FORUMS

☆☆[MOD][GUIDE] - How to build/default Screen Animation speed to .25x!!☆☆

3,387 posts
Thanks Meter: 9,719
 
By bajasur, Forum Moderator on 5th February 2014, 08:29 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
[How To][Guide] Change Default Window Animation Scales and Build in New scales

As many of you know, defaulting animation scales is no longer located in SecSettingsProvider.apk res/values/fractions.xml as of Android 4.3 and up...Below is how to accomplish this natively and default your speeds to .5x on first boot.



This guide is now for the .25x MOD.


Baksmali services.jar and Navigate to /com/android/server/wm/WindowManagerService.smali
Look for iput-object v9, p0, Lcom/android/server/wm/WindowManagerService;->mFocusedApp:Lcom/android/server/wm/AppWindowToken;

Orignal Code
Code:
 iput-object v14, v0, Lcom/android/server/wm/WindowManagerService;->mFocusedApp:Lcom/android/server/wm/AppWindowToken;

    const/high16 v14, 0x3f800000

    move-object/from16 v0, p0

    iput v14, v0, Lcom/android/server/wm/WindowManagerService;->mWindowAnimationScale:F

    const/high16 v14, 0x3f800000

    move-object/from16 v0, p0

    iput v14, v0, Lcom/android/server/wm/WindowManagerService;->mTransitionAnimationScale:F

    const/high16 v14, 0x3f800000

    move-object/from16 v0, p0

    iput v14, v0, Lcom/android/server/wm/WindowManagerService;->mTransitionAnimationScaleOld:F

    const/high16 v14, 0x3f800000

    move-object/from16 v0, p0

Change to:

Code:
 iput-object v9, p0, Lcom/android/server/wm/WindowManagerService;->mFocusedApp:Lcom/android/server/wm/AppWindowToken;

     .line 619
    const/high16 v9, 0x3e800000

    iput v9, p0, Lcom/android/server/wm/WindowManagerService;->mWindowAnimationScale:F

    .line 620
    const/high16 v9, 0x3e800000

    iput v9, p0, Lcom/android/server/wm/WindowManagerService;->mTransitionAnimationScale:F

    .line 621
    const/high16 v9, 0x3e800000

    iput v9, p0, Lcom/android/server/wm/WindowManagerService;->mAnimatorDurationScale:F

    .line 633
Make sure to do a full wipe in order to see the animation scales change, this mod will not work if you just push services.jar to system/framework, requires a clean flash



Now, How to Build in New Animation Scales (.25X)

Decompile SecSettings.apk and navigate to res/values/arrays

Look for

Code:
        Animation off
        Animation scale 0.5x
        Animation scale 1x
        Animation scale 1.5x
        Animation scale 2x
        Animation scale 5x
        Animation scale 10x
    
    
        0
        .5
        1
        1.5
        2
        5
        10
    
    
        Animation off
        Animation scale 0.5x
        Animation scale 1x
        Animation scale 1.5x
        Animation scale 2x
        Animation scale 5x
        Animation scale 10x
    
    
        0
        .5
        1
        1.5
        2
        5
        10
    
    
        Animation off
        Animation scale 0.5x
        Animation scale 1x
        Animation scale 1.5x
        Animation scale 2x
        Animation scale 5x
        Animation scale 10x
    
    
        0
        0.5
        1
        1.5
        2
        5
        10
Change to:

Code:
        Animation off
Animation scale 0.25x
        Animation scale 0.5x
        Animation scale 1x
        Animation scale 1.5x
        Animation scale 2x
        Animation scale 5x
        Animation scale 10x
    
    
        0
.25
        .5
        1
        1.5
        2
        5
        10
    
    
        Animation off
Animation scale 0.25x
        Animation scale 0.5x
        Animation scale 1x
        Animation scale 1.5x
        Animation scale 2x
        Animation scale 5x
        Animation scale 10x
    
    
        0
.25
        .5
        1
        1.5
        2
        5
        10
    
    
        Animation off
Animation scale 0.25x
        Animation scale 0.5x
        Animation scale 1x
        Animation scale 1.5x
        Animation scale 2x
        Animation scale 5x
        Animation scale 10x
    
    
        0
0.25
        0.5
        1
        1.5
        2
        5
        10


Now....Depending on your country, you may have have to navigate to a separate folder. But for the US, go to Res/values-en-rUS/Arrays

Look for

Code:
 
        Animation is off
        Animation scale 0.5x
        Animation scale 1x
        Animation scale 1.5x
        Animation scale 2x
        Animation scale 5x
        Animation scale 10x
    
    
        Animation is off
        Animation scale 0.5x
        Animation scale 1x
        Animation scale 1.5x
        Animation scale 2x
        Animation scale 5x
        Animation scale 10x
    
    
        Animation is off
        Animation scale 0.5x
        Animation scale 1x
        Animation scale 1.5x
        Animation scale 2x
        Animation scale 5x
        Animation scale 10x


Change to:

Code:
  
        Animation is off
Animation scale 0.25x
        Animation scale 0.5x
        Animation scale 1x
        Animation scale 1.5x
        Animation scale 2x
        Animation scale 5x
        Animation scale 10x
    
    
        Animation is off
Animation scale 0.25x
        Animation scale 0.5x
        Animation scale 1x
        Animation scale 1.5x
        Animation scale 2x
        Animation scale 5x
        Animation scale 10x
    
    
        Animation is off
Animation scale 0.25x
        Animation scale 0.5x
        Animation scale 1x
        Animation scale 1.5x
        Animation scale 2x
        Animation scale 5x
        Animation scale 10x



Thats it! Enjoy!

Happy 4th of July!

Last edited by bajasur; 25th April 2015 at 07:27 PM.
The Following 25 Users Say Thank You to bajasur For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
5th February 2014, 01:39 PM |#2  
dwitherell's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 9,440
 
Donate to Me
More
Fwiw - depending on the version of baksmali that is used (for whatever reason I keep using 1.4.2 lol) things like:
Code:
    const/high16 v14, 0x3f800000
...may actually look like:
Code:
    const/high16 v14, 0x3f80
Just throwing that out there

Nice work on hunting this down @bajasur!
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to dwitherell For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th February 2014, 03:33 PM |#3  
bajasur's Avatar
OP Forum Moderator
Flag San Clemente
Thanks Meter: 9,719
 
Donate to Me
More
Thanks for clearing that up! And I have to thank @Cl3Kener again for his hard work in locating this awesome mod.

Sent from my SM-N900V using xda app-developers app
Last edited by bajasur; 5th February 2014 at 03:50 PM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to bajasur For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th February 2014, 05:56 PM |#4  
bajasur's Avatar
OP Forum Moderator
Flag San Clemente
Thanks Meter: 9,719
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by csstamatin

What's the difference between this and using the developer settings menu to adjust the animations speeds?

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

This will bake it into the ROM so that when you first boot up it is already defaulted to .5x

Sent from my SM-N900V using xda app-developers app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bajasur For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th February 2014, 06:09 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
But when I set it in dev settings it stays that way on a reboot. It doesn't change for me or anything. Stays at 0, which is what I prefer. Just asking. Thx

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to csstamatin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th February 2014, 07:03 PM |#6  
eZdubzitmk4's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag RI
Thanks Meter: 4,222
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by csstamatin

But when I set it in dev settings it stays that way on a reboot. It doesn't change for me or anything. Stays at 0, which is what I prefer. Just asking. Thx

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

The whole point of it is so you don't have to do it yourself. Jeez.

Most people like .5 that's why he did it

Sent from my SGH-I317 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to eZdubzitmk4 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th February 2014, 04:47 AM |#7  
ThdDude's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kansas City
Thanks Meter: 4,842
 
Donate to Me
More
I will give CL3 a link to this, he is no longer a part of XDA
The Following User Says Thank You to ThdDude For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th February 2014, 08:38 AM |#8  
Scott's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Fargo
Thanks Meter: 65,495
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by csstamatin

But when I set it in dev settings it stays that way on a reboot. It doesn't change for me or anything. Stays at 0, which is what I prefer. Just asking. Thx

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

Its not for end users its for developers who build ROMS.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Scott For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th February 2014, 11:00 AM |#9  
Quote:
Originally Posted by csstamatin

But when I set it in dev settings it stays that way on a reboot. It doesn't change for me or anything. Stays at 0, which is what I prefer. Just asking. Thx

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

This is for Dev to bake into a ROM, a pre-set per say. Thus why its posted in Android Dev sir..

He is sharing a dev mod.. not a user mod..
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Gunthermic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th February 2014, 08:54 PM |#10  
KennyG123's Avatar
Moderator Committee Lead / RC-RT Committee / Spider-Mod
Flag Right behind you!
Thanks Meter: 34,660
 
Donate to Me
More
Thread cleaned
This is in the exact right place it is supposed to be
Please read the sticky
The Dev only subforum is ONLY for developers to solve problems
Not for releasing any work
Thank you for your cooperation
Friendly Neighborhood Senior Moderator
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to KennyG123 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th February 2014, 07:53 AM |#11  
Scott's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Fargo
Thanks Meter: 65,495
 
Donate to Me
More
Some people's kids, I swear!

Thanks Kenney!
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Scott For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes