Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,050 Members 43,113 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Guide] Unlocking bootloader on operator branded phones via omnius

Tip us?
 
matus201
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 169
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default [Guide] Unlocking bootloader on operator branded phones via omnius

Hi all,

If you have a locked bootloader on a branded phone (for example, from Rogers) normal BL (bootloader) unlocking methods will not work. Fortunately, there is a way to unlock your bootloader - it will, however, cost money.

I have a very good experience with Omnius. The program is simple and fast, and the whole process of unlocking the bootloader took less than 3 minutes. Here is how I did it:

go to Omnius downloads, and download Omnius for SE.
Install it. The installation includes all the drivers you need for this process.

Now you need to purchase credits. You can use any of the re-sellers listed here. I personally used GSMServer single unlock licence for 19 USD.

After about a day, you will get an email with username and password. This is your new Omnius account that has enough credits for one unlock. (I am not sure if it is only for BL unlock or also for SIM unlock.. It definitely works for BL unlock though.)

1. Now start Omnius. In the upper left corner choose your SE model.

2. In the server settings, enter the username and password you got from the reseller of your choice.

3.Next click on "Unlock", and select "Unlock bootloader". A picture guide appears that is super easy to follow - it tells you where the test point is, what to do, what to press, when to remove battery, everything. Few seconds later, your bootloader is unlocked!

Hope this worked for you guys!!

(I am in no way affiliated with Omnius, or any resellers listed on their website. I am simply summing up my experience, as I know that BL unlocking for branded phones is a bit of a problem. I hope I did not break any XDA rules by posting a guide involving a paid service!)
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to matus201 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
danisariandi
Old
#2  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 2,274
Posts: 3,097
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tangerang
Does it void warranty ?

Sent from my LT15i using xda premium
 
matus201
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 169
Join Date: Oct 2010
Yes it does. But I should have mentioned - this method LEAVES ALL DRM UNTOUCHED, so that by simply relocking BL nobody can find out you did anything with your phone I had my phone in repair 3 times, every single time with unlocked bootloader. I had no problem so far
 
danisariandi
Old
#4  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 2,274
Posts: 3,097
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tangerang
I just rooted. Does it void warranty instead ?

Sent from my LT15i using xda premium
 
xtacy!
Old
#5  
xtacy!'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 178
Posts: 836
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Muscat
Rooting doesn't void your warranty. Only unlocking your bootloader voids it.


Swyped from my SE Xperia arc (LT15i) using Tapatalk 2
~d(0_o)b~
|xtacy|

SE T300→T610→K700i→W810i→W950i→W960i→K770i→W995→Xperi a arcXperia ZL
+ Google Nexus 7
The Following User Says Thank You to xtacy! For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
danisariandi
Old
#6  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 2,274
Posts: 3,097
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tangerang
Because Sony Mobile was protected

Sent from my LT15i using xda premium
 
zolaisugly
Old
#7  
zolaisugly's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,093
Posts: 1,665
Join Date: Mar 2011
Don't matter, Sony don't recommend rooting, but it will not void warranty.

Sent from my LT15i using xda premium
 
zsirmo
Old
#8  
zsirmo's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 31
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Szeged
Best choise!
 
totalfailz
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Nov 2011
Does this require any special cable to be used for the test point method? I have seen people just use a paperclip but then I have also seen people use a cable attached to their USB cable, so I am not 100% sure on what I need to use.
 
DdcCabuslay
Old
#10  
DdcCabuslay's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,620
Posts: 1,421
Join Date: Feb 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by totalfailz View Post
Does this require any special cable to be used for the test point method? I have seen people just use a paperclip but then I have also seen people use a cable attached to their USB cable, so I am not 100% sure on what I need to use.
Nothing special; a paperclip will do.

Sent from my LT15a using xda app-developers app

Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc (LT15a/Xperia Overlay .43/UB)
Sony Xperia Tablet Z (SGP311/Stock 4.4.2 KK .230/Stock Kernel/UB)



Tags
bootloader, bootloader unlocking, omnius
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more

Android App Review: Control Your Phone with Quick Control Panel – XDA Developer TV

Your Android smart device has many features that you … more

Play Music on Android Wear with Stellio Music Player

Android Wear smartwatchesare growing inpopularity every day. Some devices have already … more

Schedule is up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more