Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

SCH-i545 Verizon GSIV - Stock from Root MK2

OP rossifer

15th December 2013, 12:14 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Hi All!
I rooted my Galaxy S4 on Verizon earlier today (well, attempted to) with VRoot. It worked, but everything was really sluggish so I attempted to flash back to the stock Samsung ROM. I discovered that since I was running 4.3 with the MK2 OTA, I can't flash a previous version. I can't find a copy of the MK2 ROM anywhere. Does anyone here have any suggestions or maybe a link to the MK2 ROM for the i545 on Verizon?

Thanks!
Ross
15th December 2013, 12:58 AM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by rossifer

Hi All!
I rooted my Galaxy S4 on Verizon earlier today (well, attempted to) with VRoot. It worked, but everything was really sluggish so I attempted to flash back to the stock Samsung ROM. I discovered that since I was running 4.3 with the MK2 OTA, I can't flash a previous version. I can't find a copy of the MK2 ROM anywhere. Does anyone here have any suggestions or maybe a link to the MK2 ROM for the i545 on Verizon?

Thanks!
Ross

Got it fixed. Used Kies to download MK2 and reflash. All is now well. Still have the file if anyone else needs it.
17th December 2013, 07:06 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by rossifer

Got it fixed. Used Kies to download MK2 and reflash. All is now well. Still have the file if anyone else needs it.

So your device isn't rooted anymore? I'm trying to find a sure way to root my S4 i545 MK2 because I'm a noob. . .
17th December 2013, 07:18 AM   |  #4  
Mtsprite's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 51
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonioAG

So your device isn't rooted anymore? I'm trying to find a sure way to root my S4 i545 MK2 because I'm a noob. . .

There are several ways to root the mk2 version but both vroot and kingo have been deemed unsafe by the xda mods, in the development thread there is however a root method for mj7 that does in fact work with mk2. also im gonna warn you before hand that there is no custom recovery available for the mk2 or mj7 versions of the gs4.

Link to saferoot method: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2565758
Last edited by Mtsprite; 17th December 2013 at 07:21 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Mtsprite For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th December 2013, 08:39 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mtsprite

There are several ways to root the mk2 version but both vroot and kingo have been deemed unsafe by the xda mods, in the development thread there is however a root method for mj7 that does in fact work with mk2. also im gonna warn you before hand that there is no custom recovery available for the mk2 or mj7 versions of the gs4.

Link to saferoot method: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2565758

I used the same method. Worked quite well. But is it yet safe to flash?
Last edited by xclementinex; 17th December 2013 at 09:07 AM.
17th December 2013, 02:43 PM   |  #6  
Mtsprite's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 51
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xclementinex

I used the same method. Worked quite well. But is it yet safe to flash?

If your talking About flashing custom ROMS/recovery's, then no, and if you attempt to do either it most likely will result in a brick. However a Dev by the name of Hashcode, is currently working on making safestrap compatible with MJ7 & MK2. I hope that helps clear up some things.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
17th December 2013, 11:03 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Is there a way to go back to MD5 from MK2 once you have root?
17th December 2013, 11:08 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Decatur
Thanks Meter: 833
 
2,449 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by N8007

Is there a way to go back to MD5 from MK2 once you have root?

Do u mean mdk?....there is no way

powered by hashcode safestrap hyperdrive 10.2
The Following User Says Thank You to decaturbob For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th December 2013, 11:11 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Guess I will have to wait.
18th December 2013, 05:29 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by rossifer

Got it fixed. Used Kies to download MK2 and reflash. All is now well. Still have the file if anyone else needs it.

How did you use Kies to download MK2 when you while rooted?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes