Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[MOD REQUEST] Auto popup keyboard on desktop

OP VTEChump

14th November 2012, 10:23 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 36
 
222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Is there anyway to mod windows 8 so that when you are using a tablet and touch a text entry field in desktop mode the keyboard automatically pops up (even better if it auto closes when you hit enter)? This is the most annoying "feature" of Windows 8 in desktop mode, when using a touch device (tablet).
19th November 2012, 02:57 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
173 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
I second the motion.
25th November 2012, 12:19 AM   |  #3  
bri315317's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag South Carolina
Thanks Meter: 20,016
 
6,488 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
This would be an excellent mod if someone would do it for us.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using XDA Premium HD app
25th November 2012, 04:17 AM   |  #4  
madamimadam's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 15
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
it would be pretty sweet if someone could get the same type of auto-keyboard on desktop as in metro. it would remove 25% of my touch
26th November 2012, 01:18 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
I'm in for this. Even win7 has a popup feature when you put the cursor on a text box.
The Following User Says Thank You to _SpAiK_ For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th November 2012, 07:43 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
I might be mistaken, but I think in one of the betas the keyboard worked like that on my Acer W500, but not anymore...
28th November 2012, 08:43 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundSurfer

I might be mistaken, but I think in one of the betas the keyboard worked like that on my Acer W500, but not anymore...

Yes you are correct in one of the betas it did use to auto popup when you clicked in a text field I remember the same thing with my Samsung Slate 7 now its gone I was just wondering the same thing myself
The Following User Says Thank You to ra2100 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th November 2012, 10:26 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ra2100

Yes you are correct in one of the betas it did use to auto popup when you clicked in a text field I remember the same thing with my Samsung Slate 7 now its gone I was just wondering the same thing myself

May this be one of that things that Microsoft disables from registry, but it's still accessible?
29th November 2012, 12:07 AM   |  #9  
dragon_76's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago, IL
Thanks Meter: 94
 
577 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
I'd be happy if I could get the behaviour from Windows 7 back where when I clicked on a text field there was a floating button for the keyboard next to the input.
29th November 2012, 03:35 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Please... I already fixed ff w/ user chrome to make the url bar bigger and tablet friendly.

This is one of the last tweaks I need to do.

I'm sure if the feature can't be re-enabled someone can replicate launching the keyboard automatically with autohotkey?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes