Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Rooted and now having trouble flashing VZW roms??

OP drumrjoe

29th January 2014, 03:23 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
I bought a rooted gs3 on EBAY...

It is running liquidsmooth rom.. I have tried flashing some other VZW roms (esp. want to try out kit-kat roms) and I get an error during the flashing process..

See attached image...

Did I get taken on Ebay??? Not sure what I am doing wrong...

Thanks in advance for any help

Drumrjoe
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-01-28 15.22.53.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	259.8 KB
ID:	2545654  
Last edited by drumrjoe; 29th January 2014 at 03:51 AM. Reason: trying to get picture in msg
29th January 2014, 03:26 AM   |  #2  
ProtheusIRC's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Thomasville
Thanks Meter: 55
 
393 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
The photo isn't loading on my end. What was the error message?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
29th January 2014, 03:55 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProtheusIRC

The photo isn't loading on my end. What was the error message?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk


I just reloaded and the image is showing now, but here is what concerns me about the error msg:

"This package is for "d2vzw" devices: This is a "d2spr".

I was sold a verizon SCH-I535..

The sticker under the battery says it's a SCH-I535

so i am a little confused by the error msg during the flashing process
29th January 2014, 04:01 AM   |  #4  
ProtheusIRC's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Thomasville
Thanks Meter: 55
 
393 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
You're on Sprint?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 09:01 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:00 PM ----------

That's a Sprint S3 and you're trying to flash a Verizon ROM to it. That's the problem lol.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
29th January 2014, 04:03 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
nope, I am on verizon

and trying to flash a vzw rom



Quote:
Originally Posted by ProtheusIRC

You're on Sprint?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 09:01 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:00 PM ----------

That's a Sprint S3 and you're trying to flash a Verizon ROM to it. That's the problem lol.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

29th January 2014, 04:06 AM   |  #6  
ProtheusIRC's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Thomasville
Thanks Meter: 55
 
393 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
You are mistaken. Your recovery stated "This package is for 'd2vzw' devices; this is a 'd2spr'". Your phone is Sprint, my friend...

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 09:06 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:05 PM ----------

Go to Settings, About Phone, and look at the model number.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
29th January 2014, 04:15 AM   |  #7  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,036
 
5,595 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Either it's your build.prop OR its the recovery cuz that's an outdated CWM. You'll need to update it to at least CWM 6.0.4.x to flash any KitKat rom. Just triple check that you see SCH-I535 d2vzw in the build.prop (which is in /System) before going further. I find it hard to believe the seller perfectly replaced the sticker behind the battery.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 4
29th January 2014, 04:16 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
ok, Now I am really confused!

Please see pics I just took.

Also, thank you very much for your help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by ProtheusIRC

You are mistaken. Your recovery stated "This package is for 'd2vzw' devices; this is a 'd2spr'". Your phone is Sprint, my friend...

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 09:06 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:05 PM ----------

Go to Settings, About Phone, and look at the model number.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-01-28 21.12.20.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	250.5 KB
ID:	2545731   Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-01-28 21.11.54.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	229.1 KB
ID:	2545732  
29th January 2014, 04:18 AM   |  #9  
ProtheusIRC's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Thomasville
Thanks Meter: 55
 
393 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
That is weird. It could be the build.prop or out dated cwm. What version of CWM are you running?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
29th January 2014, 04:24 AM   |  #10  
Stranger_84's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag north baltimore
Thanks Meter: 58
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
The cwm recovery is too outdated needs to be the latest to flash 4.4 ... But yes odd statement by the recovery failure

Sent from my SCH-I535 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

The Following User Says Thank You to Stranger_84 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes