FORUMS

HTC One Looks Dead/Bricked - What to do next

182 posts
Thanks Meter: 6
 
By diceman725, Senior Member on 8th February 2014, 08:58 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
*** SOLVED - Problem was my own stupidity ***


Got the HTC One a couple of days ago. Came back to Android after a few months on iPhone. Figured I'd jump right back into rooting and flashing custom ROMs.

Anyway, unlocked the phone, wanted to install Android Revolution 51, tried to upgrade firmware, and that's when things went sideways. Now, I can't do anything. Can Fastboot, but can't ADB. Have tried to load every driver in the book, but to no avail. CID is CWS_001 if that helps. Have been at this for a day and a half now. I need ideas.

thoughts?
Last edited by diceman725; 9th February 2014 at 09:11 AM.
 
 
8th February 2014, 09:07 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 477
 
More
Does it get detected on your window device manager when you plug it in?

sent from my mobile device
8th February 2014, 09:27 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaHiLzZ

Does it get detected on your window device manager when you plug it in?

sent from my mobile device

Yes. It shows up under Android USB Devices and says "My HTC"
8th February 2014, 09:57 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by diceman725

Yes. It shows up under Android USB Devices and says "My HTC"

Then you should be able to restore it with ADB... No idea how yet, but as far as I know your not completely dead here.... I may however be completely out to lunch here...
8th February 2014, 10:14 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iz3man

Then you should be able to restore it with ADB... No idea how yet, but as far as I know your not completely dead here.... I may however be completely out to lunch here...

Would be very grateful. I agree, it would seem logical that I could ADB my way out, but at the moment, ADB doesn't recognize the device.
8th February 2014, 10:20 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
It does sound more like a recognition issue than a hardware problem to me. Also, correct me if I'm wrong but wouldn't you be using fastboot rather than adb to get out of this situation? Adb is pretty much only usefull with a booted rom in my experience.

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk 2
8th February 2014, 10:26 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zedrox

It does sound more like a recognition issue than a hardware problem to me. Also, correct me if I'm wrong but wouldn't you be using fastboot rather than adb to get out of this situation? Adb is pretty much only usefull with a booted rom in my experience.

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk 2

I don't have a ROM loaded in the Virtual SD. And unless I'm mistaken, I can really only use ADB sideload at this point to load one up
8th February 2014, 10:41 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Can you get into basic HTC recovery on the phone? I'm assuming you can if you can get fastboot working.

If so can't you just reflash a actual recovery from there, and then a rom from that? Apologies if this is completely irrelevant, I base all my android knowledge off my Desire.

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk 2
8th February 2014, 11:05 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 477
 
More
Adb reboot

sent from my mobile device
8th February 2014, 11:19 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zedrox

It does sound more like a recognition issue than a hardware problem to me. Also, correct me if I'm wrong but wouldn't you be using fastboot rather than adb to get out of this situation? Adb is pretty much only usefull with a booted rom in my experience.

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk 2

Yeah now it does. I know if windows can see it you should be OK.
Try adb reboot recovery or adb reboot bootloader
Right be able to get into something there.
8th February 2014, 11:22 PM |#11  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iz3man

Yeah now it does. I know if windows can see it you should be OK.
Try adb reboot recovery or adb reboot bootloader
Right be able to get into something there.

Problem is I can't get into ADB. It doesn't recognize the device. Going to try to flash a recovery and see if that works.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes