Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Regain Double Tap to Wake Functionality on the Nexus 6

A few months ago, Google announced its newest flagship device, the Nexus 6, alongside … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

RAM

OP helix031

13th March 2014, 10:14 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
39 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
2 GB of ram yet only about 400-500 MB are useable? The rest is always being chewed up.

Am I the only one experiencing this?
13th March 2014, 10:25 PM   |  #2  
jmill75's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 273
 
679 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
Please read the other post just like this. Welcome to android.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
13th March 2014, 11:46 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmill75

Please read the other post just like this. Welcome to android.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk

Which post are you referring to?

---------- Post added at 10:46 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:38 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by helix031

2 GB of ram yet only about 400-500 MB are useable? The rest is always being chewed up.

Am I the only one experiencing this?

The bloatware are actively running in the background when you power up the OS. The only way you can gain more RAM is disable the apps or root then delete the apps permanently.
13th March 2014, 11:52 PM   |  #4  
jmill75's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 273
 
679 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Donate to Me
More
[QUOTE=NixxonExxo;51065002]Which post are you referring to?[COLOR="Silver"]

Seriously, the Tab Pro forum is smalllllll. It can be found in seconds....

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2674914
14th March 2014, 12:23 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
39 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
I'm not new to android. I'm just shocked that they have that much crap running ... I did root it last night. Hoping for a slimrom becoming available... Slimbean on my s2 was by far best experience I had
15th March 2014, 05:55 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 335
 
738 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
A significant portion of the memory is used to support the high resolution display rather than for bloat ware. I'm using a Nexus 10 with the same screen resolution and have seen the same complaints. As Android uses a very different memory model than MS-Windows, managing memory much better, it would be better to judge memory deficiency by the lag caused by Android having to reload apps it removed from memory due to low memory.

Basically with Android unused memory is wasted memory.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using XDA Premium HD app
The Following User Says Thank You to 3DSammy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes