Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,816 Members 38,911 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

imei and wifi problems after flashing custom rom

Tip us?
 
sam azan dominoes
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default imei and wifi problems after flashing custom rom

wifi & imei errors after flashing custom rom
i own a q mobile noir a2, if you are not familiar with the brand,its the same as micromax a 45(sold in india).it runs on gingerbread 2.3.6.


i recently rooted it but accidentaly deleted some stock apps which i wanted back.so i thought unroooting the device will maybe bring back my stock apps.

i unrooted it but what was deleted,stayed deleted.i decided to flash stock rom for noir a2.i did,got back all the apps,

ISSUE #1

but imei of my phone changed.i have tried many times to repair it with mtk droid tools,maui meta,sn write tool,imei fix., etc, but i dont succeed.my phone is not reading my sim cards at any cost.

when i take out both sims, and check with *#06# it shows the correct imei,which is written on the back of my phone. but as soon as i insert the sims and check imei,the imei 1 is invalid, and imei 2 is some incorrect imei.

please guide me how to get the networks back in my phone

ISSUE #2

my wifi also doesnot work after flashing the rom.it detects wifi network,attempts to connect,but never establishes a connection

also the engineer mode in my android doesnt have cds option(i found about this on internet that maybe this is a fix for my problem but it doesnt work for me.)

please guide me i am very new to this.looking forward to your help.
 
leodani
Old
#2  
leodani's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 169
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Florence
Your problem is that the custom ROM that you flashed messed up your /efs folder.... apparently some files of the ROM you installed changed some of these settings.... did you do a backup before flashing the ROM??

Sent from my GT-S5310 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to leodani For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sam azan dominoes
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default no backup

Quote:
Originally Posted by leodani View Post
Your problem is that the custom ROM that you flashed messed up your /efs folder.... apparently some files of the ROM you installed changed some of these settings.... did you do a backup before flashing the ROM??

Sent from my GT-S5310 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
no thats the main problem i didnot make any kind of backup before flashing another rom.please is there any other way i can fix my settings?thanks for reply ilve contributed to your thanks meter
 
sam azan dominoes
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default step by step instructions please?

Quote:
Originally Posted by leodani View Post
Your problem is that the custom ROM that you flashed messed up your /efs folder.... apparently some files of the ROM you installed changed some of these settings.... did you do a backup before flashing the ROM??

Sent from my GT-S5310 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
maui meta,mtk droid tools, i have tried them all.other users say these methods work.maybe i am making some mistake in the steps .
i read somewhere that while repairing imei both sims should be inserted in phone.
can you please tell me step by step what to do with these softwares?

ALSO

is the same problem causing my wifi not to work?or the wifi issue is because of kernel?
can you give me som insight what kernels are?what they do?
thanks
 
NickosD
Old
#5  
NickosD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 292
Posts: 1,473
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Amintaio - Divice: Samsung Galaxy Note II
Just flash stock rom again. It's the only way.
Sorry for my bad english, it's not my native language ^^
Rom: ★SONIC OPEN KANG PROJECT 》》SOKP★
Kernel: Plasma
The Following User Says Thank You to NickosD For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sam azan dominoes
Old
(Last edited by sam azan dominoes; 2nd February 2014 at 02:32 PM.) Reason: addition of wifi problem
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default about stock roms

Quote:
Originally Posted by NickosD View Post
Just flash stock rom again. It's the only way.
are stock roms the original roms which mobile companies give us pre-installed in our devices?
when we have a new device we donot get the imei problem. if stock roms are same as the pre-installed roms,then why so they give imei errorr after flashing?

also,does the imei error have to do something with wifi not working?why does wifi not work too?can you please throw some light on it.

confused
 
leodani
Old
#7  
leodani's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 169
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Florence
Yes.... stock roms are the roms that are installed when you buy the phone.... the wi fi problem and the imei problem ( i think) are not connected together even if they are found in the same folder ( that is /efs)

Sent from my GT-S5310 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to leodani For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sam azan dominoes
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default no cds option in mobile uncle tools

Quote:
Originally Posted by leodani View Post
Yes.... stock roms are the roms that are installed when you buy the phone.... the wi fi problem and the imei problem ( i think) are not connected together even if they are found in the same folder ( that is /efs)

Sent from my GT-S5310 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
i have fixed thew wifi issue,the mac address was messed up ,just fixed that and wifi works.

only network (imei)issue left.
i have heard that best software for getting imei back is mobile uncle tools.
tutorials say i have to enter engineer mode>cds option .in mobile uncle tools for this.
but there is no cds option in it.

any thoughts please?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes