Galaxy Note 3 Lollipop Leak, Failed Find 5 Update – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop for the Samsung Galaxy Note 3 has been leaked! That and … more

Firefox OS Architecture and Collaboration Opportunities w/ Asa Dotzler – XDA:DevCon 2014

We were privileged to host many presentations … more

Unofficial Android 4.4 Lands on Three Mediatek Devices

For the last few years, devices with MTK systems-on-chip haven’t received much … more

MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Change OS

OP johnrich23

14th February 2014, 12:00 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Is it possible to change my phone's OS from rogers(north american) to a legal Asian one? Is it safe? Is there a safe way to do it? If yes, will I get the 4.2 update from Asia?

I really want to get that update without flashing/rooting (scared hard bricked a phone once)

Sent from my HTC One X using xda app-developers app
14th February 2014, 01:34 AM   |  #2  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 7,600
 
15,603 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
The only way to do it is to unlock your bootloader, get s-off, apply the updates manually. Applying official updates is a bit involved so if you're not confident I'd advise against it. You could just flash a ROM though which will essentially get the same result.

Sent from my Evita
14th February 2014, 10:08 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
Are the official updates available here on XDA? and are there steps how to do this?

About applying them. Is it ok to use the one for Asia? I believe I've done this safely before I bricked my phone during flashing before.

Sent from my HTC One X using xda app-developers app
14th February 2014, 10:34 AM   |  #4  
timmaaa's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 7,600
 
15,603 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
You can use the one for Asia but you're gonna need to unlock your bootloader, get s-off, get SuperCID, and root anyway to do it. If you're gonna do that you might as well just flash a ROM. Flashing a ROM is much easier and you get a better result. You won't brick if you don't do anything stupid.

Sent from my Evita
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes