Google Announces Plans for Projects Titan, Loon and Link

The post Google Announces Plans for Projects Titan, Loon and Link appeared first on … more

Here’s What the HTC One M9 Camera Can Do

more

Get S6 Edge’s Notifications with Edge Color Notification

The post Get S6 Edge’s Notifications with Edge Color Notification … more

Intel at MWC 2015: New Chip Branding and Details

more
Post Reply

Change OS

OP johnrich23

14th February 2014, 12:00 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Is it possible to change my phone's OS from rogers(north american) to a legal Asian one? Is it safe? Is there a safe way to do it? If yes, will I get the 4.2 update from Asia?

I really want to get that update without flashing/rooting (scared hard bricked a phone once)

Sent from my HTC One X using xda app-developers app
14th February 2014, 01:34 AM   |  #2  
timmaaa's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 8,446
 
17,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
The only way to do it is to unlock your bootloader, get s-off, apply the updates manually. Applying official updates is a bit involved so if you're not confident I'd advise against it. You could just flash a ROM though which will essentially get the same result.

Sent from my Evita
14th February 2014, 10:08 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Are the official updates available here on XDA? and are there steps how to do this?

About applying them. Is it ok to use the one for Asia? I believe I've done this safely before I bricked my phone during flashing before.

Sent from my HTC One X using xda app-developers app
14th February 2014, 10:34 AM   |  #4  
timmaaa's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 8,446
 
17,521 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
You can use the one for Asia but you're gonna need to unlock your bootloader, get s-off, get SuperCID, and root anyway to do it. If you're gonna do that you might as well just flash a ROM. Flashing a ROM is much easier and you get a better result. You won't brick if you don't do anything stupid.

Sent from my Evita
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes