
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kclive

Is anyone else missing the button to do a manual OTA update? I have searched and searched all over in my phone's settings and have not found it anywhere. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks

look under settings general about phone
30th January 2014, 10:18 PM |#3  
kclive's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ironton, Mn
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrycoffman45

look under settings general about phone

I did. It isn't there. Could this be due to the fact it is rooted and running a custom rom?
30th January 2014, 10:19 PM |#4  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 715
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kclive

I did. It isn't there. Could this be due to the fact it is rooted and running a custom rom?

yes more custom rom than root
Last edited by jerrycoffman45; 30th January 2014 at 10:22 PM.
30th January 2014, 10:26 PM |#5  
kclive's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ironton, Mn
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrycoffman45

yes more custom rom than root

After rebooting my phone I checked again and it is there, but now when I press on it to check it nothing happens. Not sure what is going on. I am running the Dynamic Rom 2.0 if that makes any difference
30th January 2014, 10:30 PM |#6  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 715
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kclive

After rebooting my phone I checked again and it is there, but now when I press on it to check it nothing happens. Not sure what is going on. I am running the Dynamic Rom 2.0 if that makes any difference

well for one thing you dont need system update with a custom rom if you are trying to get a update from your carrier it is best to be completly stock
30th January 2014, 10:36 PM |#7  
kclive's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ironton, Mn
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrycoffman45

well for one thing you dont need system update with a custom rom if you are trying to get a update from your carrier it is best to be completly stock

I am thinking about returning to stock. Trying to figure out how to do that using Kies right now

Thanks
30th January 2014, 10:43 PM |#8  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 715
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kclive

I am thinking about returning to stock. Trying to figure out how to do that using Kies right now

Thanks

if you rooted with kingo and flashed with bootstrap just wipe and retore your backup use kingo to unroot delete safestrap then factory reset
The Following User Says Thank You to jerrycoffman45 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th January 2014, 10:53 PM |#9  
kclive's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Ironton, Mn
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrycoffman45

if you rooted with kingo and flashed with bootstrap just wipe and retore your backup use kingo to unroot delete safestrap then factory reset

I am pretty sure I did use Kingo to root. Not too sure about the rest. I use safestrap to run the custom roms.

So, if I have this correct, unroot with kingo, delete safestrap, and then factory reset?

Thanks again for all of your help
30th January 2014, 10:59 PM |#10  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 715
 
More
Make sure that you wipe and restore your stock backup in safestrap recovery first

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 05:59 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:57 PM ----------

If you didn't make a back up you can use this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2619005

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes