How to Set a Video as Your Boot Animation

If you wish to make your phone truly unique, you may want to consider adding a nice boot animation. … more

TWRP for Nexus 6 and 9 Available, Unofficial CM12 Alpha for HTC Explorer! – XDA TV

Team Win Recovery Project for the Nexus 6 and Nexus … more

Jolla Tablet Announced: The Second Sailfish OS Device

A little over a year ago, Jolla released its first smartphone with the brand new Jolla … more

Android One Devices Get Unofficial CM12 Port

Android One was initially announced right before Android Lollipop. By releasing these cheap, yet … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Phone reboot upon starting Google Maps

OP Davian64

13th February 2014, 09:08 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
I play around with my phone, testing roms, kernels and tweaks until google maps stop working on my phone. the last time it work was when i'm using Maclaw's CM11.

I decided to return to stock rom and recovery using odin and thats when the problem started. I followed the steps from here.

The phone reboot each time I start Google Maps. I tried going back to CM11 but the phone reboot each time I start Camera (previously it was working fine). (I may hare to try CM11 again to see if Google Maps working in CM11)

Then I try to revert back to Original Stock Rom With Kies following the steps here but the problem persist.

Any idea to solve this problem?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-02-13-15-39-57.png
Views:	1197
Size:	64.5 KB
ID:	2576551  
13th February 2014, 01:00 PM   |  #2  
DjWacko's Avatar
Member
Flag Hasselt
Thanks Meter: 14
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davian64

I play around with my phone, testing roms, kernels and tweaks until google maps stop working on my phone. the last time it work was when i'm using Maclaw's CM11.

I decided to return to stock rom and recovery using odin and thats when the problem started. I followed the steps from here.

The phone reboot each time I start Google Maps. I tried going back to CM11 but the phone reboot each time I start Camera (previously it was working fine). (I may hare to try CM11 again to see if Google Maps working in CM11)

Then I try to revert back to Original Stock Rom With Kies following the steps here but the problem persist.

Any idea to solve this problem?


Hi,

Maybe a corrupted data partition.
Do a real format data + media in recovery.
After that, try again flashing .

Greetz

Hopes it works
The Following User Says Thank You to DjWacko For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2014, 01:59 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DjWacko

Hi,

Maybe a corrupted data partition.
Do a real format data + media in recovery.
After that, try again flashing .

Greetz

Hopes it works



Hi,

Is real format data + media in recovery means wipe data/factory reset in recovery? I believe i did that before flashing stock rom using stock recovery.

I had an idea just now and I try several apps from play store, compass apps and any apps that uses compass and each apps reboot my phone upon starting. Logically Google Maps also use compass. So this might be the problem but strangely i could use Waze with no problem at all.

If compass related app is the problem, how do i fix this?

Thank you
13th February 2014, 02:58 PM   |  #4  
DjWacko's Avatar
Member
Flag Hasselt
Thanks Meter: 14
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davian64


Hi,

Is real format data + media in recovery means wipe data/factory reset in recovery? I believe i did that before flashing stock rom using stock recovery.

I had an idea just now and I try several apps from play store, compass apps and any apps that uses compass and each apps reboot my phone upon starting. Logically Google Maps also use compass. So this might be the problem but strangely i could use Waze with no problem at all.

If compass related app is the problem, how do i fix this?

Thank you



Hi

real format isn't the same as wipe data/factory reset.

Real format = In recovery go to mounts and storage --> format real data and media

Strange that the compass isn't working. Try to uninstall non standaard compass apps from your Phone. And try google maps again.
Install app one by one, and see what app is causing the problem.

If not, it's recommend to do a full clean install again at your Phone.

Greetz
The Following User Says Thank You to DjWacko For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2014, 04:41 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DjWacko

Hi

real format isn't the same as wipe data/factory reset.

Real format = In recovery go to mounts and storage --> format real data and media

Strange that the compass isn't working. Try to uninstall non standaard compass apps from your Phone. And try google maps again.
Install app one by one, and see what app is causing the problem.

If not, it's recommend to do a full clean install again at your Phone.

Greetz



Thanks.

I will try and report later as I'm currently doing offline charging. I'm a newbie, do you mind telling me the steps for full clean install?

Thank you
13th February 2014, 08:29 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DjWacko

Hi

real format isn't the same as wipe data/factory reset.

Real format = In recovery go to mounts and storage --> format real data and media

Strange that the compass isn't working. Try to uninstall non standaard compass apps from your Phone. And try google maps again.
Install app one by one, and see what app is causing the problem.

If not, it's recommend to do a full clean install again at your Phone.

Greetz

I did format real data and media. still not working. I also install Maclaw's CM10.1 using steps from here, Camera is working, unlike CM11 but Maps still not working.

I also tried several compass app. Result are the same. Non of the apps works and phone reboot as soon as the apps start.

Thank you
13th February 2014, 09:55 PM   |  #7  
DjWacko's Avatar
Member
Flag Hasselt
Thanks Meter: 14
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davian64

I did format real data and media. still not working. I also install Maclaw's CM10.1 using steps from here, Camera is working, unlike CM11 but Maps still not working.

I also tried several compass app. Result are the same. Non of the apps works and phone reboot as soon as the apps start.

Thank you

Mmm, really strange it doesn't work
I'm on carbon rom now for some testing. The only app with gps needed on this rom is Google earth.
I tested that app, and all is working fine here.

Maybe a dead gps at your Phone?


Greetz
14th February 2014, 01:03 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DjWacko

Mmm, really strange it doesn't work
I'm on carbon rom now for some testing. The only app with gps needed on this rom is Google earth.
I tested that app, and all is working fine here.

Maybe a dead gps at your Phone?


Greetz

Yes, it is strange. How to know a dead gps? But Waze is working fine. I haven't try Carbon. Tried slimrom but same as CM. Maps on stock browser and chrome also working fine. Only Google Maps apps giving me reboot.
Last edited by Davian64; 14th February 2014 at 01:10 AM. Reason: add new info
14th February 2014, 01:12 AM   |  #9  
DjWacko's Avatar
Member
Flag Hasselt
Thanks Meter: 14
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davian64

Yes, it is strange. How to know a dead gps? But Waze is working fine. I haven't try Carbon. Tried slimrom but same as CM.

Hi

I thought that GPS wasnt working on any app
Dead GPS = if you dont get a lock anymore and the phone isnt searching for signals.

Maybe you can try GPS locks software.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...sim.gpsstatus2

This will help your GPS to update the location off the sateliets.
When app opened. Use the icon in the right below corner.
Tools --->> calibrate both option.

If its taking to long , use the third option in tools and download
After that calibrate again


Greetz
Last edited by DjWacko; 14th February 2014 at 01:30 AM.
14th February 2014, 08:20 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DjWacko

Hi

I thought that GPS wasnt working on any app
Dead GPS = if you dont get a lock anymore and the phone isnt searching for signals.

Maybe you can try GPS locks software.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...sim.gpsstatus2

This will help your GPS to update the location off the sateliets.
When app opened. Use the icon in the right below corner.
Tools --->> calibrate both option.

If its taking to long , use the third option in tools and download
After that calibrate again


Greetz



This app also reboot my phone. I manage to get a glimpse of the error massage before the phone reboot. something like kernel panic and so on.

Summary of the problem.

1. Phone reboot automatically when using
  • Google Maps
  • Any compass apps
  • GPS status and toolbox

2. GPS is working when
  • using Google Maps thru stock browser and chrome
  • Waze

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes