FORUMS

Mysterious GG1 Google Device Stops by FCC. Glass v2?

As the year progresses, we draw further away from Google’s annual I/O … more

Material and Material Dark Hit Samsung’s Theme Store

The latest version of Touchwiz, launched alongside the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge, … more

Swappa’s New App Helps You Value Your Device

There comes a sad time in everyone’s life where you must part ways with your … more

Xiaomi Sold 34.7 Million Phones In 6 Months

2015 has been a phenomenal year for Xiaomi so far. With a stellar rise in 2014, 2015 saw … more

[Q] Just moved up to the s4

105 posts
Thanks Meter: 3
 
By m4gkman, Senior Member on 31st January 2014, 10:22 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
hey guys, so My s3 died two days ago and I just got my s4. Ive been looking at how to root, but it seems like its a bit more difficult because of knox? Im running current firmware with VRUEMK2. Thoughts on easy ways to root and unlock the boot loader?
 
 
31st January 2014, 10:24 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 343
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by m4gkman

hey guys, so My s3 died two days ago and I just got my s4. Ive been looking at how to root, but it seems like its a bit more difficult because of knox? Im running current firmware with VRUEMK2. Thoughts on easy ways to root and unlock the boot loader?

Root: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2565758

Can't unlock the bootloader. Research Safestrap. It's your only option.
31st January 2014, 10:26 PM |#3  
m4gkman's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by riker147

Root: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2565758

Can't unlock the bootloader. Research Safestrap. It's your only option.

so safestrap is the only way ill be able to flash other roms?
31st January 2014, 10:31 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 343
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by m4gkman

so safestrap is the only way ill be able to flash other roms?

With MK2 build? Yes.....the ONLY way.
31st January 2014, 10:33 PM |#5  
m4gkman's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by riker147

With MK2 build? Yes.....the ONLY way.

so hypothetically, if i was to do a factory reset, it would bring me back to the stock original firmware and i would have to re install ally he software updates. Which would be the best too stay on for my situation?
31st January 2014, 10:36 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 343
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by m4gkman

so hypothetically, if i was to do a factory reset, it would bring me back to the stock original firmware and i would have to re install ally he software updates. Which would be the best too stay on for my situation?

If you're talking about reverting to an older build, forget it. It's impossible. All of your questions have been asked and answered many times. I suggest you do some research. This is a good place to start. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2606501
The Following User Says Thank You to riker147 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
root, root and unlock, vruemk2
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes