FORUMS

How a HTC Droid Eris Changed a Members Life

Rarely can a member say that Android development or XDA had a profound effect on … more

XDA Office Space: Frankenstein’s Perfect IM Client?

The portal’s decentralized XDA office lies in a Hangouts chatroom, where … more

Which IM Client on Android is best?

With so many different messengers to choose from, it can be tough to find the best one for you and … more

Android Factory Reset Security Flaw and More – XDA TV

Nvidia is releasing a 500Gb SHIELD TV Pro! That and much more news is … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Rooting 4.3 with Saferoot to install CWM and Custom ROMs?

10th February 2014, 01:51 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Can I install Clockworkmod Recovery and a custom ROM if I root with saferoot on my 4.3 TouchWiz VZW GS3?
 
 
10th February 2014, 04:16 AM |#2  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,081
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheUNCONN3CT3D

Can I install Clockworkmod Recovery and a custom ROM if I root with saferoot on my 4.3 TouchWiz VZW GS3?

No. Installing CWM will hardbrick your phone but it will be recoverable.

What you can do though, after Saferoot, is use Safestrap then you will be able to flash only other VRUCML1 TW 4.3 roms. You will need to flash the VRUCML1 kernel modules in that thread as well, after any and every rom flash in order to have working wifi.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to SlimSnoopOS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th February 2014, 04:26 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
What if I flash a de-KNOXED TW ROM?
What if I flash a de-KNOXED TouchWiz ROM then flash a different ROM like CyanogenMod or Carbon ROM?
10th February 2014, 04:28 AM |#4  
BadUsername's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 850
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheUNCONN3CT3D

What if I flash a de-KNOXED TouchWiz ROM then flash a different ROM like CyanogenMod or Carbon ROM?

You can't do that, it uses a different kernel, you're limited to TouchWiz kernels only. Without it your phone will brick.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to BadUsername For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th February 2014, 04:34 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Oh :/ Thanks anyways.
That sucks. Hopefully someone from the community could figure this out. What if you rooted with Saferoot and froze KNOX? And installed a new ROM?
10th February 2014, 04:38 AM |#6  
BadUsername's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 850
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheUNCONN3CT3D

That sucks. Hopefully someone from the community could figure this out. What if you rooted with Saferoot and froze KNOX? And installed a new ROM?

Knox isn't the problem, Verizon implemented the locked bootloader. Doing this only keeps your system from Detecting root access, but it really doesn't matter unless you're planning to return your phone to Verizon for warranty service.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to BadUsername For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th February 2014, 04:40 AM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Oh well I could care less about the warranty service. I just care about getting rid of this evil ROM.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
10th February 2014, 05:00 AM |#8  
BadUsername's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 850
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheUNCONN3CT3D

Oh well I could care less about the warranty service. I just care about getting rid of this evil ROM.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app

I know, the point is you can't disable the bootloader, so you're limited to 4.3 custom TouchWiz roms using safestrap for now.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to BadUsername For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th February 2014, 12:35 PM |#9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Oh okay thanks.
Okay thanks for all the help!
The Following User Says Thank You to TheUNCONN3CT3D For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th February 2014, 08:41 PM |#10  
Phrisko's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Issues with safestrap and installing CleanROM 8 Core Edition
For some reason when i use Safestrap to install CleanROM 8 i can't get the wifi to work...this might not be the best place to post but I don't have enough privileges to post in dev forums.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes