Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,305 Members 42,350 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

SCH-i545 Verizon GSIV - Stock from Root MK2

Tip us?
 
rossifer
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default SCH-i545 Verizon GSIV - Stock from Root MK2

Hi All!
I rooted my Galaxy S4 on Verizon earlier today (well, attempted to) with VRoot. It worked, but everything was really sluggish so I attempted to flash back to the stock Samsung ROM. I discovered that since I was running 4.3 with the MK2 OTA, I can't flash a previous version. I can't find a copy of the MK2 ROM anywhere. Does anyone here have any suggestions or maybe a link to the MK2 ROM for the i545 on Verizon?

Thanks!
Ross
 
rossifer
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by rossifer View Post
Hi All!
I rooted my Galaxy S4 on Verizon earlier today (well, attempted to) with VRoot. It worked, but everything was really sluggish so I attempted to flash back to the stock Samsung ROM. I discovered that since I was running 4.3 with the MK2 OTA, I can't flash a previous version. I can't find a copy of the MK2 ROM anywhere. Does anyone here have any suggestions or maybe a link to the MK2 ROM for the i545 on Verizon?

Thanks!
Ross
Got it fixed. Used Kies to download MK2 and reflash. All is now well. Still have the file if anyone else needs it.
 
TonioAG
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by rossifer View Post
Got it fixed. Used Kies to download MK2 and reflash. All is now well. Still have the file if anyone else needs it.
So your device isn't rooted anymore? I'm trying to find a sure way to root my S4 i545 MK2 because I'm a noob. . .
 
Mtsprite
Old
(Last edited by Mtsprite; 17th December 2013 at 06:21 AM.)
#4  
Mtsprite's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 95
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonioAG View Post
So your device isn't rooted anymore? I'm trying to find a sure way to root my S4 i545 MK2 because I'm a noob. . .
There are several ways to root the mk2 version but both vroot and kingo have been deemed unsafe by the xda mods, in the development thread there is however a root method for mj7 that does in fact work with mk2. also im gonna warn you before hand that there is no custom recovery available for the mk2 or mj7 versions of the gs4.

Link to saferoot method: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2565758
Phone: Galaxy S3
Android Version: 4.4.4
Recovery: Philz Touch CWM
Current ROM: CM 11.0 M8
Kernel: BMS
Baseband: ML1
The Following User Says Thank You to Mtsprite For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
xclementinex
Old
(Last edited by xclementinex; 17th December 2013 at 08:07 AM.)
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mtsprite View Post
There are several ways to root the mk2 version but both vroot and kingo have been deemed unsafe by the xda mods, in the development thread there is however a root method for mj7 that does in fact work with mk2. also im gonna warn you before hand that there is no custom recovery available for the mk2 or mj7 versions of the gs4.

Link to saferoot method: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2565758
I used the same method. Worked quite well. But is it yet safe to flash?
 
Mtsprite
Old
#6  
Mtsprite's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 95
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by xclementinex View Post
I used the same method. Worked quite well. But is it yet safe to flash?
If your talking About flashing custom ROMS/recovery's, then no, and if you attempt to do either it most likely will result in a brick. However a Dev by the name of Hashcode, is currently working on making safestrap compatible with MJ7 & MK2. I hope that helps clear up some things.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Phone: Galaxy S3
Android Version: 4.4.4
Recovery: Philz Touch CWM
Current ROM: CM 11.0 M8
Kernel: BMS
Baseband: ML1
 
N8007
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Oct 2013
Is there a way to go back to MD5 from MK2 once you have root?
 
decaturbob
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 789
Posts: 2,308
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Decatur
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8007 View Post
Is there a way to go back to MD5 from MK2 once you have root?
Do u mean mdk?....there is no way

powered by hashcode safestrap hyperdrive 10.2
so long Verizon and my awesome S4 , hello TMO G3
The Following User Says Thank You to decaturbob For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
N8007
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Oct 2013
Guess I will have to wait.
 
Faint333
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by rossifer View Post
Got it fixed. Used Kies to download MK2 and reflash. All is now well. Still have the file if anyone else needs it.
How did you use Kies to download MK2 when you while rooted?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes