Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] tablet won't turn off for replacing digitizer

OP georgeBoy2

10th February 2014, 08:31 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Hi,
My tf300t got its screen cracked so touch screen is non functional.
I'm trying to turn it off so I can open the case, but it always reboots no matter what I try!
Tried long pressing the power button for 30 seconds but it always reboot after 8 seconds.

Any suggestions? I don't want to open it up while it's on .

Can I shut it down from fastboot mode?
10th February 2014, 08:35 PM   |  #2  
cmendonc2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 386
 
1,110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgeBoy2

Hi,
My tf300t got its screen cracked so touch screen is non functional.
I'm trying to turn it off so I can open the case, but it always reboots no matter what I try!
Tried long pressing the power button for 30 seconds but it always reboot after 8 seconds.

Any suggestions? I don't want to open it up while it's on .

Can I shut it down from fastboot mode?

I remember there was a manual Power off option in TWRP (idk if it is still there). Have you tried that?
10th February 2014, 09:21 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmendonc2

I remember there was a manual Power off option in TWRP (idk if it is still there). Have you tried that?

I have the stock bootloader - it says
Code:
"Adroid cardhu-user bootloader (1.00 e) released by "WW_epad_10.4.2.9-20120809" A03
I'm inclined against flashing a bootloader (only as last resort).
I am able to get into fastboot and issue fastboot commands. will that help?

"fastboot reboot" only reboots..

by the way, the device is still locked (getvar returns "unlocked: no")..
Last edited by georgeBoy2; 10th February 2014 at 09:27 PM.
10th February 2014, 09:26 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 122
 
533 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgeBoy2

Hi,
My tf300t got its screen cracked so touch screen is non functional.
I'm trying to turn it off so I can open the case, but it always reboots no matter what I try!
Tried long pressing the power button for 30 seconds but it always reboot after 8 seconds.

Any suggestions? I don't want to open it up while it's on .

Can I shut it down from fastboot mode?

How did you turn it off if the touchscreen wasn't working? By pressing the power button would cause it to reboot endlessly. If you don't have a dock or adapter to power off properly, one thing I did before was to click the reset button (through the hole below the SD card slot) and press the power button simultaneously, then keep holding the power button for 10 seconds after releasing the reset. It did turn off the tab completely. Failing that, just pop off the back cover and turn off the service switch. The cover is not connected to anything electronic so it's ok. That'd cut off the current to the tab. It can be done, just be careful.
10th February 2014, 09:40 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by graphdarnell

How did you turn it off if the touchscreen wasn't working? By pressing the power button would cause it to reboot endlessly. If you don't have a dock or adapter to power off properly, one thing I did before was to click the reset button (through the hole below the SD card slot) and press the power button simultaneously, then keep holding the power button for 10 seconds after releasing the reset. It did turn off the tab completely. Failing that, just pop off the back cover and turn off the service switch. The cover is not connected to anything electronic so it's ok. That'd cut off the current to the tab. It can be done, just be careful.

I didn't turn it off, that's the problem.. I got it yesterday from a guy after his screen cracked.
he gave it to me turned on and I want to replace the screen, so the only thing I can use are the hard buttons.

I only have the power adapter + usb cable.
are you sure about that reset button thing?

EDIT: found info about the "service switch": http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...71&postcount=5

EDIT2: did it! thanks graphdarnell!!

now moving to step 2 - ordering a replacement digitizer..
Last edited by georgeBoy2; 10th February 2014 at 09:56 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes