FORUMS

Beats Music No Longer Accepting New Accounts

Whenever Apple launches a new product or service, it definitely manages to grab the … more

Do You Do Self-Repairs on Your Devices?

As smartphone designs become more and more complex, self-repairs on devices are also becoming … more

Sony Z4 Slips Out of Top 5 Smartphones in Japan

In a bid to streamline its flagship series which had been losing credibility over the … more

Sprint’s New Unlimited Plan with Ridiculous Capped Speeds

The carrier game in the United States is perpetually rushing forward at … more

Xt1032 imei repair!

3 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By aj4u, Junior Member on 25th March 2014, 11:18 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello All,

Seems UE has Qualcomm MSM8226 Snapdragon 400,

which is a the same as the S3 mini/HTC mini.

I have a question, if anyone can shed some light on it.

In the Android FS, there is a file imei.bin usually in /data/rfs/data/ some path, can't remember exactly.


If this file was to be modified, how would things work? Or is this file only for the AP level stuff, because ultimately the modem connects to the network, i'm guessing this file is just read out of the modem at boot time?

what is MSL? I have seen a number of commercial tools available which can repair IMEI, just wondering why they can do it.

Would I need to be rooted in order to read/write to the modem fd?


Thanks AJ
 
 
26th March 2014, 04:13 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Venezia
Thanks Meter: 701
 
More
There is not rfs on our g
26th March 2014, 05:11 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Hello,


Please could you advise:

" There is not rfs on our g "

I managed to get QPST talking to the modem, by making the modem go to bootloader mode, then set it to BP tools...


I got 3 USB ports one of which is QC Diag Port, I installed drivers..


Then started NV Editor and read the PAGE files from the modem......

I changed some digits, then tried to write. QPST does not return any error or issues, however nothing has changed on the device.

I am guess the modem FD (part where the NVRAM is stored) is READ_ONLY as the UE is not rooted.


Thanks Aj
The Following User Says Thank You to aj4u For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th March 2014, 04:25 PM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aj4u

I am guess the modem FD (part where the NVRAM is stored) is READ_ONLY as the UE is not rooted.
Thanks Aj

Do u succeed ?
28th March 2014, 05:43 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Venezia
Thanks Meter: 701
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgonera

Do u succeed ?

Read only!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes