Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,784,161 Members 41,742 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Pantech Element TWRP Recovery and Stock Rooted Roms

Tip us?
 
jmz
Old
#1  
jmz's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 4,237
Posts: 3,480
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Virginia Beach

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Pantech Element TWRP Recovery and Stock Rooted Roms

This is TWRP recovery and Stock rooted roms for the ICS firmware on the tablet.

These will only work if you currently have ICS running on your tablet. If you still have honeycomb then do the upgrade first.

Nothing was added or removed from the stock roms besides root and busybox.

Only bug with TWRP is that you can't mount sdcard in recovery. Just use adb push.


Instructions for installing TWRP Recovery:

1. Ensure you have Android SDK installed with adb and fastboot working

2. Download both the twrprecovery.img and twrprecovery.zip from here

3. Copy twrprecovery.zip to external sdcard

4. Reboot tablet to bootloader by issuing the command "adb reboot bootloader"

5. Then "fastboot boot twrprecovery.img"

6. When in recovery choose install then browse to /sdcard and choose twrprecovery.zip and flash that zip

7. Now TWRP is installed permanently.


Thanks:
attn1 - gave me some help since I am new to pantech devices
Dees_troy - for TWRP code obviously
Tassadar - for his rotation code for twrp. Without this it wouldn't have been possible
If you like my work feel free to donate
Follow me on Twitter


The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to jmz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jmz
Old
(Last edited by jmz; 10th May 2013 at 12:20 AM.)
#2  
jmz's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 4,237
Posts: 3,480
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Virginia Beach

 
DONATE TO ME
Disclaimer: Flash this ROM at your own risk. I am not responsible for what you do on your device. I left this stock to provide a base for anybody that wants to use it. Mod this rom how you want. Just please remember to give credit where credit is due.


This is a pure stock rooted rom. It has items like busybox, init.d support and so forth. No apps were added or removed. Both Odexed and Deodexed versions below.


Downloads
If you like my work feel free to donate
Follow me on Twitter


The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jmz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jmz
Old
#3  
jmz's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 4,237
Posts: 3,480
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Virginia Beach

 
DONATE TO ME
just in case i need another
If you like my work feel free to donate
Follow me on Twitter


 
mavblues
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 64
Join Date: Nov 2008
Once I reboot into fastboot, I am getting 'cannot load twrprecovery.img': no error

Any ideas? I even created a directory named tools in the adb directory on my computer and moved twrprecovery.img into it.
(Thought that might help).

Where is the twrprecovery.img file supposed to reside? (On the computer, or on the phone?)
 
jmz
Old
#5  
jmz's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 4,237
Posts: 3,480
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Virginia Beach

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mavblues View Post
Once I reboot into fastboot, I am getting 'cannot load twrprecovery.img': no error

Any ideas? I even created a directory named tools in the adb directory on my computer and moved twrprecovery.img into it.
(Thought that might help).

Where is the twrprecovery.img file supposed to reside? (On the computer, or on the phone?)
On the computer. your command prompt should be at wherever you put twrprecovery.img file is. So for example you put twrprecovery.img at the root of c:, your command prompt should read c:/ .....

Sent from my M7 using xda premium
If you like my work feel free to donate
Follow me on Twitter


 
mavblues
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 64
Join Date: Nov 2008
Tada!!!

Thanks, you rock!

---------- Post added at 01:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:10 PM ----------

OK, stupid question:

How do you reboot to TWRP? It loaded the first time, and I did a backup.

After reboot, I can only seem to get into the standard recovery.

What is the button combination to get to TWRP?

Also, will we be able to use goo manager to update TWRP as new versions come out, or is this a custom version?

TIA
 
jmz
Old
#7  
jmz's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 4,237
Posts: 3,480
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Virginia Beach

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mavblues View Post
Tada!!!

Thanks, you rock!

---------- Post added at 01:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:10 PM ----------

OK, stupid question:

How do you reboot to TWRP? It loaded the first time, and I did a backup.

After reboot, I can only seem to get into the standard recovery.

What is the button combination to get to TWRP?

Also, will we be able to use goo manager to update TWRP as new versions come out, or is this a custom version?

TIA
Read the instructions. You HAVE to flash the zip I provided for recovery to be installed permanently.

This recovery required some special code for screen rotation. Dees_troy is working on getting it added to mainline. So right now you can't get it through goo manager. But I work closely with Dees to make sure all my builds are officially supported. I will post here when it becomes available through there

Sent from my M7 using xda premium
If you like my work feel free to donate
Follow me on Twitter


The Following User Says Thank You to jmz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mavblues
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 64
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmztaylor View Post
Read the instructions. You HAVE to flash the zip I provided for recovery to be installed permanently.

This recovery required some special code for screen rotation. Dees_troy is working on getting it added to mainline. So right now you can't get it through goo manager. But I work closely with Dees to make sure all my builds are officially supported. I will post here when it becomes available through there

Sent from my M7 using xda premium
Got it - working great!
 
dagadu
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2009
I'm stuck on fastboot mode. <waiting on device>
I tried unplug/replug USB to different connector, and it's still on <waiting for device>
I even tried to install driver manually from each files pantech folder and still no response
TWRP is on same folder and also set on environment variable
I have done adb devices and it detects as PORORO03111xxxxxxxxxxx
Any suggestion guys?
 
jmz
Old
#10  
jmz's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator - OP
Thanks Meter 4,237
Posts: 3,480
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Virginia Beach

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dagadu View Post
I'm stuck on fastboot mode. <waiting on device>
I tried unplug/replug USB to different connector, and it's still on <waiting for device>
I even tried to install driver manually from each files pantech folder and still no response
TWRP is on same folder and also set on environment variable
I have done adb devices and it detects as PORORO03111xxxxxxxxxxx
Any suggestion guys?
Waiting on device in fastboot means drivers aren't installed or the wrong ones are. Download the software upgrade app from pantech site then install. Browse to the install directory and run the installer for the drivers. But before that uninstall whatever drivers you have installed currently. I'm mobile or else I would link you directly

Sent from my M7 using xda premium
If you like my work feel free to donate
Follow me on Twitter



The Following User Says Thank You to jmz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes