Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,962 Members 39,575 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] cant unbirck help please

Tip us?
 
joshuadrivin
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Pontotoc
Question [Q] cant unbirck help please

so my friend download an app and didn't read anything about it before he installed the app. The app was suppose to replace the home launcher but he was suppose to install another app before he installed it but he didn't. I have tried Odin, Kies, and Heimdall with no luck. I have tried them on different computers and with different cables. His phone is a SGH-I337, yes it is rooted but only for one app that was installed that doesn't affect anything. But now it only go to the download screen with the android man even when booted up normally it only fails the [auth] on Odin and it wouldn't even connect to Kies. Any help would be GREAT, he is only giving me 2 day to try and fix it for him then he is going to buy a new phone. Thanks in advance EVEN IF ITS JUST GUESS I'll still give it a try.
 
jd1639
Old
#2  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3070
Posts: 9,117
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
What app did you try to install and what firmware are you on. Odin should work if you use the right firmware.

Sent from my Nexus 5
 
JTrocks
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 27
Join Date: Feb 2014
If the phone is running either the MK2 or MF3 baseband then my thread here may be able to help you. Check ted77usa's post (the last reply on the first page) for how I fixed my phone.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to JTrocks For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
joshuadrivin
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Pontotoc
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
What app did you try to install and what firmware are you on. Odin should work if you use the right firmware.

Sent from my Nexus 5
I dont remember what app he tried to install, only that it was suppose to change his home screen. As far as what firnware he is on I have no clue cause I have no way to find out and he is no help hell he doesnt know the his ass from a hole in the ground when i ask him.
 
jd1639
Old
#5  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3070
Posts: 9,117
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshuadrivin View Post
I dont remember what app he tried to install, only that it was suppose to change his home screen. As far as what firnware he is on I have no clue cause I have no way to find out and he is no help hell he doesnt know the his ass from a hole in the ground when i ask him.
I would start with the mf3 tar files in odin. If they don't work try the mk2 tar file

Sent from my Nexus 5
 
joshuadrivin
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Pontotoc
Quote:
Originally Posted by JTrocks View Post
If the phone is running either the MK2 or MF3 baseband then my thread here may be able to help you. Check ted77usa's post (the last reply on the first page) for how I fixed my phone.
thanks im downloading his files now but im at a crappy hotel so its going to take over an hour ill let u know how it goes, u never know u couldve just saved him $200
 
joshuadrivin
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Pontotoc
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
I would start with the mf3 tar files in odin. If they don't work try the mk2 tar file

Sent from my Nexus 5
correct me if I'm but cant i just run the mk2 no matter what firmware he is on, doesnt it supersede the others
 
jd1639
Old
#8  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3070
Posts: 9,117
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshuadrivin View Post
correct me if I'm but cant i just run the mk2 no matter what firmware he is on, doesnt it supersede the others
Yes, but he'll have less options in flashing roms if he's interested in that. Otherwise just flash the mk2

Sent from my Nexus 5
 
joshuadrivin
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Pontotoc
Quote:
Originally Posted by jd1639 View Post
Yes, but he'll have less options in flashing roms if he's interested in that. Otherwise just flash the mk2

Sent from my Nexus 5
he not like me, he doesnt flash roms. im hoping the file JTrocks posed about will finally work on his phone cause so far i have tried 5 others and they all fail in the same spot, i dont know if it has anything to do with the fact that his phone has best buys security on it
 
jd1639
Old
#10  
jd1639's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3070
Posts: 9,117
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshuadrivin View Post
he not like me, he doesnt flash roms. im hoping the file JTrocks posed about will finally work on his phone cause so far i have tried 5 others and they all fail in the same spot, i dont know if it has anything to do with the fact that his phone has best buys security on it
Never heard of best buys security. Worst comes to worse you could take it to a best buy with a Samsung experience and they can flash it.

Sent from my Nexus 5

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Rotation Lets You Take Full Control of Your Device’s Orientation Settings

To be brutally honest, the native options for screen … more

Change the Alarm Icon in the Status Bar with Xposed

It’s hard to find a more hated object than your alarm clock. They wake us up nearly … more

Return to Outer Space Outer Space with Ship Up Game

Since the release of Flappy Birds, we’ve had the “fortune” to see … more

Device Review: OnePlus One

Seemingly every day, there are a bunch of new devices being released. Some are budget devices and some are … more