Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,995 Members 49,954 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HTC One Looks Dead/Bricked - What to do next

Tip us?
 
diceman725
Old
(Last edited by diceman725; 9th February 2014 at 09:11 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 168
Join Date: Jun 2006
Default HTC One Looks Dead/Bricked - What to do next

*** SOLVED - Problem was my own stupidity ***


Got the HTC One a couple of days ago. Came back to Android after a few months on iPhone. Figured I'd jump right back into rooting and flashing custom ROMs.

Anyway, unlocked the phone, wanted to install Android Revolution 51, tried to upgrade firmware, and that's when things went sideways. Now, I can't do anything. Can Fastboot, but can't ADB. Have tried to load every driver in the book, but to no avail. CID is CWS_001 if that helps. Have been at this for a day and a half now. I need ideas.

thoughts?
 
SaHiLzZ
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 417
Posts: 1,724
Join Date: Jan 2011
Does it get detected on your window device manager when you plug it in?

sent from my mobile device
 
diceman725
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 168
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaHiLzZ View Post
Does it get detected on your window device manager when you plug it in?

sent from my mobile device
Yes. It shows up under Android USB Devices and says "My HTC"
 
Iz3man
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 104
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by diceman725 View Post
Yes. It shows up under Android USB Devices and says "My HTC"
Then you should be able to restore it with ADB... No idea how yet, but as far as I know your not completely dead here.... I may however be completely out to lunch here...
 
diceman725
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 168
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iz3man View Post
Then you should be able to restore it with ADB... No idea how yet, but as far as I know your not completely dead here.... I may however be completely out to lunch here...
Would be very grateful. I agree, it would seem logical that I could ADB my way out, but at the moment, ADB doesn't recognize the device.
 
Zedrox
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2014
It does sound more like a recognition issue than a hardware problem to me. Also, correct me if I'm wrong but wouldn't you be using fastboot rather than adb to get out of this situation? Adb is pretty much only usefull with a booted rom in my experience.

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk 2
 
diceman725
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 168
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zedrox View Post
It does sound more like a recognition issue than a hardware problem to me. Also, correct me if I'm wrong but wouldn't you be using fastboot rather than adb to get out of this situation? Adb is pretty much only usefull with a booted rom in my experience.

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk 2
I don't have a ROM loaded in the Virtual SD. And unless I'm mistaken, I can really only use ADB sideload at this point to load one up
 
Zedrox
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2014
Can you get into basic HTC recovery on the phone? I'm assuming you can if you can get fastboot working.

If so can't you just reflash a actual recovery from there, and then a rom from that? Apologies if this is completely irrelevant, I base all my android knowledge off my Desire.

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk 2
 
SaHiLzZ
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 417
Posts: 1,724
Join Date: Jan 2011
Adb reboot

sent from my mobile device
 
Iz3man
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 104
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zedrox View Post
It does sound more like a recognition issue than a hardware problem to me. Also, correct me if I'm wrong but wouldn't you be using fastboot rather than adb to get out of this situation? Adb is pretty much only usefull with a booted rom in my experience.

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk 2
Yeah now it does. I know if windows can see it you should be OK.
Try adb reboot recovery or adb reboot bootloader
Right be able to get into something there.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes