Best Alarm App for Android?

There are tons of choices to choose from when looking for a great alarm app for Android. While the stock … more

Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q]VS980 SIM Lock?

23rd October 2013, 03:15 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
I just bought a used VS980. I don't use a Verizon's CDMA UIM card. GSM SIM card inserted it can work, but the non-Verizon CDMA card inserted it shows "no service". Is it locked by Verizon? Dialing enter the code "2945#*980#", the phone displays "Connection problem or invalid MMI code", so even if I get an unlock code, how should I input the code?
23rd October 2013, 03:17 PM   |  #2  
manojsuper's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
503 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Put in another carrier sim and the phone will prompt for a unlock code.

Sent from my LG-D800 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
23rd October 2013, 03:25 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by manojsuper

Put in another carrier sim and the phone will prompt for a unlock code.

Sent from my LG-D800 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

If insert another carrier GSM sim, it works fine. But insert another carrier CDMA uim, the phone just says "no service", and doesn't prompt for any code.
23rd October 2013, 04:09 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Santo Domingo
Thanks Meter: 10
 
166 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
This phone does not work with CDMA sim cards.

Sent from my LG G2 using xda app-developers app
24th October 2013, 12:13 AM   |  #5  
droid_<3er's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 88
 
378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by honentan

If insert another carrier GSM sim, it works fine. But insert another carrier CDMA uim, the phone just says "no service", and doesn't prompt for any code.

Quite sure that the point of CDMA is that you can't use any other carrier's CDMA sim...

You're thinking of GSM. You can use pretty much all GSM sims in the VS980 because 4G Verizon phones come as "World Phones". No phone can handle CDMA cards from different carriers.
24th October 2013, 01:12 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by XanoZuke

This phone does not work with CDMA sim cards.

Sent from my LG G2 using xda app-developers app


There's no such thing as a CDMA sim card. LTE uses sim cards, which is why the VS980 has a sim card slot.
24th October 2013, 01:16 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Santo Domingo
Thanks Meter: 10
 
166 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by antinorm

There's no such thing as a CDMA sim card. LTE uses sim cards, which is why the VS980 has a sim card slot.

There are some carriers outside of US that use CDMA/LTE sim cards, they are used to register on both networks, much like GSM but use CDMA access.

Sent from my LG G2 using xda app-developers app
24th October 2013, 01:37 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by droid_<3er

Quite sure that the point of CDMA is that you can't use any other carrier's CDMA sim...

You're thinking of GSM. You can use pretty much all GSM sims in the VS980 because 4G Verizon phones come as "World Phones". No phone can handle CDMA cards from different carriers.

My friend owned another vs980. And, ChinaTelecom CDMA uim card works fine on his phone. I think that my phone was locked of some type simlock by Verizon.
24th October 2013, 06:29 AM   |  #9  
droid_<3er's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 88
 
378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by honentan

My friend owned another vs980. And, ChinaTelecom CDMA uim card works fine on his phone. I think that my phone was locked of some type simlock by Verizon.

Maybe your sim just happens to be incompatible. Try another sim, possibly from a different carrier? Because any non-Verizon CDMA isn't supposed to work on this phone.
26th October 2013, 02:52 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Contact
It seems a contract device of Verizon, so it was been locked by Verizon. It can not be unlocked right now!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
sim locked, vs980
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes