5,597,397 Members 30,581 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Are any other N7 2013 LTE users having issues with specific carrier SIM cards?

Tip us?
 
buckofive
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 29
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Default [Q] Are any other N7 2013 LTE users having issues with specific carrier SIM cards?

Hi all,

While back in the USA, I was lucky enough to get a new Nexus 7 (2103) 32GB LTE model which shipped with a T-Mobile micro SIM card good for prepaid data access plans. However, I live in the Netherlands and when I tried to use my Nexus with a micro SIM from my provider Vodafone, it was not able to properly list the mobile network operators.

I opened a technical support incident with Google Play services who lead me through several diagnostic steps which included verifying that the tablet is not SIM or carrier locked, it properly recognizes the available networks with other carriers SIM cards (worked with T-Mobile USA, Telecom DE, MTN NG, Rogers CA) it also can list the mobile networks with no SIM in the device. But when a Vodafone SIM is added, it simply doesn't recognize any network operators. It's not a matter of APN settings, as we have verified these are correct, but the problem occurs at a very early level in preventing the mobile networks from being listed.

I believe this to be somehow related to the SIM card/middleware used to communicate with the SIM to the hardware. I see this behavior with the LTE Factory Image JLS36C as well as the Cyanogen Mod 10.2 unofficial deb builds.

Are there any other LTE users that are having a similar problem? Without mobile network access, my LTE model is effectively a WiFi only model and I'd really like to get this fixed.
 
Guhrasoh
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 81
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by buckofive View Post
While back in the USA, I was lucky enough to get a new Nexus 7 (2103) 32GB LTE model which shipped with a T-Mobile micro SIM card good for prepaid data access plans. However, I live in the Netherlands and when I tried to use my Nexus with a micro SIM from my provider Vodafone, it was not able to properly list the mobile network operators.
As has been posted quite a few times already, the US and Europe use different channels for LTE. So a US N7 will not work with all European providers and vice versa. Most probably Vodafone uses one of the LTE channels not supported on the US N7. So you have two choices:

1. Find a different provider that uses the channels supported by the US N7.
2. Replace your current US N7 with an European N7 model.
SE Xperia X8 | GingerDX | AX8MT | Xperia Active Launcher
SE Xperia NEO everything on stock rooted with zergRush.
Nexus 7 C9O on stock 4.2.
Xperia Z on stock and rooted, bootloader still locked.
 
buckofive
Old
(Last edited by buckofive; 6th October 2013 at 06:37 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 29
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guhrasoh View Post
As has been posted quite a few times already, the US and Europe use different channels for LTE. So a US N7 will not work with all European providers and vice versa. Most probably Vodafone uses one of the LTE channels not supported on the US N7. So you have two choices:

1. Find a different provider that uses the channels supported by the US N7.
2. Replace your current US N7 with an European N7 model.
While the US and Europe do have some variance in LTE bands - we confirmed that the bands used by Vodafone NL are as listed below:

Nexus 7 (2013) Tech Specs (LTE)


Network
North America and Japan:

GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz

HSPA+: 850/900/1900/2100/AWS (1700/2100) MHz (Bands: 1/2/4/5/8)

LTE: 700/850/1700/1800/1900/2100 MHZ (Bands: 1/2/3/4/5/13/17)

Rest of World:

GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz

HSPA+: 850/900/1900/2100/AWS (1700/2100) MHz (Bands: 1/2/4/5/8)

LTE: 800/850/1700/1800/1900/2100/2600 MHz (Bands: 1/2/3/4/5/7/20)

Wireless
Dual-band Wi-Fi (2.4G/5G) 802.11 a/b/g/n

We confirmed that Vodafone NL use 4G data enabled in a combination of the 800MHz and 1800MHz bands which are listed as supported.

The fact that my N7 can connect to other mobile networks in Europe with other carrier SIM cards also disproves the need to get a "European" model to connect to a network. There clearly is a problem with the Vodafone SIM and the NA Nexus, but simply blaming it on the channel or bands is not correct. Addittionally, even if the LTE connection is not possible 3G connection via HSPA+ or 2G GSM connection should be possible. The same Vodafone SIM worked with my N7 2013 3G model, which was also from NA, so it is clearly not an issue with the bands & channels.
 
Raverbunny
Old
#4  
Raverbunny's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 118
Join Date: Oct 2012
Have you tried manually changing your prefered network type in testing menu *#*#4636#*#*
Since there is no dialler on N7 deb, I use https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...irit.hms&hl=en
From tablet info submenu, u can also use settings button (3 dots) to manually select radio band
The Following User Says Thank You to Raverbunny For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
buckofive
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 29
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raverbunny View Post
Have you tried manually changing your prefered network type in testing menu *#*#4636#*#*
Since there is no dialler on N7 deb, I use https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...irit.hms&hl=en
From tablet info submenu, u can also use settings button (3 dots) to manually select radio band
Thanks for the tips regarding the Hidden Menus application. I've installed it and set the GSM/UMTS band to EURO Band (GSM-900/DCS-1800/WCDMA-IMT-2000) but still not had any luck detecting mobile networks with the Vodafone SIM inserted. After removing the SIM and restarting, performing the same operation to search for available networks shows the four network operators in this region. I'm currently in Germany and in this area it shows

E-Plus
o2- de
Telekom.de
Vodafone.de

If I replace the Vodafone NL sim and try the same operation again, Settings | Mobile Networks | Network Operators - it searches for only a second or two (compared to the 15 or so it takes with no SIM installed) then does not show any networks.

All signs point to the issue being with the SIM chip OS or incompatability of the SIM chip profiles with the Nexus 7 (2013) LTE model. I didn't have any issues with this and my Nexus 7 (2012) 3G version.

In another strange hardware related issue, I have noticed that the Nexus 7 (2013) uses a different NFC stack and does not recognize all of the NFC tags that the 2012 model recognizes. A co-worker with the 2013 Wifi only version ordered some NFC tiles but they don't work with either his or my 2013 model, but work with the 2012 model. Very curious if this is somehow related to the issue that I see with the SIM card problem I am having.

Any other ideas?
 
ricmartins
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default Did you find a solution?

Quote:
Originally Posted by buckofive View Post
Thanks for the tips regarding the Hidden Menus application. I've installed it and set the GSM/UMTS band to EURO Band (GSM-900/DCS-1800/WCDMA-IMT-2000) but still not had any luck detecting mobile networks with the Vodafone SIM inserted. After removing the SIM and restarting, performing the same operation to search for available networks shows the four network operators in this region. I'm currently in Germany and in this area it shows

E-Plus
o2- de
Telekom.de
Vodafone.de

If I replace the Vodafone NL sim and try the same operation again, Settings | Mobile Networks | Network Operators - it searches for only a second or two (compared to the 15 or so it takes with no SIM installed) then does not show any networks.

All signs point to the issue being with the SIM chip OS or incompatability of the SIM chip profiles with the Nexus 7 (2013) LTE model. I didn't have any issues with this and my Nexus 7 (2012) 3G version.

In another strange hardware related issue, I have noticed that the Nexus 7 (2013) uses a different NFC stack and does not recognize all of the NFC tags that the 2012 model recognizes. A co-worker with the 2013 Wifi only version ordered some NFC tiles but they don't work with either his or my 2013 model, but work with the 2012 model. Very curious if this is somehow related to the issue that I see with the SIM card problem I am having.

Any other ideas?
Hello All,

Apologies for the opportunistic first post but I only "discovered" this forum today.

I am facing the same issue as buckofive and was wondering whether anyone has ever found a solution?

Thank you.
 
buckofive
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 29
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricmartins View Post
Hello All,

Apologies for the opportunistic first post but I only "discovered" this forum today.

I am facing the same issue as buckofive and was wondering whether anyone has ever found a solution?

Thank you.
Unfortunately, I have not been successful in getting this resolved. I've visited Vodafone several times, but none of their in store personnel have been able to give me any other answer than "it doesn't work" and we also see this with North American Nexus 5 handsets. I've done some addditional testing with other MNO SIM cards with American, Dutch, and German T-mobile SIMs and they work flawlessly and with 4G LTE speed, so it isn't a question of network or band.

The issue is definitely related to the SIM card OS and version. However, Vodafone have been unable to tell me what the SIM vendor is and what the chip operating system is.
 
ricmartins
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default Vodafone promised a solution

I have AGAIN asked Vodafone for help and they promised me a solution. I have my doubts ad will post an update next week once i hear back from them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by buckofive View Post
Unfortunately, I have not been successful in getting this resolved. I've visited Vodafone several times, but none of their in store personnel have been able to give me any other answer than "it doesn't work" and we also see this with North American Nexus 5 handsets. I've done some addditional testing with other MNO SIM cards with American, Dutch, and German T-mobile SIMs and they work flawlessly and with 4G LTE speed, so it isn't a question of network or band.

The issue is definitely related to the SIM card OS and version. However, Vodafone have been unable to tell me what the SIM vendor is and what the chip operating system is.
 
buckofive
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 29
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricmartins View Post
I have AGAIN asked Vodafone for help and they promised me a solution. I have my doubts ad will post an update next week once i hear back from them.
Did you hear anything back from Vodafone? They have simply told me they don't support the device and explain that it is due to a North American device, which is simply not true. I've tested with T-Mobile data card from The Netherlands and also from Telekom in Germany and the Nexus 7 2013 gets 40+ Mbps download speeds on those networks. So the issue is clearly related to the Vodafone SIM cards, but no one has been able to give me any insight as to what card OS they are using, so it is very hard to troublehsoot the problem any further.

Two big thumbs down for Vodafone service & support!
 
Sorontar
Old
(Last edited by Sorontar; 4th April 2014 at 01:30 PM.)
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Apr 2014
Any news on this problem yet? I have exactly the same problem, I can use a KPN sim but my Vodafone sim simply won't work in my US Nexus 7. This sucks, I upgraded to a multisim Red Super subscription to be able to use my new tablet anywhere without having to tether.

I made sure to check which bands the US Nexus supports and figured in a worst case scenario I would simply use 3G instead of 4G. But it won't connect to 3G either

Tags
lte, mobile networks, sim
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Clean Up Your Logcat Code with Lib Cleaner

Some of you may think that writing code is the hardest part of development. It’s not, as the … more

Tweak Your Xperia Device’s Camera App Yourself

We’ve come to expect nearly perfect cameraperformancein our modern day … more